Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Room 13
This book is about an adventurous girl called Fliss and her best friend Lisa. They go on a school trip to Whitby where they stay in what they think is a normal hotel. The mysterious story unrolls the spooky adventure of room 13. The scariest chapter of all is chapter 13 with an unexpected twist! The book should be read by anyone who likes spooky and mysterious stories...
Published on 12 July 2005 by Lucy

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A time machine back to the 80's...
Don't know if it's worth pointing out, but a HUGE number of Amazon's reviews of 'Room 13' appear to have come from a primary school class in Worthing in July 2005... all of which are 4* and 5* (possibly at sir/miss's insistence..?) ...which might skew things a little, overall. Jes' sayin'.

Anyway, anyway... I bought 'Room 13' as a potential reader for a special...
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by Lutz Svensson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Room 13, 12 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
This book is about an adventurous girl called Fliss and her best friend Lisa. They go on a school trip to Whitby where they stay in what they think is a normal hotel. The mysterious story unrolls the spooky adventure of room 13. The scariest chapter of all is chapter 13 with an unexpected twist! The book should be read by anyone who likes spooky and mysterious stories. Read it if you dare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Room 13, 12 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
I am 11 years old and I like the way Robert Swindell has made this book a spooky effect.

This book is about 5 children who go to Whitby but there is a problem on their holiday. Ellie-May is sneaking off at night in to room 13 which is not a room 13 in the morning.
Every morning Ellie-May is getting sicker everytime she goes into that room and it is up to Lisa,Fliss,Gary and Trot to save her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Class text, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
I used this book as a class text for Y6, its great for producing descriptive writing in a mystery style. The children were enthralled every time i opened the book. Highly recommend it to all KS2 teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, Room 13, 11 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
Room 13 is about two girl's called Fliss and Lisa, who go on a school trip to the Crows Nest Hotel in Whitby. At night they find out that something is happening to room 13. A girl called Ellie-May gets injured by a mystical creature. All the teachers, believe that there is no room 13, which starts an investigation. Will she complete the quest?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!!! So glad I found it!!!!, 30 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
I first read this book when I was 11 - I'm 30 now!!! It stuck in my memory for good reason and is an excellent book! I highly recommend it all young readers and is a must have purchase. I've purchased it for my son for when he is older just in case it goes out of print before he reaches a more suitable age!!! Based in Whitby, Yorkshire this is a spooky tale that will make your spine tingle and have your leaving your bedroom light on! Simply fantastic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there!, 17 Mar 2009
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
This is THE book from my childhood!
We were read this book in year 6 when we were 10-11 years old, before we were taken on a school trip to Whitby ourselves. It was a wonderful experience and the theme from this book has stayed with me all that time (i'm now 26).
I heartily recommend this book to any child of a similar age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spine shivering tale of ROOM 13, 12 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
Room 13 is a mysterious story about something in the linen cupbourd that makes someone sick every time they go there. Fliss, Lisa, Garry and Trot have to sort out what is going on in the old haunted house with the help of mad old Sall but how? When they go on a school trip to Whitby and stay at the Crows Nest as Room 13 drags in another victim! Chapter 13 has a unexpected suprise in it. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skin crawling novel., 12 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
Room 13 is an amazing and mysterious novel about a group of children who take a school trip to Whitby,but among them is a young girl called Felicity Morgan who uncovers a dark secret that has been a menace and death threat for a long time in their camp,The Crows Nest hotel.I would recommend this book to children 9+ including adults and anyone who likes horror books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not well known but it should be, 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This book is about a girl called Fliss and a girl called Lisa who travell to Whitby on a school trip. But the house has a horrible secret and why is Ellie-May going into that room at midnight is it all tied in with Dracula and why has this house got a terrible secret and why has Fliss gotta put it right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best book ever, 12 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Room 13 (Paperback)
Room 13
Room 13 is a mix between a mystery and a horror story,a girl called Fliss has a dream the night before a school residential trip to Whitby.The dream is about a monster and Fliss gets very scared.When she goes on the trip she finds more than a few connections to her dream...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Room 13
Room 13 by Robert Swindells (Paperback - 26 Oct 1990)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews