Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good book!
I started off thinking that I would never get through this book. But after a couple of chapters I was not able to put the book down. It turned out to be unexpectedly good.
Raven's Shadow is about magic. For many years the city of Colossae was a haven of magical study. As generations of wizards pushed the limits of their abilities, an evil entity was unleashed that...
Published on 15 Aug. 2005 by humanitysdarkerside

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissappointment
i got into patricia briggs, throught reading her short story in 'On the Prowl' and then got quickly addicted to the mercy thompson series. I have just read the alpha and omega series and i loved them as much as mercy. But this book...the characters didnt seem real, they didnt have any soul, you didnt get to know them and i had no empathy for them at all.
From one of...
Published on 10 Oct. 2009 by R. JACKSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good book!, 15 Aug. 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
I started off thinking that I would never get through this book. But after a couple of chapters I was not able to put the book down. It turned out to be unexpectedly good.
Raven's Shadow is about magic. For many years the city of Colossae was a haven of magical study. As generations of wizards pushed the limits of their abilities, an evil entity was unleashed that could only be contained by the sacrifice of their city. From the ashes of Colossae, the Travelers emerged - roaming the world to ensure that the Stalker would remain imprisoned forever. Seraph is a Raven mage and among the last of the Travelers. Unwelcome among those who fear magic, the wizard clans have been decimated by the very people they've sworn to protect. But Seraph is spared a similar fate by the ex-soldier Tier - and together they build a life where she is no longer burdened by her people's responsibility. But now Tier is missing - or dead - and Seraph's reprieve from her duty is over. Using her magic to discover her husband's fate, Seraph realizes that the Stalker's prison is weakening - and only Seraph can fulfill her ancestors' oath to protect humanity from destruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 28 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another good 'un from Briggs, this sees Traveller mage Seraph rescued by a baker-turned-soldier; 20 years on, having set aside their former lives to live as peaceful farmers, the past comes knocking and both are involved in dark plots involving magic, the return of an age-old enemy and the fate of the emperor itself. Well-written and convincing characters, plus its nice to see a more unusual hero, the sequel is even better though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissappointment, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
R. JACKSON "Pigeon" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
i got into patricia briggs, throught reading her short story in 'On the Prowl' and then got quickly addicted to the mercy thompson series. I have just read the alpha and omega series and i loved them as much as mercy. But this book...the characters didnt seem real, they didnt have any soul, you didnt get to know them and i had no empathy for them at all.
From one of my favourite authors this was a complete let down
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raven's Shadow, 10 July 2006
By 
Mrs. S. Burns "Dragon Mistress" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
The book was slow and steady and gives you the well rounded feeling for the characters as you start to understand the motives behind the scenes.

Patricis Briggs bring the world of natural and learned magic to life and you get caught up in the emotions which could be so heart wrecthing at times. This is anexcellent author and her books are worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good!, 26 July 2006
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
very happy with the book & I shall be reading the next one (if the seller ever gets it to me!). its a shame they aren't made slightly better, as I have had to patch them both up! (good job i work in a library!!!!)

This was better than her 'Moon Called' book which i read first which i felt was lacking something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another excellent book by Patricia Briggs. The characters are well developed and the reader is instantly charmed by Tier and Seraph. The ending indicates that there might be sequel. I'm looking forward to it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magick!, 18 Aug. 2006
By 
Toni James (Harefield, Middx) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book. The plot, characterization and pacing were good and the subject matter close to my heart. A superb read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology)
Raven's Shadow (Raven Duology) by Patricia Briggs (Mass Market Paperback - July 2004)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews