Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
I chose to review this book as part of my children's literature project and found myself unable to put it down! The structure is somewhat unusual (though clever) as each chapter takes the reader through the alphabet ('A is for...Andrea'...etc). This may be quite intriguing for young readers, encouraging them to finish the book and discover what each letter stands for in...
Published on 24 Mar 2006 by Laura K

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful bed-time story book - a little depressing
I enjoyed reading this book but, being a child with divorced parents, I felt slightly edgy about what Jacqueline Wilson wrote. this story is about a girl who has divorced parents and has to move from place to place, sometimes her Mum's, sometimes her Dad's. I felt rather depressed because Jacqueline Wilson made the reason why her Mum and Dad extremely surreal. I had...
Published on 8 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 24 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I chose to review this book as part of my children's literature project and found myself unable to put it down! The structure is somewhat unusual (though clever) as each chapter takes the reader through the alphabet ('A is for...Andrea'...etc). This may be quite intriguing for young readers, encouraging them to finish the book and discover what each letter stands for in Andrea's life. When approaching the content, some readers may feel the book paints a negative picture of step families, though i must say I don't agree. It simply outlines how difficult it can be to adjust and I am certain that young readers will find the book helpful. While many will be able to relate to the character 'Andrea' (the 'suitcase kid', whose parents have divorced), the story may also help children unfamilliar with divorce to understand what friends may be going through.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suitcase kid - superb, 24 May 2006
By 
A. Straw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
Brilliant, the book is about Andy and the upheavals in her family due to her parents splitting up. The book is well written and is easy to read. It deals with a very serious matter in a gentle and constructive manner. Even though the story is a sad one it does end on a happy note - a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 28 Mar 2006
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I read this book over and over when I was younger. It's a fantastic story about Andy, a young girl who is trying to cope with her parents' divorce, and her irritating new stepfamilies. It's brilliantly written and the emotions and thoughts of Andy are so realistic. Anyone who has felt out of place in their own home will understand immediately the feelings Andy has.
As well as being realistic and helpful, this book is also really funny and very easy to read. It's not at all preachy. Not just for children coping with divorce, this is a great book in its own right.
It will definitely appeal to anyone who has had trouble dealing with the things life throws at them, and who has ever felt that the only world which won't disappoint them is the one they create in their imagination. Heartwarming, enjoyable and at times tearjerking, this book is a refuge from all the people who don't understand you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
For ten-year-old Andy, everything she had once considered stable and familiar has gone forever. Her parents have had a bitter divorce, and not only does she have to move out of her cottage, she also accquires five step siblings overnight. Naturally, Andy doesn't take to any of this at all. She argues with her new family members and finds herself stuck in the middle of her parent's petty arguments.

Andy lives with her mum one week and her dad the next. This arrangement is supposed to keep everyone happy, but all it does is create tension between her parents and forces her to carve out a place as a family member in two households, instead of just the one. There's also a sense of loneliness in Andy and, rather more worryingly, the idea that she is homeless baggage. Things come to a head when Andy loses her one remaining tie with her old life, and she runs away from her mum's house to recover it.

The story reaches a satisfying yet realisticly open-ended conclusion. Andy and mean step-sister Katie don't become best friends, but they learn to tolerate each other; and while Andy's parents don't get back together, they seem to at least be in the process of forming a truce. This shows great sensitivity on the part of the author - the ending is happy, but not perfect. It leaves you with a sense of hope, but doesn't damage any young readers going through a similar experience by creating a false promise.

The style is rather simplistic even for Wilson, and there isn't a lot of depth to any of the characters. Thankfully the story itself will probably be interesting enough to those in the target age group that they won't mind. The chapters are short and the book will be completed quickly by competent readers.

So, while not Wilson's best book, it IS one of her earliest; you may have to excuse some of the more irksome parts of the prose as the faults of a new writer still finding her feet.

Recommended for 8-10 year olds, though it may actually be a helpful reference for an adult who needs to know what to expect from their child after a divorce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Niamh O'Hara, 17 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid (Greatest book ever)

Jacqueline Wilson

The main character is an adventurous girl called Andy who has a toy rabbit called Radish that helps Andy's imagination and makes her forget everything bad. Two other characters are Andy's parents, who have split up and made Andy move between mums house and also dads. Bill the Baboon is married to mum and has three children called Katie who is a small girl that acts all sweet but is mean to Andy, Graeme who is very shy and Paula the oldest of them. There is Carrie who is married to dad and who has two children Zen and Crystal.

Andy is a girl who tries to cope with life because of her divorced parents. She moves from her mum's house to her dads house every week. That was house A and house B but Andy wanted to go to house C, Mulberry Cottage, where everything was perfect, to Andy anyway. As she realises how her two new families are happy does she still want to go to her dream cottage?

This book had no weak bits because of the way Jacqueline Wilson handles real family issues and manages to make a great book.

My highlights of this book were when Andy discovered Katie's secret, when Andy made friends with Graeme and when Andy found the new mulberry tree.

Rating: *****

Niamh O'Hara

The Suitcase Kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed Jacqueline Wilson fan!!!, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I've read most of Jacqueline Wilsons books and this book would be one of my favourites! I really enjoyed this book because you knew Andy felt bad and annoyed. She would feel angry and feel sorry for herself, but we would hear her thoughtsand you could imagineher every move! I loved the discription of the characters, in Andy's viewher parents were innocent, it was Bill the Baboon's fault and Carrie's fault. The only person Andy understood was Raddish her toy rabbit. She didn't understand why her Mum and Dad didn't want to live together in Mullbery Cottage. She didn't know why Katie was such a brat. She was confused. I advise everyone who likes Jacqueline Wilson's books to read this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabtastic book, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Turner (Oswaldtwistle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The suitcase kid is a really good book for kids in situations at home. It is about a young girl called Andrea who's parents have split up. She loved it living with her family at Mulberry cottage; it was her dream house. Her Mum lives with a man called Bill now and his three kids and her Dad lives with Carrie and her twins.Bill's daughter Katie picks on Andy non-stop throughout the time that she has been moving house to house with her mum and dad.At her dad's there is one twin called Zen he is really mischievous and is always fighting with Andy, however Crystal is sort of cute and kind to Andy. Back at her Mum's house Katie has more sisters and a brother, her brother is called Graham. Graham is also kind and thoughtful and very quiet he sits in his room playing on his computer games. She has a pet rabbit called Radish that goes everywhere with her it is like her best buddie as she doesn't have many friends. Another shocking event happens during her troublesome life. This book is full of laughter, anger and a bit of sadness.

by Carla Birtwistle and Shannon Marsland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 18 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with bill the baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****

Brogan Donaldson

The Suitcase Kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 17 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with Bill the Baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that Carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****
The Suitcase Kid

Brogan Donaldson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 17 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with Bill the Baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that Carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****
The Suitcase Kid

Brogan Donaldson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Suitcase Kid
The Suitcase Kid by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 5 Oct 2006)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews