Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't be put off by the skeleton on the cover -
'Clockwork' is one of the miniature marvels of modern storytelling, a thrilling tale about good versus evil, kindness versus selfishness and life versus art. The tape, read by Anton Lesser, has just kept my children spellbound in the car for its entire duration.
The great clock of Glockenheim (which really exists)features clockwork figures that come out and move at...
Published on 18 April 2003 by A. Craig

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars listen on and on
This amazind tape makes you listen on and on. With brill comentray and hours fo fun. if you have not listened to it before why not now. This time i promise you will not be dissapointed.
Published on 22 Jan 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for (nearly) all ages, 12 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
A small book, but a real gem, and one of my favourites books of the last 20 years. Think Grimm's Fairy Tales, but with a modern style of telling. The setting is pure gothic Grimm.

My six-year old loved the main plot and was scared by it, as children should be by fairy tales. I wouldn't try it on a child any younger - I had to allow for distraction-time between story and bed. My older children (8 and 10) were thrilled by it - and understood the layering and the pun of the clockwork figures and the inevitable clockwork progress of fate (it is made clear in the story). I also enjoyed the way in which the author gives us glimpses of the clockwork of his own storytelling process - each layer being added on top of the other so that all are separately visible, yet all come together to make something magical. It is the literary equivalent of Pachelbel's music!

A childless colleague said he thought it was sad that there had been no good children's books written in the last 50 years. I could have given him many, many books to refute his statement, but this seemed the most likely book to win over an adult. It did.

We have read most of Philip Pullman books, and we love them all. But this little piece for small children remains my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clockwork or All Wound Up, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Laurel F. Morgen "Luzy" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
If you missed this book the first time around, it is well worth taking a look.

The preface sets a Christmas card like scene of children sitting by Grandfather's feet, illuminated by the glow of warm log fire-light. He tells the story, one imagines, against the howling wind and lashing rain of a cold winter night. Pullman says of some stories, `Once you've wound them up, nothing will stop them; they move forwards till they reach their destined end, and no matter how much the characters would like to change their fate, they can't.'

Ignoring the aimed at children format, this dark fairy tale is filled with suspense and analogy. The Corgi Yearling edition I picked up from Amazon is illustrated by Peter Bailey's eerie pencil drawings. This is where Oscar Wilde's Happy Prince meets the Brothers Grimm and Pinocchio, with some Tales of the Unexpected thrown in. The sidelines combine laugh out loud funny with searing wisdom aimed at the adult reading to the child.

This story is one to be read aloud, under blankets, on the sofa, by Grandpa on a cold night. Just not at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pampas Class Review 1 - Great!, 3 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
Clockwork review
Our year six class recently read one of Philip Pullmans creative novels called Clockwork.

Our class thought some parts of the novels was very interesting because of the mysteries we also thought this because it leaves us hanging at the edge of our seats. The story sets of with a clockwork makers apprentice (Karl), who hasn't made a clockwork figurine for his presentation day (The next day).
How can he vindicate himself now? Karl was later given a clockwork figurine by Dr Kalmenius, who some people say is the smartest person in the whole of Europe, called Sir Ironsoul that night.

Earlier that night Prince Florian was taken to Dr Kalmenius of Schartzberg by his father because he was dying. Will he live? How will he get his heart back? Fritz (a young, fantastic story teller) tells a story and suddenly it becomes real, but it he doesn't finish it off. What will happen now?

To conclude, this is a fantastic, brilliant, amazing mysterious story for adults and children who like horror and adventure .It will keep you hanging at the edge of your seat on every page and chapter with little snippets and pictures. We recommend this novel a 5 star because it is better than Spring-Heeled Jack - another one of Philip's creative creations.

Reviewed by Anand Kumar and Co (Year 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The clock is ticking, 10 April 2008
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
A fantastic Gothic fairy tale for 9-12 yr olds. Set in that old Germanic world of the Nutcracker, Coppelia and the Tales of Hoffmann, this short novel has suspense and horror aplenty in its 92 pages and the conflict is neatly resolved by the power of love.
To finish his apprenticeship, Karl has to make a new clockwork figure for the town's clock - but with one night to go has got nowhere; Fritz, a writer, has come to the inn to tell them a scary story, but suffering from writer's block hasn't finished it ... they have both set wheels in motion and this story needs to be wound up!
I loved it to pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Mrs. S. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
A perfect story. Moving, romantic, genuinely scary, beautiful. Whether you are a fan of Philip Pullman's work or not, this is undeniably an exceptional, beautifully crafted and gripping piece of writing. Read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very finely crafted piece of fiction!, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
This is a very, very skillfully written book. The various events and characters fit together as neatly as the teeth of the clockwork Pullman describes! The illustrations and textual 'asides' are delightful, offering complementary and contrasting views of the action as it progresses. It is a book which has an enormous amount to offer readers of all ages and is gripping enough to keep you turning those pages! It is an example of 'children's' fiction at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read this to children, 14 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
I initially read this to my 10 year old son and he was totally invovled. I am now reading it to my Year 5 class ( 28 in all) and this is possibly the only time that they are completly silent / no movement and no talking. Really enjoying the twists and turns, and not put off by the operation in the middle of the story! They are keen to hear another one. Has inspired some of the children to read more Pullman books and that can only be a great thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good children's story, but adults should like it too., 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I liked Pullman's other works, so I picked this up and didn't put it down until I finished. Everything, from the characters to the cover, was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story which does work like clockwork, 23 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book because it is short but still has a strong storyline. It works like a clock with each characters events causing anothers, like cogs in a clock. The story is set in Germany and focuses on a man who made a clock, a small tin knight with a life of its own and a prince ran by clockwork. If you like stories with spooky settings this is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An very exciting book, 15 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
A very exciting book I usaly dont like reading but this book is the best one the story of which Fritz made up was brilliant I recamend you to by this book and any other Book of Phillip Pullman especialy if you have read The ghost dog but this book is brilliant and all his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockwork
Clockwork by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews