Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A demonic threat makes for strange vampiric bedfellows
Partners is the second book in Susan Sizemore's Laws of the Blood series, and while I enjoyed the first novel, The Hunt, I found Partners to be a much more energetic and entertaining read. There is a lot of life in this novel's characters, especially the undead ones, and I felt like an active observer of all the action that takes place in these pages. Partners also...
Published on 12 April 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as the first...
This time the setting was in the city of Seattle. Charlotte "Char" McCairn was new to being an Enforcer. While at Starbucks Char heard the dhamphir inform her of her first mission. The Council had decided to kill a vampire hunter named Jebel Haven. Char was chosen to do the deed. Shortly afterward, a nest leader (Helene Bourbon) asked Char to help locate one of her...
Published on 24 Dec 2003 by Detra Fitch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A demonic threat makes for strange vampiric bedfellows, 12 April 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
Partners is the second book in Susan Sizemore's Laws of the Blood series, and while I enjoyed the first novel, The Hunt, I found Partners to be a much more energetic and entertaining read. There is a lot of life in this novel's characters, especially the undead ones, and I felt like an active observer of all the action that takes place in these pages. Partners also significantly expands upon the self-styled vampire mythology that Sizemore is crafting in this fresh and unusual series. Not only do we learn more about vampires, we are also introduced to other supernatural creatures lurking within the shadows of human society.
Vampires are subject to their own special laws in this universe, and Enforcers are the ubervampires charged with the duty to enforce these laws. Vampires can only feed upon mortal flesh in authorized Hunts, for example. Most importantly, they can do nothing that would alert the human population to their presence. When vampires break the law, Enforcers serve as judge, jury, and executioner. Charlotte McCairn is a relatively new Enforcer; in the two years since her transformation from vampire to Hunter, she has spent her time doing research rather than face active duty out on the streets. She calls herself Char because that sounds tough, but she has yet to earn the distinction of the name. That changes when Istvan the dhampir, the baddest Enforcer of them all, sends her out to kill Jebel Haven. Haven is a self-styled vampire killer; even though the vampire-like creatures he has devoted his life to killing aren't actually vampires, the Strigoi Council has decided he poses a future threat to vampirekind and must be eliminated. At the same time, a vampire nest leader comes to Char asking for help - one of her nestlings has disappeared and may be involved in some pretty dark activities (of the sulfurous variety) - a definite no-no in vampire circles. Meanwhile, vampire buster Jebel Haven is coerced into taking a job of his own, hunting the very same vampire Char is searching for. The missing young vampire seems to have gotten mixed up with a demon, and Char and Haven eventually work together in an uneasy, complicated, increasingly close partnership to find him. Char plans to kill Jebel after the search is over, of course, but things get a little complicated along the way.
Char is a fascinating character, learning the ways of the Enforcer before our (and Jebel's) very eyes. There is plenty of action to keep the reader engaged in the story, and the evolving relationship between Char and Jebel is not only interesting but a lot of fun to watch. After all, vampire killer meets vampire charged with the task of killing said vampire hunter isn't your typical romantic pairing. Sizemore does a wonderful job letting the relationship develop, giving us quite a grounding in her vision of vampirology in the process. At the same time, the question of how these two opposites will react toward one another in the end is never far from the reader's mind. All of this makes for an engaging and refreshingly different sort of vampire story and helps establish Susan Sizemore as a bonafide modern craftswoman in the art of vampirology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Romance, non stop book, 18 Jan 2001
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this book. Char is an enforcer (vamp cop)Haven is a human vamp killer. They pair up to find out what has happened to a teenage boy. Lots of humour, lots of action, there are no slow patches in this book. One for my keeper shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as the first..., 24 Dec 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
This time the setting was in the city of Seattle. Charlotte "Char" McCairn was new to being an Enforcer. While at Starbucks Char heard the dhamphir inform her of her first mission. The Council had decided to kill a vampire hunter named Jebel Haven. Char was chosen to do the deed. Shortly afterward, a nest leader (Helene Bourbon) asked Char to help locate one of her younger vampires named Daniel. Char decided to search for Daniel first.
Jebel Haven was searching for a missing teenager who may have been abducted by vampires. Since Char and Jebel both searched for the same teen, they reluctantly joined forces. Neither were totally honest with the other and both had deadly plans for the other once Daniel was located.
A dark cult had formed in the streets of Seattle. Getting to Daniel was much harder than they believed it would be. The cult had Daniel. The main cult leaders were a sorcerer and a demon. The sorcerer would be no trouble; however, a demon was a child of a lower god. One Law of the Blood read "It is death to any vampire who interferes in the affairs of the children of the lower gods."
** Unlike the first of this series, I found the second difficult to get into. The first half was so slow and the scenes were scattered and choppy. Yet the second half was non-stop action.
By the time I found this series, books 1 - 5 were already published. By reading the back covers I learned that each book was a different city and a different Enforcer. Char and her companion will return in book five. Therefore, I must guess that these main characters will interact with each other some time in the future. You CAN skip book two, but if you intend to read the whole series DO NOT skip it. This book will explain Char and Jebel. Since they WILL be returning in future book(s), this one is worth your time to pick up. But search a used book store first. **
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This series is improving with this book, 24 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is improving with this book. The vampire community/world structure is discussed more and the characters have a little more depth in them. The author however still needs to work in this area of her world/mythos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Partners (Laws of the Blood), 4 April 2003
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book following the reviews of other readers, and I don't see why they gave it such a high recommendation. The story is about a kidnapped vampire who is to be used to give his kidnapper immortality without any of the conditions or limits which would apply to a normal vampire (the 'Laws'). The cop (who annoyingly continually refers to herself as a superhero!) and the hunter band together to rescue the kidnapee, and save the world. Although the novel was fast moving, the two main characters (vampire 'cop' and vampire hunter) were one dimensional and their 'love story' didn't ring true at all. Even the realisation that they have the same mission wasn't very convincing. Moreover, none of the other characters (vampire kidnap victim, vampire cop's boss, and other stock characters such as vampire hunter's badass best mate, vampire mother and normal mother of kidnap victim, and ex-Vampire companion with a heart of gold) were sufficiently developed to give me any interest in reading more about them in any of the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Jan 2003
By 
N. Westall "Nick" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first of this series of books that I read - after which I immediately bought the others. This book is fast, furious, sexy, fun and a very easy read! I strongly recommend it for all vampire fans!
The heroin in this one is the vampire, a girl with a dark side and a naturally gentle disposition (well, sort of? - see what you think!). Jebel is a guy with attitude and a vampire hunter to boot! They meet with a common goal - to find a missing person and to kill each other, from there both their plans change. The plot is very "buffy-ish" A dark cult planning to take over the world (or at least their part of it) murder, mayhem and fun abound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Negative first half, 28 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
After 'The Hunt', I was hoping for a continuation of those characters and was disappointed to learn that each book in the series is a new story with new characters - however, I was willing to give this a try as I enjoyed the pace of 'The Hunt' and the story.
The first half of this book I found to be a very difficult read -the main character of Char is incredibly negative from the first page and makes reading about her quite depressing but I stuck with it after reading another reviewers comments that had noted this already.
Half way through, the book comes into its own, the pace picks up, the story unfolds and Char becomes much less of a whining female lead and more of the Enforcer superhero that she's supposed to be.
Overall, the book was okay - hence 3 stars - the beginning is hard work, the muddle of peripheral characters (Demon, Vessle, Prophet and the Deciple etc etc) was irritating in the fact that the explanation of who or what they were wasn't nearly explored enough, but, eventually it might grow on you.
I'm hoping the third book is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and enjoyable, 7 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: laws of the blood (partners) (Mass Market Paperback)
Despite the tacky cover, this is a good story. The first book I have read by this writer, but I have just ordered another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

laws of the blood (partners)
laws of the blood (partners) by Susan Sizemore (Mass Market Paperback - Nov 2000)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews