Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alpha female with an attitude
I am sure it is the combination of the male/female duo writing couple that make this series of books so good. The fifth book in the Kate Daniels series is once again funny, exciting and a page turner. Kate and Curran succeed in making the pages bristle with electricity. I love the devil may care attitude the main character has, the "yeh I have a big mouth, so what are you...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Cheryl M-M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Independent merc turns into damsel in distress... (warning *possible spoiler alert*)
....and depends on her knight in shining armour (the beast lord) to rescue her from trouble over and over again.

I loved books 1-4 but this one is a lit bit disappointing. Kate seems to have turned from someone who is independent and knows her own mind to someone who depends heavily on Curran and his shapeshifters to make her decisions for her. I still love...
Published 10 months ago by Flowerscat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alpha female with an attitude, 31 July 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am sure it is the combination of the male/female duo writing couple that make this series of books so good. The fifth book in the Kate Daniels series is once again funny, exciting and a page turner. Kate and Curran succeed in making the pages bristle with electricity. I love the devil may care attitude the main character has, the "yeh I have a big mouth, so what are you gonna do about it?" lifestyle. The complicated rules and regulations of the various shifter breeds amongst the pack and the way Kate always attracts the most trouble with the least possible effort. I hope there will be more books in this series. I highly recommend the author.Magic Slays: Kate Daniels, Book 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercy Thompson eat your heart out - Kate has it all: adventure, true friends, love and ROMANCE!!!, 26 May 2011
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Don't get me wrong, I do like the Mercy Thompson series, but her last outing disappointed, as the book was basically about her wedding and honeymoon....but there was hardly any romance whatsoever. This book had all I expect from Kate Daniels and a ...romantic Curran.

The blurb itself is as follows: Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, but she's still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be-now that the Order is disparaging her good name. Plus, many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate's mate.

So when Atlanta's premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. But it turns out that this is not an isolated incident. Kate needs to get to the bottom of it-and fast, or the city and everyone dear to her may pay the ultimate price...

The blurb is actually a bit misleading, as that's not all that happens in the tale, oh no, there's so much more. Yes there is danger, as always, but not from the usual sources, and what we see is the loyalty of Kate's friends, both from her days before and now that she is Pack. We catch up with Andrea, who has reappeared, but we don't get to find out exactly what went on when she disappeared, and whilst there are hints about her and Raphael and how he is dealing/not with their break-up, hopefully we'll find out more in the next book.

We also find out more about Kate's ancestry, which for me came as a total surprise, and we learn more about the Boudas and see more of them in this tale, but what made it for me, is that Kate at the start of the book was wondering why Curran was with her: she knew that she loved him and had told him so outright, she knew that he was protective of her, but he hadn't ever said the words, so when she finds out more about her mother's powers of persuasion, her witch skills and her evil father, she begins to question Curran's motives for choosing her as his Mate, without letting on. Not that she wallowed in despair, no that wouldn't be Kate, and nor did she have the time to, but the doubt was there and I loved the way in which Curran unknowingly eradicated it for once and for all.

It came across in the romantic dinner that he arranged for them (I thought this was to make up for when he never turned up for Kate's meal in the previous book, but he just needed time out with her before what could have been their final disastrous battle), laying out the dress that he'd urged her to buy, dressing up for her and cooking for her. Not that they ate the meal whilst it was hot, and not that the dressy clothes stayed on for long. It came across also in the way that he discussed his fears for her and why he did not want her to take the action that she needed to in order to save someone very dear to her, yet he promised to be there for her, to support her and her decision, despite his fears of losing her. At the end, before the battle, in case he did not make it, he told her of the plans he had for her safety and I think that that's when it hit home for Kate. I also loved how he was prepared to walk away from the Pack for their happiness, but only if that was what Kate needed, and told her about how he had started to make plans for that possible eventuality. His love was also apparent in the way in which he watched over her after she was out for the count for three days until she woke up to safety in his arms. Not only did he declare his love then in words, but his actions and his behaviour, so un-Alpha in certain ways, spoke volumes. It was about romantic love, enduring love, and not the hot, heavy, descriptive sex I expect to see in paranormal novels, but it hit the spot entirely and beautifully.

The romantic aspect of this tale made it for me, it's the best Kate Daniels book so far - it had everything that Mercy's wedding didn't. For me, it's move over Mercy, there's a new Alpha female on the scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fabulous, 22 July 2013
If you love the writings of say Patricia Briggs---if you love action, suspense, shape-shifters and other things that go bump in the nigh. If you love romance, but not of the "bodice ripping" ilk---then this is the series for you. I can't believe that we are going to have to wait so long for the next installment in the Kate Daniels series. Booo! Although we do have Dali and Jim's story coming in Hexed releasing on June 7th.

If you have never read any of these books and are contemplating starting with this one, please don't. You really owe it to yourself to start with the first book Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, Book 1)and if you have a kindle or the app for you computer also make an effort to get "Curran: Volume I (Curran POV) and Fathers and Sons (Curran POV) as well as the novella Magic Mourns: A Companion Novella to Magic Strikes:A Penguin eSpecial from Berkley

Seriously---this had to be the best book so far in this series.

Kate is now fully mated to the Beast Lord and as we know from the last book, out on her own working privately. Trouble comes soon in the shape of an unridden Vampire and soon after goes even more down the tubes with a neat little plot involving a mad inventor, a machine that will bring tech back to the world and a group of men and women determined that magical creatures and all magic should be wiped off the face of the earth.

SPOILERISH--------------->

Kate learns that the life grew up with was NOT what was true and now has to deal with several hard facts about her Sainted Mother and Voron. Kate will also have to deal with a suspicion that Curran may not want her for HER, but what she can do for him and the Beasts.

A side story involving Julie her Ward took my breath away.
And Hughes little play on the very last page makes this very nearly a cliff hang in scope.

There are enough side plot to keep you in suspense and several plots that will take several more (at least) books to examine. This book also asks us to re-examine everything we have learned in the last 4 books and to keep an open mind.

Simply Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Adventure, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I would definitely read the previous books before this to get up to speed. Great books, highly recommended - easy to read, exciting & gripping, with enjoyable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveted..., 26 May 2011
By 
sharon "I listen to my books while working, a... (Falmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is book 5 in the hugely successful series, written by husband & wife team. Wow is all I can say, thoroughly enjoyed this instalment. It had action, love romance, tragedy, dark violent undertones, political drama & a lot of questions are answered regarding Kates ancestors. It's not just Kate & Curran (purrr) who stand strong but the supporting cast like Saiman, Julie, Andrea, the People & a menagerie of others. I was glued, the interplay between Curran & Kate had me laughing at loud, the actual plot sucked me in, it's a humdinger. I really enjoyed it, a definite for all Ilona Andrews fans. Wonderfully written...
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Loved it. Usual high standard., 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was excellent. The characters are very engaging and I loved it. Kate is awesome, as always. What is more to say? If you are reading this then probably you have already read the earlier books. This one is of the same high standard. Maybe not quite as funny, but I loved it none the less. Eagerly awaiting book 6. Please Ilona, hurry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slayers of magic, 26 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Kate Daniels' life has changed a lot in the last year -- she's now living at the shapeshifters' keep, and is the Consort of the Beast Lord. But the really dangerous stuff is still the same. "Magic Slays" is a brilliant fifth chapter in Kate's story, revealing a new and potent threat against EVERYONE in Atlanta, as well as blood, sorrow, ancient Russian magic, and knitting vampires.

After months of inactivity, Kate's little agency is suddenly beset with problems -- navigators are losing control of their vampires, wards are being eaten, and a heavily-guarded inventor (and his mysterious invention) have gone missing. Kate isn't sure what is going on with the first two incidents, and she suspects evil Russian magic for the third.

But the truth is actually a lot more complicated -- especially when Kate discovers the true purpose of the device, and how it can kill the majority of Atlanta's population. And now it's in the hands of a fanatical cabal devoted to wiping out magic. To save all their lives, the different supernatural factions must put aside their differences and work together...

"Magic Slays" is the sort of book that Ilona Andrews seems to write almost effortlessly -- a rich, earthy plot full of magic, blood, fur and animalistic power. This particular one also has Andrews using Russian folklore for her story, by introducing some dangerous Russian witches (including a very familiar one) and the volvhs (both dark and light).

In fact, the only real flaw in the book is the depiction of the witches and volvhs -- they start off sinister, powerful and eerie, and then we get a goofy family feud ("We're lucky the mag ic isn't up. At the last New Year's they set the house on fire. There was al cohol involved").

But the rest of the time, Andrews spins up an elaborate, well-written tale full of dark, grimy atmosphere and rip-and-tear action, as well as a tart sense of humor ("I'm in ves ti gat ing peo ple who sac ri fice trained killers to dark gods." "Per fect. It will keep him occupied"). She also juggles important plot threads from previous books, ranging from Andrea's career to the looming threat of Roland.

Kate is usually being fed through the physical wringer, but the torture she endures in "Magic Slays" is more emotional -- she discovers the cruel lies of her childhood, doubts Curran's love for her, and is faced with (possibly) having to kill someone she loves. She's stripped off some of her emotional armor and allowed others into her heart, and so these events are all the more painful for her to deal with.

"Magic Slays" is a rollercoaster ride of magic, action and the occasional shaved poodle. It stirs the blood and leaves you craving more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Kate Daniels" series book 5, 11 Jun 2011
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
This dark urban fantasy series continues to dazzle with its exciting action packed story lines. Kate and Curran's relationship continues to heat up, yet Kate is left doubting his complete sincerity when a remark is made to her. She's also struggling with her new PI business Cutting Edge, and when her first client actually hires her, Kate accepts the case despite the increasingly loud alarm bells ringing in her head. Kate's ward Julie has also absconded from school (again) and she's saddled with 2 new body guards; one of whom is a 15 year old raging hormonal hyena shape shifter.

Kate (and every magical being in Atlanta) is facing a massive threat, and it's not even something to do with Roland. Kate is soon knee deep in her investigation, a growing number of bodies and a growing number of enemies. New types of magic users are introduced alongside these new enemies and like previous books, the plot twists and turns as Kate locates the bad guys and takes them down.

The verbal sparring and quips, the action sequences, and the lengths that Kate will go to, to protect those she loves, make for a brilliant read. I'm hooked by this author's great leading lady and eagerly wait to hear more about the 2 further "Kate Daniels" books in the pipeline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate finds family..., 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a little bit worried about this book before I read it. Kate is with Curran so we have the main love story covered. Or do we? I need not have worried though. There is a lot more in this book than I expected. In the process of investigating the disappearance of an inventor, Kate finds out something about her mother and adoptive father that rocks her to the core, and begins to doubt Curran's reasons for choosing her as mate.

The plot is tight, the characters are fabulous - the Russians are particularly funny - and there is enough new information to keep me yearning for the next installment. I've already read it twice. And gone back to re-read the best bits of the previous books (which is basically all of them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Naomi "I am a Wife, a Mum and a Grandma. I a... (Newton Abbot, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book continues a very good series - If you haven't read the others do so, you will love them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries)
Magic Slays (Kate Daniels, Book 5) (Kate Daniels Mysteries) by Ilona Andrews (Mass Market Paperback - 31 May 2011)
5.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews