Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old-fashioned family story
This is the kind of book that few authors seem to write these days. Four very different sisters and their father move to a New England(?) village for the summer, and encounter a lonely boy and his cold, forbidding mother. Mishaps and adventures ensue during what seems, to an adult reader such as myself, like an idyllic summer. Children will be drawn to the lively...
Published on 5 Dec 2008 by Sakerfalcon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
This is a good book I highly recommend it, it good for all children, and a great story line as well
Published 5 months ago by Lydia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old-fashioned family story, 5 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
This is the kind of book that few authors seem to write these days. Four very different sisters and their father move to a New England(?) village for the summer, and encounter a lonely boy and his cold, forbidding mother. Mishaps and adventures ensue during what seems, to an adult reader such as myself, like an idyllic summer. Children will be drawn to the lively characters, who seem not to be plagued by the "issues" that weigh down so much of children's literature these days. There is nothing wrong with that, but it is nice to have a break sometimes, and this book is the perfect escape. It could be set any time during the mid- to late-twentieth century, such is the timeless feel to the story and the prose. HIghly recommended to those who enjoy E. Nesbit or Elizabeth Enright, and to anyone longing for summer in the middle of winter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
A review of The Penderwicks

This is the brilliant story of four sisters and their dog and the adventures they have while on holiday on a beautiful estate called Arundel. On the holiday they meet a kind and funny boy who they immediately become friends with. The mother of the boy, Mrs Tifton, is a mean person rather like a witch. She does not like children and especially does not like the Penderwicks. The Penderwicks have an adorable dog called Hound which she does not like either.

The Penderwicks have a very hard life because the only have a Dad. Their mum died when the youngest child Batty was being born. But together they have fun because all the children stick together and normally get on well. Hound who always stays close to Batty is a loyal dog who is involved in all the adventures.

I loved this book because of all the adventures with the girls, their dog and the new friend they make on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for 9 yr old; read by 44 yr old, 24 Aug 2007
By 
J & M's mom (Northville, MI USA) - See all my reviews
We moved to a foreign country and were stuck in temp. housing until our stuff was released by customs. With nothing to read, I picked up this book that I had bought for my daughter. I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was good! It wasn't juvenile, and really held my interest. I think my daughter will enjoy it too. Ms. Birdsall is an excellent story teller. The story moves along at a good pace and stays interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 5 April 2013
By 
Roy Norris (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
This is a cracking book. I read it to my 8-year-old daughter and we both loved it. She was so motivated by it, she asked to read the other two in the series herself - a defining moment, since the next one (The Penderwicks on Gardam Street) has been the first long book without illustrations that she has read. She's really chuffed with herself. The characters are well-rounded and charming and as my daughter says 'I just want to spend more time with them'. You can read the plot line elsewhere on this site, but if you want to read more reviews, go to Amazon.com, the American site, where there are over 150 reviews. It deserves to be as popular in the UK as it clearly is in the States. The English in it is not culture-bound to the US and there are few Americanisms - it's almost as if Jeanne Birdsall wrote it to appeal to a universal global-English market. My 11-year-old daughter has also read the series herself and liked the books very much. Let's hope there are more on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is such a good book!, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was funny, exciting and engaging and the sisters are so funny! (Batty is my favourite!) It probably wouldn't be suitable for children over 14 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Famous Five for a new generation....., 27 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
Written by an American, set in New England somewhere, this first book in a series has universal appeal. In any language in the Western world, the adventures of three sisters, their dog and a new friend would charm anyone from about 8/9 onwards. I know of two adults and myself who loved it too. The girls, with their widowed father, set off for their holiday/vacation at a holiday cottage on a large estate. Lots of grounds to wander, lots of mysteries to solve, and a boy who lives in the big house and is lonely becomes complicit in their adventures. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Kindle Edition)
This is a good book I highly recommend it, it good for all children, and a great story line as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Kindle Edition)
This book is really interesting and very well written. I would recommend it for children of ages 8 and above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
I bought this for my two boys, they are voracious readers and although it looks girly it's a lovely story for anyone. We all really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penderwicks (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for a 12 year old girl. She loved it and has enjoyed reading it. Has passed it onto her sister now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penderwicks
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews