Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wolf and the man
Imagine if the werewolves were considering coming out of the fur coat closet, and held a conference to debate it.

It's a rather boring-sounding idea. But since Patricia Briggs is a truly brilliant urban-fantasy author, she is somehow able to spin straw into gold in the second full-length novel about the Omega werewolf Anna and her Alpha mate Charles. "Hunting...
Published on 25 Aug 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than original
After the hard time I had with the original tale in this series I decided to give the second novel a go as most of the ground work had been accomplished in the original and I was hoping to see how the characters would grow within their relationship. Whilst Mercy is more action driven, this series is more the emotional romantic aspect of the supernatural genre allowing...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The wolf and the man, 25 Aug 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Imagine if the werewolves were considering coming out of the fur coat closet, and held a conference to debate it.

It's a rather boring-sounding idea. But since Patricia Briggs is a truly brilliant urban-fantasy author, she is somehow able to spin straw into gold in the second full-length novel about the Omega werewolf Anna and her Alpha mate Charles. "Hunting Ground" is a solid little bundle of subplots and warring supernaturals.

Sent to the Seattle conference, Charles and Anna encounter lycanthropes from across Europe -- Russians, Italians, the British lord Arthur, and he savage Beast of Gévaudan, Jean Chastel. Warring opinions and old grudges (plus Chastel's general savagery) cause plenty of tension between the various groups, and Charles finds that while Anna's Omeganess eases some of the conflict, she's freaked out by all the dominant males.

But Anna is attacked while shopping with her new friend Moira -- by a gang of vampires using werewolf magic and tactics. And then Arthur's wife is brutally killed by the same gang, and someone murders Chastel. Now the fragile peace between alphas starts to unravel and fae magic starts to manipulate them -- and to save his beloved Anna, Charles must uncover who is mad enough to do all this.

The previous "Alpha and Omega" stories have been about the world of werewolves almost exclusively, and "Hunting Ground" expands its focus -- we've got the cruel fae Dana, and a cruel gang of vampires. But the focus is still mainly on werewolves -- their subculture, their leaders, and the place of the Omegas when surrounded by a bunch of grumpy Alphas.

The biggest flaw is that the book is a loosely woven affair without much central plot until the last few chapters. But Briggs smoothly juggles the various subplots that run through the book, with vivid, powerful prose ("A creek full of fat trout trickled under a thin layer of misty ice") and slightly tongue-in-cheek dialogue ("Way to kill a defenseless net"). Not to mention some unique quirks, like a werewolf who genuinely believes he is King Arthur reborn.

And she strikes a solid balance between the darkness and violence (bloody killings, werewolf hunts, and some brutal human killings) and the more quiet, soothing moments that Anna brings. One particularly lovely scene has her soothing frazzled alphas through a mellow piano performance, and Briggs' smooth writing carries the effect through to the reader.

Anna and Charles may be mates and spouses now, but they're clearly still getting used to each other. Anna is now strong enough to stand up to the Beast and recovered enough to show her love for her new hubby, but Charles is struggling with his tough-guy image and his "Brother Wolf." And there are plenty of other interesting characters -- the unassuming Angus, the bloodthirsty psychopathic Jean, a cute Austrian Omega, and the charming, loopy Arthur. There's even a pair from one of Briggs' short stories: the werewolf Tom and his blind witch mate Moira.

"Hunting Ground" has a rather loosely woven plot, but Patricia Briggs' lovely writing and vivid characters keep it from losings its way. Definitely one of the better werewolfcentic urban fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than original, 4 Oct 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After the hard time I had with the original tale in this series I decided to give the second novel a go as most of the ground work had been accomplished in the original and I was hoping to see how the characters would grow within their relationship. Whilst Mercy is more action driven, this series is more the emotional romantic aspect of the supernatural genre allowing mellowness that some might think is missing from Mercy's outings.

This time, now that they're married, the two characters are still "feeling" each other out emotionally as each seeks a way to make sure that they're respecting the others boundaries and trying to demonstrate their own individualities to the other so that their partnership can grow stronger. Its well written, the characters do grow but I have still not shaken that feeling that I had from the previous offering about the inner strength of likeability to do with these two. As secondary characters, they would be acceptable, intriguing even, but I am still not sure that they are truly alpha material to be honest. It is stronger than the original; the script flows better but at the end of the day Mercy will remain my favourite series by Patty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Stronger, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Bran Cornick, the Marrok and leader of all the werewolves in North America, has decided that it's time to reveal themselves to humans. As such, he's invited the European wolves over to discuss matters. But rather than have Bran lead the talks, his son Charles has convinced him to let him go instead. Charles' instincts tell him it would be very bad to let Bran go, and Charles is a wolf who listens to his instincts.

So he heads off to Seattle with his newly-mated wife, Anna, and they soon realise that something is amiss amongst the European wolves. Now all they have to do is find out who... and why?

After the intense ending of Cry Wolf, Hunting Ground picks up a mere month later, meaning that all the cracks and difficulties of Charles and Anna's relationship are still there. Not that they have much time to work through them, but Briggs is very skilled at handling damaged characters, without making them weak, or their troubles superficial.

Anna's progress in this book is wonderful, as she slowly faces down troubles - with help from some brilliant supporting characters like Moira, the blind witch, and Ric, the Austrian omega - and gradually grows stronger. Even with Charles shadowing her every step, Anna finds her own strengths and proves to be a force in her own right.

Not that Charles doesn't have issues of his own, but Anna's are more noticeable. I love how their relationships deepens throughout this book, with many of their own developments echoing the main points of the plot.

With hints of Arthurian legend and touches of psychology, Briggs reveals yet more about the glorious werewolf society she's created, and drops even more hints about the most mysterious one of all, Bran - though his appearances are sadly few. Yet at the heart of everything Anna and Charles work as an efficient, engaging duo that I can't help but love.

At times dark and mysterious, but with hints of humour and romance sprinkled amongst the politics and the action, the Alpha and Omega series grows stronger with every offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but saw the end coming, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hunting Ground is the second in the Alpha and Omega series, which is the spin off series to one of my favourites, Mercy Thompson. A&O follows Charles Cornick, son of the leader of all American wolves Bran, and his new mate Anna.

Anna and Charles have only been mated, and married, for a month, and they haven't known each other much longer than that. They're still trying to get to know each other, adjust to shaving their lives, and Anna is trying to get over the pain and fear that her first alpha inflicted on her for three years. But around the foreign wolves, Anna and Charles need to show unity, not weakness, so they're playing it by ear. Anna is a rare thing among wolves, she's an Omega. And that makes her something of a trophy in the eyes of some of the foreign wolves. When Anna is attacked though, Charles realises that they may not be the only threat to her.

The most frustrating thing about this book is that the attack and murder mentioned on the blurb, doesn't happen until 3/4 through the book. So you know it's going to happen and the rest is really build up for it. Bad summery on part of the publishers would be my guess on that one. The other thing I found frustrating, was that I figured out who the killer was, pretty early on. So for me, the tension just wasn't there while Anna and Charles figured it out.

The development of Anna and Charles relationship was good though. The way they were learning about each other and didn't try to run from the other too much. although they both felt the need at times. It's good and sweet, but I didn't hang on it. For me to really get in to a relationship in a book, I really need to be able to fancy the guy, and with Charles, I just don't. So there isn't a whole lot of tension to their relationship like there could be.

Overall, a good story and well written. The different third person perspectives work really well with this series and give a great overall view of everything. But for me, it's no where near as good as the Mercy Thompson series. Still worth reading though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Patricia Briggs, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this pretty much straight after the first Alpha and Omega book. I really enjoyed them both. The series begins as a short story and it's definitely worth reading that first, although not essential. I like Patricia Briggs' female characters (Mercy is probably my favourite female character). Story wraps up a bit neatly (and I think most probably guessed who the 'villain' is before the end), but it's a real page turner. If you like Sookie, Mercy, Faythe and Kate (Daniels), you'll like this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for Briggs!, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. D. A. L. Wilkinson (Preston,Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any fan of Patricia Briggs will only need to know one thing, is it as good as her others? Answer, in my opinion, is absolutely yes! Love all her books and even though I miss Mercy in the Alpha & Omega books, Ms Briggs certainly does not let you down and makes up for it with fantastic plots, great twists and characters who you wish you could meet in real life. Already desperate for the next installment. For any potential new readers of Patricia Briggs, if you like vampires/werewolves/coyotes/wolves/mythical creatures/tense love plots/chivalry all wrapped up in down-to-earth dialogue with humour and knuckle-biting stories, then start from the beginning like I did and buy at least 2 at a time so when your nearing the end of the first one you can order your next fix whilst having the 2nd one ready - you won't want to be without one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hunting Ground, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was fast paced and highly enjoyable.The characters are good and well rounded. Charles is on a steep learning curve with his new mate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 8 May 2014
By 
Jeannie Zelos "jeanie zelos book reviews" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well, patricia briggs is one of my top authors, and i love this spin off from the mercy series. Same wolf shifter theme, but more of Charles and his new mate Anna. love seeing more of the aspen creek wolves - bran and co - too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alpha & Omega book 2, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have been absolutely devouring the both the Mercy Thompson and Alpha & Omega series recently so it's no surprise that I enjoyed Hunting Ground. I think I'm just going to love everything that Patricia Briggs writes because she certainly hasn't steered me wrong so far! The world building in these two series is phenomenal, you have the werewolves with their dominance issues, the fae who are very good at keeping secrets plus of course the vampires have their own agendas and I can't get enough of it all. The Alpha and Omega series gives us a change to discover much more about Pack politics and to see how issues are resolved in the world of the werewolves.

Bran has decided that it is time for the werewolves to make their presence known to the general public, he knows that they aren't going to be able to remain hidden for much longer with all this modern technology and he knows it is better to come out on their own terms before they are discovered. As the Alpha who has control of the whole of America Bran doesn't need to ask anyone's permission to carry out his plans but he has agreed to speak to the European werewolves and answer any questions they may have. Charles is the one who gets to be in charge at the conference of Alpha's who have gathered from all over Europe to discuss the issue. It's never easy to have so many Alpha wolves in one place where they're all fighting to prove their dominance but things get even more complicated when some of their visitors come under attack from an unknown enemy. It is up to Charles and Anna to get to the bottom of what is happening before one of them pays the ultimate price.

The best thing about the Alpha & Omega books is the relationship development between Anna and Charles. When we met Anna she had been abused and beaten down for years so it is taking time for her to build her confidence. Deep down she knows that Charles would never hurt her but she still scares easily, especially when they are surrounded by Alpha wolves. I have loved seeing them work through things together, neither of them is experienced when it comes to relationships so even though Charles is so much older than Anna is these feelings are new to him too and it is so sweet watching him try to figure things out. What I love most about Charles is the way he protects Anna without being overprotective, he actually encourages her to stand on her own two feet and is there to provide extra support when she needs it. My favourite Charles quote shows exactly what I mean:

"If it would benefit you, I would kill every wolf here. But there are things that you need to do - and interfering with that is not protecting, not in my book, the best way for me to protect you is to encourage you to be able to protect yourself."

Both Anna and Charles are completely out of their comfort zone here which helps them bond with each other on a deeper level than before and grow as a couple. We get to see Anna learn more about her role as Omega and how she fits into the Pack hierarchy. "An Omega wolf is an Alpha wolf who is extremely zen." That has to be the best description I've ever seen of an Omega and it explains Anna's role perfectly, she has all the protective instincts of an Alpha but is missing the violent tendencies they usually display. That doesn't mean she won't fight to protect her Pack but it does mean violence isn't going to be the first thing she resorts to.

The romance may be an important part of this series but Hunting Ground is also an action packed story that has so much going on it will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. I did manage to figure out who was behind the attacks eventually but not until very near the end of the book and only just before Anna and Charles did. I just couldn't read this book fast enough and it's left me desperate to carry on with the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved this book wolves have always been a passion of mine had a great storyline never wanted to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Novels)
Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Novels) by Patricia Briggs (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Aug 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews