Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Jacqueline Wilson's best yet!
Jade and Vicky have an argument,before Vicky steps out into the road and gets knocked over by a car and killed.However,this isn't the end of their friendship!For Vicky returns as a ghost and shows that she's more trouble dead than she ever was alive! This is a funny and moving story that offers a quirky view of the afterlife.It deals with such themes as loyalty,trust and...
Published on 2 Aug 2001 by poo_chi_uk@yahoo.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
at first it was great but half way through it got a bit boring but after a while I didn't want to read it 10-14 much to scary for younger people.
Published 27 days ago by mrs sharon rose


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Jacqueline Wilson's best yet!, 2 Aug 2001
By 
poo_chi_uk@yahoo.com (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
Jade and Vicky have an argument,before Vicky steps out into the road and gets knocked over by a car and killed.However,this isn't the end of their friendship!For Vicky returns as a ghost and shows that she's more trouble dead than she ever was alive! This is a funny and moving story that offers a quirky view of the afterlife.It deals with such themes as loyalty,trust and guilt,showing that sometimes only by letting go can a person fully understand how much they love somebody. Jacqueline Wilson writes with compassion and humour.This book entertains and will also stay with you afterwards,making you think again before taking your friends for granted. A life-affirming read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your'll Cry, but your'll still love it !!!, 18 Aug 2002
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
A perfect book about friends! Jacqueline Wilson knows how to move people and make them love the book that she has wrote. Some how she has that wonderful gift that I wish I had!
The story is about two best friends, who have the most powerful friendship, and nothing can take them apart. Not even a awful thing as death. Vickey will be a friend for life!
One of the best books on Friendship I have ever read!!! More stars please!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An adult's response to Vicky Angel, 12 Dec 2001
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
I read Vicky's Angel with the view to buying multiple copies to read with my Fourth Grade class. I had heard good things about Jacqueline Wilson, my neice is an avid reader, so I decided to check out her latest offering.
I did not expect to find a book so well written or such a powerful exploration of the process of grief.
I do not need to explain the overt plot of the story, as many other reviews have done so, my purpose is to celebrate what I consider an exception book.
When I read Vicky's Angel, having recently read 'A Grief Observed' by C S Lewis, I was astounded to see the feelings of guilt and anger felt by the mourner, as described by Lewis, so well translated for a child audience. Lewis' musings about whether the dead also grieve are here too, as Vicky verbalizes her anger at her life cut short. Lewis' final poignant realisation that his image of his dead wife has been altered into an image of his own making must also translate to when Jade finds Vicky altered and can finally let her go!
Jacqueline Wilson is to be congratulated on this exceptional book. I can only surmise that she has had personal experience of grief and condole with her in this matter.
I will now be searching out and reading all her others books.
I recommend adults read this book and consider Vicky's Angel to be Jade's 'Grief Observed'
As a foot note I decided against using this book with 10 year olds as I found Vicky's regrets about never having experienced sex, while poignant, more suited to an older age group.
I also have to admit the fact that I found some passage so moving that I would be unable to discuss them in public.
Thank you Jacqueline Wilson for writing such a book. We need more books written for children that explore such shared human experiences.
Liz Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about friendship, so strong, it lasts after death., 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Hardcover)
This story is about a friendship, so strong, it lasts after death. I KILLED HER Did Jade a plain, timid school girl kill her best friend, Vicky a bold, loud school girl after an argument they had? Jade frantically tries to remember whether she pushed Vicky under that car or did Vicky run into the road? Whilst Jade is trying to remember, Vicky appears and makes her presence felt! I really liked this story because it was told in a very emotional way and all of Jade's feelings and emotions were written in a way that everyone can relate to. Also if you know anyone who has had someone close to them die, you start to think about how they are feeling and how you can help them, which is a good, strong and powerful message to be able to deliver. I think this book is for all older readers because the issues dealt with in it are strong, this story will make you laugh, it will make you cry and it will make you put your own problems alot lower down when you realise what other people could be suffering...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 Dec 2007
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
I'm not the hugest Jacquline Wilson fan in the world, but I really enjoyed this book. I found it believable even with the supernatural elements, and also the question of whether Vicky came back at all, or was it all in Jade's head? A great book dealing with grief and friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky Angel?, 9 April 2004
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
Vicky Angel is a touching story about a girl called Jade trying to get over her best friends death, which she thinks is all her fault. But whilst Jade is out trying to make new friends or is out running Vicky likes to make her prescence felt. But what will happen in the end will Jade live feeling guilty for Vicky's death for the resty of her life or will Vicky finally leave this place and go to heaven?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How special are best mates, 19 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
I love this book! It really shows how important best mates are. It feels like you are part of the story. You grief with her, you laugh with her and you feel like you have just lost your best mate! Go into school and hive your bessie a big hug because they are so important and you just dont know until their gone. Be the one to say sorry before its too late. A brilliant read I recommend it to anyone of any age. you cant say your ever too young or old for Jacqueline Wilson!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For teenagers and young readers., 14 Sep 2008
By 
Miss Shah "F.Shah" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Paperback)
This book was kind of exciting to read. You had to find out what Vicky was going to do next to her best friend however she could sound like a spoiled brat most of the time. The ending again as I've always said in Jacqueline Wilson's book was again very short and straight forward. It would have been better if more things happened even after everything was solved. Story is readable I guess but not the best I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very Moving and Emotinal story, a good read., 30 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Vicky Angel (Hardcover)
Wen i read this story it touched my heart in a way that i wanted to cry. It is also a very entertaining read and sometimes funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!! (100,000,000 STARS), 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This is the best book ever written! Jade and Vicky are best friends, they're closer than sisters, its like there joined at the hip but when Vicky is killed in a car accdent Jade feels so lonely. Her mum seems to be so occupied with a guy at work, and her dad just keeps on sleeping. every one is supportive to Jade at school but that doesn't help a bit. She still can't belive vicky is really gone. its so moving it made me cry especially at the end its absolutely fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vicky Angel
Vicky Angel by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews