Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't be put off by the skeleton on the cover -
'Clockwork' is one of the miniature marvels of modern storytelling, a thrilling tale about good versus evil, kindness versus selfishness and life versus art. The tape, read by Anton Lesser, has just kept my children spellbound in the car for its entire duration.
The great clock of Glockenheim (which really exists)features clockwork figures that come out and move at...
Published on 18 April 2003 by A. Craig

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars listen on and on
This amazind tape makes you listen on and on. With brill comentray and hours fo fun. if you have not listened to it before why not now. This time i promise you will not be dissapointed.
Published on 22 Jan 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't be put off by the skeleton on the cover -, 18 April 2003
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
'Clockwork' is one of the miniature marvels of modern storytelling, a thrilling tale about good versus evil, kindness versus selfishness and life versus art. The tape, read by Anton Lesser, has just kept my children spellbound in the car for its entire duration.
The great clock of Glockenheim (which really exists)features clockwork figures that come out and move at different times of day or year, and the prospect of a new one by Karl, the clock-maker's apprentice is an event that has people coming from far and wide. On the eve of this great event, a number of people gather in the local inn to hear the latest story by Frtiz, a novelist, who is famed for his hair-raising tales. The one he tells tonight is about their ruler, Prince Otto, who returned from a hunting expedition with his little son Florian, with no heart, only a piece of clockwork that caused him to lash and lash his horses...
Just so, says the narrator, is a story wound up - and this is a tale as finely balanced as a work by the sinister Dr.Kalemenius. How can a little clockwork Prince find a new heart? How can Karl redeem himself from not having fulfilled his contract?
A marvellous, creepy, wise and funny story about a Faustian pact and storytelling itself, it's perfect for children of 7 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cliff hanger to remember..., 15 Mar 2007
Clockwork by Philip Pullman is one of the most gripping and entertaining books I have ever read, it has thrills and leaves you on a cliff hanger on almost every page.

I read it in about 3 or 4 days, it's one of those books which you start reading thinking you might not like it, then after a chapter you can't put the book down. It was the first Philip Pullman book I've read, and now I can't wait to read another one of his books, or even read Clockwork again.

I'd recommend it by far, and would you believe that I came across this book in my school.(WHAT A GREAT BOOK TO PICK!!)

From Romelly aged 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
I've read Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy and his Sally Lockhart quartet, and loved both series, and I'd been considering buying this for some time. I only got round to it a few days ago, and I'm so glad I did - it's an absolutely fantastic story, brilliantly constructed and written. Don't be put off by its appearance as a "kid's book" - I'm in my 20s and was blown away by it. It has the feel of a Brothers Grimm fairy tale. There are quirky characters, magical and scary creations, and a wonderful atmosphere. What's so impressive about it is the way the story is constructed - just like, as the title suggest, clockwork. It's told in two separate parts, which both lead up to a third part when the two stories come together - but the second part is very much a part of the first part, seen from a different point of view. There are also insightful and amusing little asides on almost every page, little snippets of information, like the little cogs that all add up to make a clock work. You get little pieces of the puzzle, and finally everything comes together and makes sense at the end - it is a fantastic story. Overall, a wonderful book by Philip Pullman, who has the amazing ability to write stories that appeal to both adults and children. I can't wait to read more of his fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for readers of all ages, 21 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
This is the first book I have read by Philip Pullman but it certainly won't be the last. This is a book which draws you in right from the start and leaves you thinking about it long after you've turned the last page. A mix of science fiction and fantasy which can be enjoyed by children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pullman is not just about Northern Lights, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As the narrator of this scary fairy tale says, Pullman winds up his story and lets it play and it is dark and terrifying in the great tradition of Grimm and Andersen. The people of Glockenheim gather in the White Horse Tavern to hear the young storyteller Fritz tell a ghost story. Slumped at the bar is the clockmaker's apprentice, Karl, who is due to reveal his clockwork figure for the famous town clock the next day but hasn't made it yet. But Fritz has left his story unfinished and counted on being struck by inspiration when he comes to the end. Instead, the story begins to take on a life of its own and a terrible stranger enters the inn and offers Karl his heart's desire, and his choice between right and wrong sets the story ticking on.

Pullman doesn't disappoint, a haunting short read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pampas Class Review 3 - Wonderful, 3 July 2009
By 
C. Meyrick (Merton, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
Clockwork Review - Purple Group

Philip Pullman's clockwork book has really struck us with excitement and kept us on the edge of our seats. The start of the book is real glum, as there are too many characters to keep track of. Nothing really makes us want to read on as there's nothing interesting hidden around the corner.

The book is set in Germany (Schatzberg) in a pub filled with people, there's Karl, a lazy clockmaker apprentice who abandoned his duties and now is in trouble! Will he redeem himself? There's a storyteller called Fritz with hair-raising stories in mind. One dark night of Schatzberg he told about a prince called Florian who wasn't real, he had a deep secret... There's no trouble until he came to life! Is the town of Schatzberg safe?

Amazing, mind blowing with a surprise on every single page. We would recommend to children and adults (not young children because there's a scene where someone's neck is slit.) as the book is a great read with an eerie glow to it, only for people who love mystery, horror and a bit of super-stition.
Philip Pullman has really thought of what's happening next.

If there was anything to change it would be the beginning of the book, maybe take out the characters not needed and have a bit of mystery like it has though out the book.

I would rate the book 7 out of 10.

Reviewed by Brandon and Co (Year 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clockwork or "wound up" reveiw by jade boycott, 25 Nov 2003
By 
Stephen Dorsett (Isle of Sheppey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
it is a great book by a great author, Phillip Pullman has really tried to take you into the pages and release the magic and he has succeded i would recommend it to anyone who enjoys mysteries, it is a great investigation for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd say better than 'his dark materials', 31 Aug 2008
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
i bought this book because when i was at junior school (yr 6) my teacher read this to the class, and i was encased in the story from then on, this is a brilliant story even if after you read it you're not quite sure what it was about. it isn't a very long book so it's perfect to read to your kids (those that don't scare easy) i am now 17 and still look on this book with fond memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pampas Class Review 2 - Super, 3 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
Clockwork Review - Green Table

The story sets in Germany with Herr Ringer man - the famous clockwork maker and his new apprentice Karl , but when he gets a task, he finds it formidable. Will he survive from all the powerful pressure.

Our opinion is that clockwork is a excellent novel with mystery which will drag you into the biggest investigation . we really liked the ending because it was not like fairy tales for example ` they lived happily ever after. `
s
There are so many quirky characters like Karl the apprentice and Dr Kalmenius , Price Otto , Gretel and Fritz.

I strongly recommend this fantastic tale of fantasy for children and adults . Over all we rate this book 5 stars and would also recommend this book to any person who likes horror and mysteries.

Reviewed by Akwasi and Co (Year 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and romantic but quite dark and scary as well., 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockwork (Paperback)
I loved this book because it reminded me of a modern version of Grimms Fairy Tales. It has a certain gothic horror element to it, whilst being very amusing as well. Pullman combines the two very effectively so that you a frightened one minute and then laughing the next. All the characters are really well crafted but Dr Kalmenius is definitely the best and gets 10 out of 10 for villainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockwork
Clockwork by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 4 Nov 2004)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews