Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and different
I read this because I love Malorie's books so much. And I was very surprised but not at all disappointed by this book. It's definitely a cool read for a younger age than her Noughts and Crosses books. It tells the story of Sam (the class bully) and Davey (his victim) who slowly become friends when Davey saves Sam's life. Davey shows Sam a different way of looking at...
Published on 22 Sept. 2004

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it..
I chose this book for our school book club (ages 8-11) because it was recommended to me by someone who adored it and the response at book club has been absolutely polarised.
Some of the children really loved it, were very moved by the story and enjoyed the poetry and differences between chapters.
Some of the children absolutely hated it, finding it "over fancy"...
Published on 2 Nov. 2009 by Mum King


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or hate it.., 2 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Hardcover)
I chose this book for our school book club (ages 8-11) because it was recommended to me by someone who adored it and the response at book club has been absolutely polarised.
Some of the children really loved it, were very moved by the story and enjoyed the poetry and differences between chapters.
Some of the children absolutely hated it, finding it "over fancy" or "too flowery".
It made a great book for a book club, because there were no in-betweeny views, and the debate was hot!
Personally I found it a bit wishy-washy, maybe even beige. The story could've been presented even more strongly - I think the kids could take it!
My friend on the other hand found it "magical" and read it ten times in a weekend.
It didn't appeal to the children who'd loved the previous fast-moving adventures like Varjak paw & HIVE - but that's not very surprising.
An interesting change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written - not your average poetry book., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Paperback)
Read to my Year 6 class during anti-bullying week - fantastic story, which raised many issues for in-depth discussion. Beautifully written, each chapter in a different style of poetry so that children were inspired to write their own poems, in a range of forms. A month on, they are still referring to the book, using dilemmas and solutions discussed at the time to help resolve fallings out in the class. Highly recommended alongside 'Boy in the Girls' Bathroom' and 'Hangman'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saddest but most amazing book I've ever read!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
This book is so moving, a rollercoaster ride of emotions and I recommend it to anyone of any age. It doesn't matter what type of books you enjoy reading, THIS IS THE BEST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cloudbusting, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
I really like Cloud Busting because it is fun and imaginative. It is emotional with tears and laughs. Overall it is great for kids who love poetry.

Ellie aged 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
Cloud Busting is an excellent book told completely in poems. It is a really compelling story and I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book and I have read it within two hours .it is very inspiring and is one of th best books I've ever read.there, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
there is one thing I would change though I would make it longer and see what Mr.Mackie thought of the work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
This was the best book I have ever read. It is interesting, lovely and most of all a pleasure to read! I would recommend people from ages 4+ would love the violence my mother enjoyed the book very much as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cloud busting, 19 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book. It might be quite short but it still is very interesting. I also think it has a bit if a moral.
I would recommend this book 7-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original and Enjoyable, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
This is an original idea- it's the story of two school boy's friendships and how it changes both of their lives for ever. The original thing about it is that is entirely written in verse. Each chapter is another poem and they tell the story. Most are free verse but all of the poetic forms you study at school are here, from haikus to limericks.

It works brilliantly and creates a powerful story which really makes you feel that you can empathise with the main character. Brilliant idea and pulled off excellently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 3 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Cloud Busting (Kindle Edition)
i read this book at school but i read it again because i really enjoyed it, especially the authors use of verse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cloud Busting
Cloud Busting by Malorie Blackman (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews