Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unshapely Things
Set in an alternative history timeline following the convergence of human and Fey worlds, Unshapely Things follows the magically crippled druid Connor Grey as he investigates a series of murders. The victims were all fairy prostitutes and the Guild - kind of like the fey police - has more important things to do, so the investigation is handed over to human law enforcement...
Published on 17 Sept. 2007 by Lesley70

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining
I'm endlessly searching for new urban fantasy and came across this book. It was Ok but not exactly a thrilling read. It was very predictable. The characters were vaguely interesting but not really that engaging. Nothing about it that was particularly original or stand out. If you haven't already read them and are looking for something in this genre I'd go for the Harry...
Published on 15 April 2009 by G. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unshapely Things, 17 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
Set in an alternative history timeline following the convergence of human and Fey worlds, Unshapely Things follows the magically crippled druid Connor Grey as he investigates a series of murders. The victims were all fairy prostitutes and the Guild - kind of like the fey police - has more important things to do, so the investigation is handed over to human law enforcement and Connor is called in to help.

Maybe I've become too used to reading urban fantasy which starts out with a (figurative) explosion and then proceeds with the speed of a Hollywood car chase, with no let up `til the end. This has a much slower pace, with the story slowly unfolding before the reader as the case comes together for Connor. That doesn't mean it proceeds all the way through at this pace. Towards the end the clues add up to one giant mess for Connor and anyone else who wants to live through midsummer - and in the last twenty or thirty pages all hell breaks loose.

Even though it's written in first person I didn't really connect with Connor `til much later in the book. In the earlier parts it's the other characters that kept me reading. First Joe (the flit) - who has all the best lines (until Meryl comes along later). The scene between him, Tansy and Connor was my first clue that there were parts of this book I was going to love. Through the other characters - Joe, Briallen, Meryl, Murdock, Keeva and Gillen - we experience different aspects of Connor's personality. I think it's only after we've met these other characters that we begin to know Connor. This may be frustrating for some readers who prefer to get deep inside the protagonist's head from the first page.

There were a couple of things I got slightly confused over. I wasn't 100% sure on how the convergence worked - if there were still some fey trapped in Faerie, or if they'd all been brought through to this side when the worlds merged. Hopefully that will be cleared up in a future book.

To sum up, Unshapely Things is an urban fantasy with a strong PI influence that should appeal to fans of Jim Butcher (Harry Dresden series), Kat Richardson (Greywalker and Poltergeist) and Charlaine Harris (Grave series). Well worth checking out, especially if you need a break from the more frenetic pace of other urban fantasy that's out at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying fantasy/suspense novel., 23 Dec. 2009
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
I had never read a novel by Mark del Franco, but I will definitely be searching for other stories written by him. I would place this book in the urban fantasy/suspense category and I think that he did a wonderful job in creating the suspenseful aspect of the story. Urban fantasy is a fascinating genre simply because the stories can cover so many different subjects and be handled so differently by each author. This first book in the Connor Grey series was an intense reading experience for me.

Connor Grey is a man who has much to learn about the world he inhabits now. Since the unfortunate accident which resulted in his losing almost every ability he posessed as a druid, Connor is learning what it is like to live in a world without the strong powers he had less than a year ago. He referrers to himself as the "crippled druid" and is no longer involved in the Ward Guild. Wallowing in self pity has become a way of life for him, broken up only by consulting for the Boston Police Department on crimes which happen in the portion of the city mainly inhabited by the fey, an area known as the Weird. Now Connor has been called in to help with the murder of the third fairy in three weeks, with all being male prostitutes. The papers have dubbed the perpetrator the Tuesday Killer. All Connor can figure out right now is that the essence of the killer tells him that something is seriously wrong with this person. Of course, opening the chest of the victim and removing the heart is also a pretty substantial clue that this killer has an unusual agenda going on.

The cast of characters in this book is wonderfully diverse and are a delight to meet. Stinkwort the flit (call him Joe - he doesn't like the name Stinkwort!), Detective Lieutenant Leo Murdock who polices in the Weird because he isn't prejudiced against the fey, and Meryl who works for the Guild, are just some of my favorite characters. The fantasy world this author has created is very detailed and complex. There is quite a bit of history regarding the fey and the human race with an emphasis on Germany in the second world war. It takes careful reading to figure out the political and social situations facing both humans and fey since the Convergence. Connor has many lessons to learn about how to function in the world now that he is disabled by having no special powers, and he is almost on a par with humans. He now has a chance to see himself as others saw him when he was at his height of self-importance within the Guild. What he sees and learns about himself is not very attractive, but now he has to learn to survive in this world using different skills.

I really liked this world, the plot, the writing, and the characters. I will be looking for the other books in this series to follow the further adventures of Connor Grey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Debut, 4 July 2007
By 
Dr. S. Rashid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
Unshapely Things is a debut book. It shows a crime scene in modern America where the fairy world and the mortal world blend together in an alternative universe. The writer has the knack of bringing his world to life. The plot was interesting with a twist. It kept me entertained for 2 days and I was sorry it had ended. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining, 15 April 2009
By 
G. Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm endlessly searching for new urban fantasy and came across this book. It was Ok but not exactly a thrilling read. It was very predictable. The characters were vaguely interesting but not really that engaging. Nothing about it that was particularly original or stand out. If you haven't already read them and are looking for something in this genre I'd go for the Harry Dresden books instead as they are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, not brilliant, but perhaps the start of something interesting..., 6 May 2009
By 
V. Nicholl (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
The ideas are good, and the characters interesting, but something doesn't quite pull together to make this an outstanding read. Essentially, I had fun, and I went on to read the next book in the series on the grounds that sometimes it takes a few books to really launch a series successfully and was pleased to see that it was worth keeping up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good debut, 4 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Unshapely Things (Mass Market Paperback)
There is a lot of world building in the first book and I'm hoping that plot becomes more interesting and dynamic in the second. I like the main character and secondary characters were ok. I did find it a bit of a chore at times as it did go on a bit! I saw some holes in the story but nothing to kill it. It left me wanting to read more from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unshapely Things
Unshapely Things by Mark Del Franco (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Jan. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews