Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy adventure that's out of this world!
When Alexander's uncle tells him it's his job to save the world, he assumes it's just another crackpot idea from his crazy relative. Uncle Otto insists that Alexander has got to put together his own band of superheroes and gives him Albert Einstein's old Y-fronts to inspire him. But Alexander realises that Otto may be on to something and rises to the challenge of getting...
Published on 4 May 2010 by Fiction Fanatic

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad
i got this for my avid reading 10 year old who can get through david williams books in a school day. she only managed about 20 pages and just couldn't continue it was so boring
Published on 31 May 2012 by H. O. Flynn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy adventure that's out of this world!, 4 May 2010
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
When Alexander's uncle tells him it's his job to save the world, he assumes it's just another crackpot idea from his crazy relative. Uncle Otto insists that Alexander has got to put together his own band of superheroes and gives him Albert Einstein's old Y-fronts to inspire him. But Alexander realises that Otto may be on to something and rises to the challenge of getting a gang together. There's rarely been a funnier, more likeable bunch of schoolkid superheroes than the FREAKS in fiction. The threat that they face from alien invasion is spine-tinglingly scary and the way the FREAKS band together to meet it is genuinely touching, while always being entertaining.

With a fantastic cast of characters from the aliens who communicate in smells to the superhero armed only with a tortoise, this is a fantastic read for kids from about 9 to teen, and will be particularly enjoyed by boys.

Anthony McGowan is well-known and widely respected for his prizewinning teenage books (particularly HENRY TUMOUR). This book proves his fiction for younger readers is also right on the money - page-turning, funny and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved The World, 26 Sept. 2010
By 
Vanessa Harbour (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
This is the most gloriously funny book I have read in a long time. If you have a reluctant reader leave this book lying around and watch them get engrossed as they sneak a look. The title in itself leaves you curious. How precisely could Einstein's Underpants save the world? (I'm not going to tell you go and read it for yourself) The language is just wonderful and would appeal to many an adult as well as a child.
Anthony McGowan is renowned for his award winning teenage books but has shown how versatile he is by writing equally celebrated books for a younger age group. This man knows how to write and how to appeal to young (and not so young) readers. This book is well worth an exploration - give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funniest children's book of the year, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Amanda Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
Anthony McGowan's books for teenagers have won many fans and prizes, but this is a different direction, and irresitible. If you have a child who loves books like Andy Griffiths The Day My Bum Went Psycho, or lavatory humour of any kind, this is for them.
The earth is about to be invaded by disgusting aliens, but only cracked old Uncle Otto realises it. Luckily, his nephew takes him seriously, and assembles a team of other geeks with weird superpowers - his own being accessible only when wearing a pair of Einstein's (stained) old Y-fronts on his head. Hence the title. No child of 6+ will be able to resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
I bought this for my 11 Yr old son. He says " it's very good but not the best I've ever read. Not quite a 5 star but close."
However he has asked if there are any more in the series.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Nephew loved it, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Dorothy Y. Turner "opera fan" (Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
I read a review of this in a newspaper and thought it would be suitable reading for my 8 year old nephew. I have heard his mother telling him not to put his underpants on his head - must be a boy thing. He started reading the minute it arrived and enjoyed it. I'd bought him a book because I knew he liked reading and this seemed to cover his interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable, my 10 year old boy and I loved reading it together. Go win with the FREAKS! Sean& Stephen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
Great present well received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World (Paperback)
i got this for my avid reading 10 year old who can get through david williams books in a school day. she only managed about 20 pages and just couldn't continue it was so boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World
Einstein's Underpants - And How They Saved the World by Anthony McGowan (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews