Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused about clinical pharmacology?....You need this book!
This text is a great aid for clinical pharmacology exam prep. It is well laid out by therapeutic area and concisely details the important factors surrounding disease areas and the related drug essentials..
It clairifies points of confusion! A no-fuss, easy reference book - well worth the investment.
Published on 19 July 2004 by K Duff

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars decent product
It was in decent condition and got here quickly, so i'm quite happy. The only thing is that it said that the book was new or like new and when it came it already had highlited parts inside in multiple areas, but it wasn't too much of a bother.
Published on 4 Mar 2011 by dini


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused about clinical pharmacology?....You need this book!, 19 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed (Paperback)
This text is a great aid for clinical pharmacology exam prep. It is well laid out by therapeutic area and concisely details the important factors surrounding disease areas and the related drug essentials..
It clairifies points of confusion! A no-fuss, easy reference book - well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 22 Aug 2008
By 
David Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed (Paperback)
This little known about book is AWESOME. I am not sure what I expected but it really did exceed my expectation once I got stuck into using it.

As its name suggests it focuses on all the clinically related pharmacology and puts it into two page spread chapters with lots of diagrams. It wont delve into so much of the pharmacological science as it is solely aimed for clinical application, giving the relevant mechanism of action and any essential pharmacology science. The two page spread chapters are sorted into conditions and diseases and so the relevant drugs,

There is an introductory section with the basic pharmacology theory underlying all the pharmokinetics etc you need to know (Fear not its short). Its quite helpful for refreshing yourself quickly as I tend to find its one of those areas that's always yip of your tongue but you cant quite remember what relation this had to that.

I frequently refer to it, as its so accessible, getting what you need and want is easy.
I found it particularly helpful for introducing and summarising the pharmacology that pops up in individual PBL's. So say we had a psychiatry PBL on Depression, simply flick to the two page spread of Antdepressants and it will give a very authorative overview of SSRI's, TCA's and a little on the less used MOI's. There is generally a summary diagram which is excellent for the visual learners among us as they really do speak a thousand words. After introducing the subject you might like to delve into a little meatier pharmacology text like big Rang, Dale, Ritter or Integrated Pharmacology if relevant but really it definitely covers the basic need to know material.

The one downside is the blue black two tone colour of the pages which makes the book look a little dated.

While I still recommend having a reference pharmacology test for those times you really need extreme detail- ie doing coursework, this serves as an excellent summary of all clinical pharmacology and is concisely everything you need to know for exams and for being let loose on the wards. Id say it's a bargain too at £20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great revision aid, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
Pharmacology Condensed is basically a condensed form of Rang and Dale's Pharmacology textbook. It summarises all the essential points from the main textbook without going into excessive detail. This is great for learning a good overview of a new topic. All the points you need to know as a medical student, such as the basic physiology, drug action, pharmacokinetics, unwanted effects and clinical use are all briefly summarised. This is really handy when coming across a new area of pharmacology as the large textbooks can be quite daunting with the volume of information they contain.

The book is also useful for reviewing topics. The larger pharmacology textbooks are generally quite hard to revise from. They have an awful lot of information in them and it is difficult to know which of the many drugs you should try and remember. This book highlights important drugs in each chapter. The book is small enough to easily flick through and find the topic you want. Most of the chapters are double page spreads - they are short enough so that you can quickly read up on a class of drugs the night before a lecture or exam etc. The chapters are in the same order as Rang and Dale's Pharmacology which makes it easy to refer to the larger textbook when more detail is needed.

The book is easy to use and the contents are clearly laid out. The whole book has quite a simple design and is in 2 tone colour (black and green), including the diagrams and tables. The diagrams are not the same as in Rang and Dale. They are less flash and colourful than the Rang and Dale diagrams. Each chapter has a few summarising diagrams and tables which are good for quick revision of a chapter.

The book also comes with full online access which is fantastic for when you are travelling e.g. to and from university and don't want to carry all your books with you. Obviously there isn't as much information in it as in Rang and Dale's Pharmacology textbook, but it is great as an introduction, overview and revision aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Revision for Rang&Dales Pharmacology, 12 Jan 2010
By 
A. Stagourakis "cell" (europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
If you are studying Rang&Dales Pharmacology in a course and
you are having exams, it is a very nice way to revise.

Personally I used this book for revision, and I recognise that
the authors have done a great job.

Good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it 6 stars if i could, 26 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
This book is the smaller sister of the much larger and comprehensive Rang and Dale pharmacology textbook which is considered the mecca of knowledge amongst my professors at Edinburgh. This book is just a smaller version of Rang and Dales' edition and devotes 2 pages to each condition.

It is perfect for revision or quick referencing, and i attribute it entirely to my good performance in my most recent exams. There are many flow charts and tables which make memorizing all the different drugs a lot easier, and i found i was able to recall the flow charts much easier in the exam than a lump of text.

It is about as thin as a monthly magazine and contains only the most important drugs and concepts that i was required to know in my 3rd year exams at Uni.

Overall an excellent study and reference guide, although a deeper understanding of a certain area would require the larger textbooks, or Wikipedia ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for refreshing your knowledge, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
The title accurately describes what this book is all about - a very condensed text book of pharmacology! Great both when making last-day review before the exam, or for refreshing your memory when a certain issue needs to be explored again. Love the simple but illustrative figures, that stay alive long after the exam has been handed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the value of money, absolutely recommend!!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
Textbook is very good, precise and straight to the point compared to the bigger version .It was really helpful for revision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy to be part of your textbook collection, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
Pharmacology is one of those topics that I believe you have to learn on-the-go after you learnt the basics in your pre-clinical years in med school. Having all three members of the Rang and Dale (R+D) family, I finally realized the potential each of them have separately. R+D flashcards (the little sister) are amazing for 'on-the-run' revision, especially if you want something portable to put in your bag. R+D (the big, fat father) have everything you need to know, and more, in the book. R+D condensed (the sensible, older brother) is a nice hybrid of the former two.

R+D condensed is great for last minute pharmacology revision or even as a quick guide to read up the essential information on most classes of drugs. Just enough to sound like you 'know your stuff' in PBL or ward rounds (but not enough to sound like a pharmacist). I found this book to be a great companion to the BNF, as little of the clinical indications are described in the R+D condensed.

The main downside of this book is the lack of colors (compared to the 'big' R+D, Elsevier's Integrated Pharmacology and Pharmacology At a Glance). Despite that, I still think this is a worthy candidate to be on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review for medics, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
I found this book to be a great addition because it summarised the essential facts of pharmacology in a really accessible way. It flowed well, introducing the principles of pharmacology and moved on to briefly outline common medications. It was nice to see that two pages was all that was needed to gain a good understanding of the physiological effects a disease and its treatment options. Each page was varied using text and clear diagrams. Small boxes allowed you to pick and choose the parts you wished to read. A great flexible read all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e (Paperback)
Excellent summaries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e
Pharmacology Condensed: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 2e by Dennis G. Haylett BSc PhD (Paperback - 21 Dec 2008)
£24.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews