Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Fine Classic!
Anne Fine has won many awards; she is also a Children's Laureate and she has written many fantastic books including the Diary of a Killer Cat, The Return of the Killer Cat, The Killer Cat Strikes Back, Loudmouth Lois and the More the Merrier. This book just stands out and shines compared to all of them, and it is one of my all time favourite books! Here is the story line:...
Published on 25 Mar. 2008 by Mehajabeen Farid

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good book
i got this book from the school libary and found it was quite good. about a girl who goes to a school for how to be charming with one teacher for a day. it is quite a fast moving story and is preety funney at times. it is not the best book but is about in the middle if you put it on a scale. i recomend this book for 9+. thanks, bye! *_*
Published on 4 Feb. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Fine Classic!, 25 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
Anne Fine has won many awards; she is also a Children's Laureate and she has written many fantastic books including the Diary of a Killer Cat, The Return of the Killer Cat, The Killer Cat Strikes Back, Loudmouth Lois and the More the Merrier. This book just stands out and shines compared to all of them, and it is one of my all time favourite books! Here is the story line: Bonny has just moved somewhere new and while her mother is at a course, she has to go to Charm School. She hates how everyone does practically nothing and does not want to be like them so she pretends to be one of Maura's little helpers: she has to do the sounds and lights for the show later. How will she cope? Find out in this great book... I would definitely rate this book 10/ 10 and would strongly recommend it to anyone, girls in particular, who like Anne Fine's super stories or anyone who likes the sound of this splendid story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book was funny, it had good descriptions., 12 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
I think this book was great the way it was based on a more different and interesting subject than any other books.The title 'Charm school' is also good as it only gives away a slight clue of what the book is about.I very much recommend this book to other readers who enjoy a nice smooth read,it is very gripping.To be honest I can't think of any improvments that could be made at all, because it is so absorbing to read, it is a very satisfying book.
Lucie Verver Age 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those who are fans of Tracy Beaker., 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charm School (Kindle Edition)
This is a fab book, I read it first when I was 11, and just reread it as a 21 year old and enjoyed it just as much. It poses interesting messages about the aesthetic obsessed world in which we live, without ramming the message down your throat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I don't want to go to Charm School", 16 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
This Anne Fine book was really entertaining. I think this book is probably for ages above 9.
It is about a girl called Boony who has to go to a 1 day class, because her mom has to go to book keeping (advanced). Also Bonny's family had just moved into a new neighborhood, and her mom doesent want her to stay alone in an empty house. There were brouchures scattered on the floor. She looked through the pile and chose...Practical Parenting? Her mom refused. There was no time to hesitate.Then she noticed her self standing in front of a door. Behind the door was Charm School.
She steped in the room. She closed the door. No one looked at her. As She looked around, she saw allsorts of girls in fancy clothe. In front of them there stood a glistening lady making a speech. Sooner or later she found out that the lady was called Mrs. Opalene.
Any way, what was this place? Some girls trying to be perfect?
Bonny learned that you were supposed try to get the glistening tiara. Bonny didn't want to try to get the glistning tiara. She planned to help with the sound and lighting for the Curls and Purls show the girls were going to preform.
See what happens next by reading this book.
Highly recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I just couldn't put it down!, 17 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
This book was fabulous and suitable for all ages.It shows young people not to get mixed up in the way of fashion and real beauty is on the inside.A must for all readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars could not take my eyes off the page, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Charm School (Kindle Edition)
i really enjoyed reading this book. it was so good. this girl has been made to go to charm school and she hates it. she does not like it at the school because all the girls do nothing but learn how to look pretty and it annoys the child who has been sent to the school. but just after one day of a child visiting charm school things will change and u will have to buy the book to find out anymore. so buy this book its defintely worth reading!!!! i recommend this book to girls and i would give this book a 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An charming tale for children who love glamour!, 14 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
Bonny Bramblels mum has to go to Book keeping Advanced so Bonny has to go to a day club while her mum is doing the course.The teacher Mrs Opalene tells all the girls great ideas like how to sit or how to smile.They also have a bueaty compotion.All of the Charm School girls are battaling it out for the glistning tiara apart from Bonny who thinks its a waste of time.The tea boy called Toby thinks its a waste of time aswell but is allways thinking of 1 girl in particular.
The best thing I liked about Charm School is that Bonny didnt want to go first of all but then she it loved becuase she made lots of friends.I also like the discribing of the bueaty contest how they do diffrent acts to try and impress Mrs Opalene.
I would recomend this book to children from the ages 8-11 who like cotests against one and another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for 9 to 10 year old girls, 31 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Charm School (Paperback)
My daughter who is 9 loved this book. She loves books such as Malory Towers and Famous 5 and this seems to be the same type of genre. A relatively easy and fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charm School (Kindle Edition)
Ok it was good but could be better and it was a very good story I liked it when she thought she was on the wrong floor that was funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A humorous book recommended for 8-11 year olds, 15 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This book is brilliant for all young readers. It took a bit to get going but when it did it was great. This book is about a girl (Bonny) who has to do a day activity because her mum has a job to go to. The only one she can attend is Charm School. When she arrives she thinks it's going to be awful but in the end . . . . read it and see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charm School
Charm School by Anne Fine (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews