Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole and his crooked cronies
There are four stories in this collection - all very entertaining and done to perfection by a stellar cast, including the excellent Timothy West playing the reprehensible Rumpole and the incomparable Prunella Scales playing his bossy but long-suffering wife, Hilda. The stories are:

"Rumpole and the Primrose Path", in which Rumpole is alerted to shady...
Published on 16 April 2006 by T. Bobley

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heinlein Goes Out In Style
Heinlein sadly died before this book was published, but it is a fittingtribute to The Master. Including characters & ideas from several of hisearlier classics, the main plot (Time-traveller Maureen Johnson beingaccused of murder) is weak, and what happened to the SF? - but the subplotconcerning Maureen's life in the 19th/20th centuries is as fascinating &illuminating as...
Published on 26 April 2004 by Phil Nixon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole and his crooked cronies, 16 April 2006
There are four stories in this collection - all very entertaining and done to perfection by a stellar cast, including the excellent Timothy West playing the reprehensible Rumpole and the incomparable Prunella Scales playing his bossy but long-suffering wife, Hilda. The stories are:

"Rumpole and the Primrose Path", in which Rumpole is alerted to shady activities involving the sudden death of a patient and the possible involvement of nursing staff at the Primrose Path nursing home, where he has gone to convalesce after a heart attack.

"Rumpole and the Vanishing Juror", where a murder leaves a little boy orphaned. But who murdered the mother and why has the child been snatched away and hidden? And where has Rumpole's most promising juror disappeared to?

"Rumpole and the Scales of Justice", involves an apparently strict and straight officer of the law going off the rails. And much as Rumpole dislikes the man, he works to defend him.

"Rumpole Redeemed", sees Rumpole invited to a dinner at his local prison where he learns a thing or two about some of the inmates. Soon after, crimes are committed that fit the modus operandi of one of those prisoners. Rumpole smells a stitch up though.

I thoroughly enjoyed every story. Not a dud amongst them. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Fantastic - Buy it now!, 29 May 1999
By A Customer
I've read all of Heinlein's books, and this is one of my favourites. It's interesting as a period piece (turn of the century onwards) as well as a fantastic set of memoirs of Maureen Johnson, mother of the infamous Lazarus Long. If you haven't read any of Heinlein's other books, you might find things a little confusing in places, but it's still very readable. If you have read any other books by Heinlein, then what are you waiting for? All (or nearly all) the best characters are in this book. It really wraps everything up nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Youth revisited, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this as a youth and thought I would dig out a copy if I could. Reasonable sci-fi novel although he does press his philosophy on life a bit. Good service and delivery from supplier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent for relaxing, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect blend of humour and drama. A terrific adult version of a bed time story. Very easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, but only for Heinlein fans, 20 May 2010
By 
I. Gooding "Ian Gooding" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Sail beyond the Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
I imagine this book wouldn't make much sense to people who haven't read other titles in the future history series (mostly involving "Lazarus Long"), but I'm enjoying reading it again after a gap of some twenty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heinlein Goes Out In Style, 26 April 2004
Heinlein sadly died before this book was published, but it is a fittingtribute to The Master. Including characters & ideas from several of hisearlier classics, the main plot (Time-traveller Maureen Johnson beingaccused of murder) is weak, and what happened to the SF? - but the subplotconcerning Maureen's life in the 19th/20th centuries is as fascinating &illuminating as we fans would expect.
Read 'Time Enough For Love' and'The Number of the Beast' before this - it'll make more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Mart (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Sail beyond the Sunset (Mass Market Paperback)
I certainly enjoyed reading this story from beginning to end about the amazing and adventurous Maureen Johnson and what she gets up to.

The whole spirit of adventure and passion is alive in Heinlein and in this work; and not just for men. Maureen is as extraordinary as Lazarus Long or any other character in the pantheon of Heinlein, although how real she is as a woman is probably best judged by female readers.

I lent my copy to someone and never got this one back, that's the second Heinlein book I lost.

I don't know if this book is perfect or indeed any of the other ones such as Time Enough for Love, The Cat Who Walks Through Walls and The Number of the Beast, not forgetting Stranger in a Strange Land, perhaps the most wonderful of all; but I can say I enjoyed this one so much it is worth five stars and much as a woman can it appears perfect to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Sail beyond the Sunset
To Sail beyond the Sunset by Robert A. Heinlein (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Dec 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews