Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this goes with a bang!
A great novel for readers of 8 and over, although younger ones may not get the jokes! This story is about Lila, who wants to be a firework maker. Her dad isn't keen because she's a girl (!), so she goes on a quest to achieve her ambition. On the way she meets some hilarious characters (parents will enjoy reading it for the eternally optomistic Rambashi alone) and takes...
Published on 14 Feb 2003

versus
31 of 273 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars warning for discerning parents
I bought this Pullman book thinking it might be suitable for my 10 yr old daughter. She is doing a project on China so I thought it might bring in an interesting aspect on Chinese culture, as the main character is a Chinese girl called Lila.- Not only did the prose not live up to it's review status, I was shocked to discover that the imagery and moral values are totally...
Published on 24 July 2008 by Reflections


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this goes with a bang!, 14 Feb 2003
By A Customer
A great novel for readers of 8 and over, although younger ones may not get the jokes! This story is about Lila, who wants to be a firework maker. Her dad isn't keen because she's a girl (!), so she goes on a quest to achieve her ambition. On the way she meets some hilarious characters (parents will enjoy reading it for the eternally optomistic Rambashi alone) and takes part in exciting adventures. This novel is about working hard to achieve your dreams. My children found it funny and inspiring - they started to talk and think about their ambitions and laughed out loud at the jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book I would recommend to all readers 6 - 11yrs, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The Firework Makers Daughter is a great story about a young girl with a big ambitition.Wanting to follow in her fathers footsteps by becoming a firework maker,leads her through an adventure through jungles and caves,till she meets the ultimate firework makers test.I love this book and thats because it is so imaginative and mysterious.In compaarison to say Enid Blytons books,this book matches her standard of writing if it is not better.An unforgetable story that's not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deliciously funny and exciting, 12 Jan 2006
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Firework Maker's Daughter (Paperback)
Lila longs to be a fire-work maker, but her father is appalled at the idea she might follow in his footsteps, so tells her she can only achieve her heart's desire if she sets off to ask the Fire fiend. Her best friend the elephant boy, riding on the white elephant Hamlet, follows hot on her heels because Lila doesn't know that to survive she needs water from the goddess of the lake... and even if they succeed, Lila's father may be executed by the furious emperor unless she wins the contest. Rich with comic incidents (especially the bandit turned chef)it is one of the very best books you could read aloud to a 5 year old or give to a 7 year old.
A wonderful tale about how you can only get your heart's desire - especially as an artist - if you dare much and work for it, this is even better because of Peter Bailey's new illustrations for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all, 10 April 2004
By 
SC Dog - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I first read this book when I was about 8 and remembered it for a long time after, always wanting to read it again. On the off chance I tried Amazon to see if they had it, when I saw it I bought it immediately and I am glad I did.
Pullman is the master at creating a story which pulls you in and places you right in the action. You can not put this book down, and when you have finished you will want to read it again soon after. Sutiable for all ages this book will never get old and will live with you for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great funny book ,full of adventure, 9 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is about a girl called Lila & her Dad is a firework maker & she wants to follow in his footsteps. Her journey to become one is far more frightening than she could ever have known. I couldn't put the book down & read it in 2 nights !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really really EXCELLENT!, 19 July 1999
By A Customer
I really enjoyed reading it and I say everybody must read it and no one must even miss a single page. I feel like reading it a thousand times. Also one day you will find out how fabulous this book is. You MUST NOT give up on this book. For this book I give 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fireworks, 4 Sep 2004
By 
Briony (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The firework maker's daughter is easy to read from 8 years and up.
You will find it easy to get into and easy to finish you will be interested in the other books by Philip Pullman.
This is a short one off story, which is a good introduction to the author's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading for young minds!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Firework Maker's Daughter (Paperback)
My young granddaughter had to read a book and review it during the summer holiday. She was given a list of books to choose from by the school. She absolutely loved this book and could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the book, 4 Mar 2001
An excellent book for children but just as good on tape. Phillp Pullman brings out a firey young girl in an amazing world very well narrated.A book that the child in everyone will love An excellent buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Firework Maker's Daughter (Paperback)
children love the book not to long and not to short just right for thous children that love reading, great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

The Firework Maker's Daughter
The Firework Maker's Daughter by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews