Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read,lots of information,a good guide to colour
Once picked up this book is very hard to put down. A shortened version of his exceedingly brilliant book 'The Art of Colour'.Every page is full of interesting facts about colour.Itten is very knowledgeable about art as well as colour and it's implications in painting as well as other areas of our lives. If you ever wanted to know anything about colour and why it has such...
Published on 22 Jan 2001

versus
12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected !
Working in creative cirlces I have found books like this are generally worth their wieght in gold.Not this however.
Poor illustrations and lack of real visual detail
make this little more than a childs colouring book
which would be poor for reference and practical use.
Published on 3 Oct 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read,lots of information,a good guide to colour, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Once picked up this book is very hard to put down. A shortened version of his exceedingly brilliant book 'The Art of Colour'.Every page is full of interesting facts about colour.Itten is very knowledgeable about art as well as colour and it's implications in painting as well as other areas of our lives. If you ever wanted to know anything about colour and why it has such an effect on us and our surroundings then this is the book for you, but beware after reading this book you may want to buy the full version, I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elements of colour, 8 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. Amanda Northey-damms "AmandaWR" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are at all interested in learning about colour for the purposes of designing/painting etc, then this is the book for you. Not a light read but very informative for the serious student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to colour, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elements of Color (Hardcover)
This book is endlessly fascinating. It is a condensed version of Itten's book, I think called 'the Art of Colour', and while the larger book is far more beautiful because of the colour plates featuring works of art, this one is far more affordable! It contains theory around how colour 'works', and is well illustrated. I can't pretend to really understand everything in it, but as someone with no training in art at all I still got a lot out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into how colours affect us, 6 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Elements of Color (Hardcover)
"The Elements of Colour" is a treatise on colour based on the work of Johannes Itten. Itten taught at the Bauhaus in the 1920s where colour theory had a major impact on art and design. Itten's fellow teachers at that time included the painters Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky.

Itten put great emphasis on his students getting the feel of a colour and the impact of each colour in combination with other colours - for example - when two colours appear next to each other. Whilst Itten is writing for students of art and design his approach is very scientific and has much wider application. Each colour has a specific "physical" attribute - the frequency of the vibration - but the feeling it invokes lies beyond the eye and the sensory organs.

The Elements of Colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Elements of Color: A Treatise on the Color System of Joh, 16 Jan 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are in the habbit of being creative there are times when awaiting inspiration is just not enough. You will need to know the nuts and bolts of the task in order to get the best framework for your flights of fancy / fantasy.
Creative imagery is about form, but not totally.This book abley presents the technical side of how colour is used and to what degree the elements will blend (or not).
A very valuale addition to the bookshelf of any Painter, Colour Photographer, Interior Designer. In fact anyone who uses colour in a creative manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Colour - Kindle Version, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply the best book on colour I have read so far. Good summary from the main book... buying that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic back-to-basics colour theory for serious artists, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Itten's classic book used to be required reading when I was an art student and returning to it fairly recently after a gap of several years reminded me of the importance of, even practicing artists, going back to basics and getting to grips with some theoretical exercises and ideas. It's clearly written and the full colour illustrations are well reproduced in order to support the theory. It's too good just to be remembered as a read for students and it's worth revisiting it to see how relevant it is to your current practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elements of Colour, 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Elements of Color (Paperback)
This was a very interesting book on colour indeed and it has helped me with my coursework a great deal,I thought I knew about colour but this book taught me more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a necessary book, 24 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for anyone interested in colour as a topic, whether practically as a painter or designer, or academically, this book is a standard. I have had a copy for twenty years and needed to replace it. It is not all the answers, but it is a way of approaching colour that can lead one on to experiment and explore the properties of colour and colour vision, and some of the possibilities that open up from such exploration.
It is historically important in the development of explanations for the phenomenon of colour and colour vision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected !, 3 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Working in creative cirlces I have found books like this are generally worth their wieght in gold.Not this however.
Poor illustrations and lack of real visual detail
make this little more than a childs colouring book
which would be poor for reference and practical use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elements of Color
The Elements of Color by Faber Birren (Hardcover - Feb 1971)
Used & New from: 6.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews