Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for making membership exams approachable
What a brilliant book! I am in the second year of my basic surgical training and this is THE best book I have ever used. I have read many MRCS books but this is the only one that integrates basic sciences with clinical practice in a well-written, relevant and sensible manner, saving the need to be constantly flipping between piles of textbooks to try and piece together...
Published on 14 Nov 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good book but only that
I think some of this book is excellent. However, some sections are awful, like the orthopaedic section. As a previous reviewer has said, this particular section is almost a very long winded way of saying "ensure you know your anatomy well" without actually giving the core facts - well worth £50 or so to be told that! Some of the immunology section is overboard in my view...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Dr. RJG Stevens


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for making membership exams approachable, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) (Paperback)
What a brilliant book! I am in the second year of my basic surgical training and this is THE best book I have ever used. I have read many MRCS books but this is the only one that integrates basic sciences with clinical practice in a well-written, relevant and sensible manner, saving the need to be constantly flipping between piles of textbooks to try and piece together all those facts and figures. The text also highlights the most commonly made mistakes,giving you extra preparation for the exams and providing the material in a format specially devised for the MRCS.
As if that were not sufficient, the presentation and quality of writing and diagrams make studying much more of a pleasure and not a chore (and I never thought I would say that!).If you are only going to buy one book for the MRCS, this has to be the one. It is the ultimate in core MRCS texts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for those who plan to take up mrcs part 1, 25 Jan 2006
This review is from: Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) (Paperback)
This book offers an excellent guide and revision for the new intercollegiete mrcs part one. It is very comprehensive and covers almost all aspects of the basic sciences. If you want to read a single book to pass the mrcs part one this is it. It will also help you to get throught your mrcs part 3 anatomy and physiology vivas.I would highly recommend this book, especially it is ideal to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good book but only that, 13 Sep 2005
By 
Dr. RJG Stevens (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) (Paperback)
I think some of this book is excellent. However, some sections are awful, like the orthopaedic section. As a previous reviewer has said, this particular section is almost a very long winded way of saying "ensure you know your anatomy well" without actually giving the core facts - well worth £50 or so to be told that! Some of the immunology section is overboard in my view as a trainee surgeon. Sadly that is why I have only given it three stars. I hope the next edition will be improved as I am sure it would absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother with this, 29 May 2005
This review is from: Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) (Paperback)
Just passed the viva and used this book (amongst others). All I can say is don't bother. It is a valiant attempt at including all the science you need for the MRCS but it fails. It covers nothing in sufficient detail and most of the time you find yourself referring to standard texts (like Guyton for physiology, Last's for anatomy) - for example, most of the section on orthopaedics is little more than a recommendation to know musculoskeletal anatomy well, without actually covering the anatomy - well thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALL YOU NEED, 27 Feb 2004
By 
Zaid Awad (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) (Paperback)
in my experience, and after attending the MRCS Viva course, I believe this is all that one needs to pass the MRCS vivas, it has simply got everything, you dont need more details than that.. it may not go smoothly all the way through, but hey.. can't complain, thanks prof. for a lovely all-in-one book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides)
Applied Basic Science for Basic Surgical Training (MRCS Study Guides) by Andrew T. Raftery BSc MD FRCS(Eng) FRCS(Ed) (Paperback - 13 Jan 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews