Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book. Read it.!
Double act is about twins called Ruby and Garnet. Ruby is a real drama queen and loves to act plays and Garnet is the exact oppisite. thier mother is dead and thier father has found a girl-friend. they move away and they hate thier new school. Thier father is opening a book shop with his girl friend (Rose). In he end they end up going thier seprate ways. Other books...
Published on 21 Jun 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
It was not the best Jacqueline Wilson book ever, still good but not the best. If you really want a good Jacqueline Wilson book try reading Queenie it is really good.
Published 3 months ago by katie


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book. Read it.!, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Double act is about twins called Ruby and Garnet. Ruby is a real drama queen and loves to act plays and Garnet is the exact oppisite. thier mother is dead and thier father has found a girl-friend. they move away and they hate thier new school. Thier father is opening a book shop with his girl friend (Rose). In he end they end up going thier seprate ways. Other books by Jaqualine Willson that I'v enjoyed are 'The Dare game.','How to survive summer camp''The story of Tracy Beaker'and'The Illastrated mum' If you read this book you are bound to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fab! You Must Read It!, 24 Sep 2003
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
I have to say double act is a well and truely fantastic book and if you haven't read it, you must!
I've only just become a Jaqueline Wilson fan i've read alot of her books and this is my most favorite book so far!
It's a lovely story about two identical twins called Ruby and Garnet untill their mum dies and a Lady called Rose moves in......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart - Warming And Hilarious, 13 May 2008
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
Double Act is a comedy drama about two twins called Ruby and Garnet. They are always confusing people with their looks and their perfect timed movements. They love their Dad, Rick and Gran ever so much and they all try ever so hard to live like a normal family ever since Ruby and Garnets Mum died. When Ruby and Garnet sneak away to London by themselves, to audition for the T.V serial `The Twins At S.T Clares' I wondered - will they stay Ruby and Garnet forever?

I would recommend this book to people of all ages to read this book as it is hilarious and heart warming.

It made me feel curious about what would happen and it made my heart feel warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars double act! By Jacquline Wilson, 4 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
Double act is about 2 twin girls named Ruby and Garnet. Ruby is the older twin and Garnet is the younger twin. Ruby loves acting, but Garnet doesn't, She's too shy. They live with there dad Richard, gran (to begin with) and Rose. The twins mum died when they were little because she was ill.
All the way through, Ruby keeps getting into lots of trouble and getting Garnet into trouble as well.
It is all very exciting.
I would say that this book is based on the age 8-11 years for girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a very good book and I would advise it to someone ove, 12 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
Double Act is about 2 twins and there mum died when they where little and they live with their dad and Nan. But one day her dad comes home saying he has met this lady called Rose. The twins Ruby and Garnet hate her the first time she sees her, which is when their dad brings her home to have tea, out off the blue and their Nan tried her best to be nice to Rose. Then her dad suddenly announced that they where moving to the country with ROSE, and that there Nan is going to be put in a home. Ruby and Garnet hate the idea, that means that they will have to change schools and they will have to live with Rose. They start a new school and hate it. But one day they see on the notice board a poster about a modelling thing so they go there on a Saturday, but there dad find's out and Garnet get sent to a boarding school and Ruby doesn't ... I thought this was a really good book and I would advise this for 10-year-old and ups. I also think she is a really good writer and make her books fun and easy to understand unlike some writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read, 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
I realy enjoyed reading Double Act because it is funny and it is not like any other book. I chose this book Double Act because I like reading about twins also I like Jacqueline Wilson books.My favourite character is Garnet, because her twin Ruby cuts all her hair off, because she really wanted to go to Marnock Heights.I am not going to tell you any more so read it yourself! I would recomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good Good, 2 Mar 2008
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
About the author of the book

Jacqueline Wilson is one of my favourite authors and she wrote this great book! She has her own personal collection of over 15,000 books and I don't even have about a thirtieth of that (500 books)!

About the awards for the book

This book has won the Smarties Book Prize and the Children's Book Award; it has being shortlisted for the Young Telegraph/ Fully Booked Award and being shortlisted for the Nottingham Children's Book Award.

The story plot of the book

Ruby and Garnet are twins; they live with their gran and their dad and the family live happily for a long time. However, with dad's girlfriend Rose, will everything change? Find out what happened to them when they had to move away to a horrible, little village by the country...

My awards for the book

I would rate this brilliant book 10/ 10; I really, really, really, really, really, really enjoyed this book, to prove that I really, really, really, really, really, really, really enjoyed this book, I couldn't put it down until the very end! I would recommend it to anyone who really likes Jacqueline Wilson's books - just like me, especially girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Act (Paperback)
This was one of the first Jacqueline Wilson books I read and it was one of the best. It is about two twins called Ruby & Garnet. Garnet is quiet & shy where as Ruby is gobby & active. Their mother had died and their dad was with another women which Ruby & Garnet did not like. A funny part of the story was when Garnet threw up over Rose( their Dad's girl friend). I like the way Jacqueline Wilson writes her stories. They are very witty and I enjoy reading them. Jacqueline Wilson is definetly my favourate auther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the story's great read it!, 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Double Act is a book about twins who go through everything togeather even though they dont allways see eye to eye.
the twins are called ruby and garnet they are total opposites but get along judst fine, well most of the time! Ruby ids outgoing, bossy and wants to be an actriss whereas garnet is quiet and does every thing ruby tells her to because she cant be bothered to argue.
the girls mother has died and this has obviously scarred them. i cant tell you any more but to find out all about their scrapes near misses and adventures the girls have you will just have to read the book yourself.
the book kept me interested and i have read it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Act Pb (Paperback)
This is a really good book. It has a great storyline and I could not put it down.
Ruby and Garnet are twins. They are identical twins. They do everything together-they even go to the toilet together. One day, their dad meets a lady- Rose. They fall in love and move in together. Ruby and Garnet hate Rose and this is where the trouble begins! Then, they see a advert advertising auditions for `The Twins at St.Clairs`. They go to the audition and meet all types of twins. Do they get the part? Read it an find out!
This is one of the best books Jacqueline Wilson has written. It is funny, hart warming and above all, really, really, really enjoyable to read.
I very much recomend this book to ALL Jacqueline Wilson fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Act
Double Act by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 2 May 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews