Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Dark Drama is Julie Kenner's epithet!
In Boston, Lily Carlyle had died in an act of vengeance. She came back, in Alice's body, believing herself to be an assassin for the light side, Heaven. When she discovered that her master was of the dark, Lily changed sides. Lily is the Prophecy Girl with the power to open or close the Ninth Gate. She can either cause or prevent Armageddon.

To keep it from...
Published on 30 Dec. 2009 by Detra Fitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Third in series - read the others first!
I was distinctly hampered, reading Turned, as it's book 3 in the Blood Lily Chronicles and I haven't read books 1-2. This meant that there was a large cast of characters and a lot of back information which it was difficult to get my head round. It also meant that character development took second place to plot, an increasingly complicated plot where our heroine, Lily,...
Published on 29 Jun. 2010 by Helen Hancox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Dark Drama is Julie Kenner's epithet!, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turned (Blood Lily Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
In Boston, Lily Carlyle had died in an act of vengeance. She came back, in Alice's body, believing herself to be an assassin for the light side, Heaven. When she discovered that her master was of the dark, Lily changed sides. Lily is the Prophecy Girl with the power to open or close the Ninth Gate. She can either cause or prevent Armageddon.

To keep it from demons, Lily wears the Oris Clef around her neck. Its dark power gives her two choices. Lily can let the gate open, allowing millions of demons to cross into our dimension, and be their queen or she can throw herself in the portal, save the world, and be subjected to an eternity of pain and suffering. Lily hopes she can resist the former option. After all, being a demon queen with ultimate power sounds better than being tormented for eternity.

There is one other way to avoid having to choose. Lily and her allies must find the last key and lock the Ninth Gate forever. Problem is that the key is only a rumor and may not really exist at all. Even if it is real, Lily has no idea of where to search for it. Oh, and there is one more tiny problem: three master demons and most all of the demons already in our dimension, are trying to kill her.

**** FOUR STARS! If you have not read the first two books then run, don't walk, to the nearest book store and buy them. Not only are they MORE than worth your time and money to read, but those who have not read them may be confused as to exactly what is going on.

The author did an amazing job, especially on Lily's character. The tale is so well written that I could easily understand the turmoil Lily must be going through by having to choose between two, equally awful, choices. Fabulous Dark Drama is Julie Kenner's epithet! ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Third in series - read the others first!, 29 Jun. 2010
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Turned (Blood Lily Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was distinctly hampered, reading Turned, as it's book 3 in the Blood Lily Chronicles and I haven't read books 1-2. This meant that there was a large cast of characters and a lot of back information which it was difficult to get my head round. It also meant that character development took second place to plot, an increasingly complicated plot where our heroine, Lily, needs to save the world (of course) but knows that there are other options as well.

As the story progressed I started to work out what was going on. The oddly named Deacon is the love interest hero, although he's a bit unheroic in this story, as well as absent most of the time. Lily's sister Rose is apparently of first importance to Lily; I found Lily's continual shouts of 'Rose! Run!' rather wearing.

Although Lily seems to care for her sister (if a bit irritatingly), she doesn't seem to care much about anyone else. We learn that she's responsible for lots of deaths - collateral damage in her quest to save the world. Still it rather turned me against this heroine, especially as she seems to mourn little for those who die, even those who have been close friends.

The book was energetic with Lily constantly rushing around looking for salvation. The occasional appearances of the Angel Gabriel didn't really shed much light on the story to me and I found myself a bit bored at times reading this. I imagine the story would have been much more enjoyable if I were familiar with this series, but as it is I found it a bit of a trial to get through and it was too obviously one instalment in a long series.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant! amazing, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant! amazing! absolutely loved the characters!! great read. i actually couldn't put this trilogy down! gutted now iv'e finished it. :(
will keep an eye out for this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth ther read but read books 1 + 2 first, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book 3/3

Lily has the Oris Clef and now she can either use it to open the gate and become queen of the demons, or she can continue working with Deacon a demon who is out to fight the good fight and find the rumoured 3rd key,
Wish there was a 4th book in this series as it left it on a bit of a cliffhanger good reads will have you hooked from the start and may i add not the usual style of writing from Julie from the pervious books i have read of hers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read would recommend but you do need to read all the books in the series but good Julie Kenner book would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad ending to the series, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Bookmyster81 (london, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turned (Blood Lily Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought book one was ok, book two so-so but by the last book in the trilogy I had totally tuned out and only finished it because I was skipping pages just to the dialogue bits now and then.

I felt there was too much repetition in this one, whole sentences seemed to be used again and again, or she talked about the same thing over and over. It got boring to be honest like she had run out of things to say but had a 3 book deal so had to string it along.

All in all a disappointment. There are far better books out there, unless you get it cheap or borrow it, I wouldnt bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turned (Blood Lily Chronicles)
Turned (Blood Lily Chronicles) by Julie Kenner (Mass Market Paperback - 29 Dec. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews