Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended
I chose to review this book as part of my children's literature project and found myself unable to put it down! The structure is somewhat unusual (though clever) as each chapter takes the reader through the alphabet ('A is for...Andrea'...etc). This may be quite intriguing for young readers, encouraging them to finish the book and discover what each letter stands for in...
Published on 24 Mar. 2006 by Laura K

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get the hype
My. Son brought this book home from school, He is 10 and didn't get it at all, So I decided to read it to him, If I want him to read about "Mum slagging of Carrie" I will get him to watch East Enders not appropriate for ten year olds in my opinion
Published 18 months ago by Simon1131


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 24 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I chose to review this book as part of my children's literature project and found myself unable to put it down! The structure is somewhat unusual (though clever) as each chapter takes the reader through the alphabet ('A is for...Andrea'...etc). This may be quite intriguing for young readers, encouraging them to finish the book and discover what each letter stands for in Andrea's life. When approaching the content, some readers may feel the book paints a negative picture of step families, though i must say I don't agree. It simply outlines how difficult it can be to adjust and I am certain that young readers will find the book helpful. While many will be able to relate to the character 'Andrea' (the 'suitcase kid', whose parents have divorced), the story may also help children unfamilliar with divorce to understand what friends may be going through.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful..., 28 Mar. 2006
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I read this book over and over when I was younger. It's a fantastic story about Andy, a young girl who is trying to cope with her parents' divorce, and her irritating new stepfamilies. It's brilliantly written and the emotions and thoughts of Andy are so realistic. Anyone who has felt out of place in their own home will understand immediately the feelings Andy has.
As well as being realistic and helpful, this book is also really funny and very easy to read. It's not at all preachy. Not just for children coping with divorce, this is a great book in its own right.
It will definitely appeal to anyone who has had trouble dealing with the things life throws at them, and who has ever felt that the only world which won't disappoint them is the one they create in their imagination. Heartwarming, enjoyable and at times tearjerking, this book is a refuge from all the people who don't understand you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Group Review from Kuwait, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
Here are some of our Y6 English Group Reviews (unedited and their final drafts):
1. When Andrea’s parents split up, they didn't know what to do with her, she ended up one week at mums and the other at dads, it’s too much pressure for her, but she manages to go through life with her little Radish! Her Mum lives with the ‘Baboon’ and 3 children while her father lives with Carrie and her twins, she just doesn’t stand it. All that Andy wants is her own parents, own family, her own room in her own Mulberry Cottage!
2. The book ‘The Suitcase Kid’ is a very good story because it is detailed and has lots of description.
The subject is interesting because most people don't like to talk about sad things such as divorced parents or having no friends.
This story written by Jacqueline Wilson is about a girl called Andrea who has divorced parents and she can’t settle in one place. She lives one week at her Mum’s house and the next with her Dad. Andrea’s parents have both remarried and have children, and Andrea keeps fighting with them.
She goes to and fro between home and school alone every day and I think her parents are irresponsible because she can easily get kidnapped or robbed.
Andrea has only one friend, who is a stuffed rabbit called Radish. To Andrea, Radish is real because it reminds her of the days when her Mum and Dad and her all lived in Mulberry Cottage together, which is where Andrea and her parents lived before they divorced.
This book has many different parts such as sadness, loneliness and fantasy. The story is sort of like an Andrea’s diary of important events but overall, I think it is an interesting and well written book for young children.
3.This story is about a girl called Andrea and how she copes with her parents splitting up and losing her childhood home.
Andrea and her mascot rabbit, Radish, make new friends like Graham, her step-brother from her mum's side, and also Crystal, her step-sister from her dad's, and also make new enemies like Katie, her step –sister from her mum's side, Zen, her step-brother from her dad's side, and Bill, her step-dad.
Will she be able to go from one week at her mum's and one week at her dad's?
Find out in this amazing tale that helps kids with divorced parents that it is all going to work itself out.
4. The Suitcase Kid is a really good book. Just imagine you're living in your dream home, and then suddenly your whole world is shattered! Imagine that your parents split up and all you have for comfort is a little toy rabbit. Imagine one parent has got a new husband and another a new wife! Imagine you have got new step brothers and sisters that you have never met! This, however is the life of a 10 year old girl called Andy. She stays with her mum the first week and then with her dad the second week. Andy misses the mulberry pies her parents used to make for her. She misses living together with her real family. Some of her new siblings tease her and taunt her. Andy feels so alone at times, but then she starts to feel at home until she moves to the new house again and finds out she will have another baby sibling !With all this stress on her shoulders she started becoming terrible in school and soon was at the bottom of the class.
How would you feel if all this happened to you?
5.The Suitcase Kid is a heart wrenching page-turner that sheds some light on the harsh reality of divorce and how it affects children. Readers will fall in love with Andy’s character and her monologue will make you feel all the emotions of sadness and longing that she is feeling. This book perfectly describes the emotional roller coaster of what the child feels when their parents split up. Some may think that this book talks about some sensitive subjects for young readers, but I think this can help children with divorced parents relate and get through these situations. Over all, a great book that has made me cry, laugh and everything in between!
6. The Suitcase kid is a really good book because it’s a lifetime of a girl called Andy. Andy’s parents have split up and now Andy’s mum lives with her un-uncle Bill and her dad lives with Carrie which is pregnant. Andy is used to go from one week at mums and the other at dads. It’s easy as ABC. Andy has 2 step brothers and 3 step sisters. Katie and Paula are from her mother. Katie is really annoying but Paula is sometimes good. Crystal is from her dad, she is also helpful sometimes. Graham is from her mother he is Andy’s mate. But Zen is from her dad he is always naughty and annoying. Zoe is from Carrie it’s the newborn baby. Zoe is Andy’s best stepsister.
7. This story is about a girl named Andrea aged 10. It tells us how her parents split up and how she is coping with the new family members which are kind of mean. Bill is the mate of mum and dad has a mate called Carrie. Bill has Graham a computer kid, Katie a devil and Paula a music lover. Carrie has twins there they are, Zen a monster and Crystal is a sweet child. Andy now has not got a home. She lives one week with her mum and the next week with her dad. Andy has a mascot rabbit called Raddish and which Andrea imagines it can talk. Andy does not want to live in two separate houses each week she wants to live in Mulberry cottage with her own parents. This situation is affecting on Andrea’s school work. This story is based upon the author’s life. This story appealed to me because it is full of emotions, sadness, determination and feelings.
8. I'm an ESF student aged twelve. When I read this book I felt sorry for Andrea because her parents got divorced and since she has to stay one week in her father's house and the other week in her mother's house. Andrea used to live with her parents in a place called Mulberry Cottage, which was her favorite place as most of her happy time was spent there and moreover she liked to eat mulberries and mulberry pie. Her stepfather was called Bill and Andrea called him the baboon because she hated him and her stepmother was called Carrie, Andrea liked Carrie more than Bill. At first Andrea hated her stepbrothers and stepsisters, she thought they were annoying, but after a few weeks she started to like Crystal, her stepsister (father side), as Andrea felt that she became kind and nice. Graham her stepbrother (mother side) made a boat for Andrea's toy rabbit that's called Radish, so Andrea became mates with Graham; on the other hand she still hated Katie because she always teased her and called her names as well as Zen made Andrea angry. The Suitcase Kid book covers many themes like anger, meanness, jealousy and sadness and Andrea had to go through all of this. Andrea thought that nothing can go worse, but her stepmother gets pregnant. Andrea did not solve all the things alone, she always considered that Radish close to her, who always stood by her side and joined every adventure with her.
9. his story is well-written and balanced due to the concentration and focus clearly showed by the author,[Jacqueline Wilson] who focused on story writing as well as character description by using strong words and adjectives in each paragraph. The story wants us to read more because of its writing style and words specifically used in certain ways and times. This book is aimed for children from 7-13 because it will teach them lots of new things and make them experience a lot of things that children their age have been through and its difficulty. This book also teaches children things like grammar and punctuation easily and clearly.

A 5 STAR BOOK for children and maybe also might be liked by adults or old people which will make them remember their childhood.

Student from the Middle East [Y6]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid, 1 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
For ten-year-old Andy, everything she had once considered stable and familiar has gone forever. Her parents have had a bitter divorce, and not only does she have to move out of her cottage, she also accquires five step siblings overnight. Naturally, Andy doesn't take to any of this at all. She argues with her new family members and finds herself stuck in the middle of her parent's petty arguments.

Andy lives with her mum one week and her dad the next. This arrangement is supposed to keep everyone happy, but all it does is create tension between her parents and forces her to carve out a place as a family member in two households, instead of just the one. There's also a sense of loneliness in Andy and, rather more worryingly, the idea that she is homeless baggage. Things come to a head when Andy loses her one remaining tie with her old life, and she runs away from her mum's house to recover it.

The story reaches a satisfying yet realisticly open-ended conclusion. Andy and mean step-sister Katie don't become best friends, but they learn to tolerate each other; and while Andy's parents don't get back together, they seem to at least be in the process of forming a truce. This shows great sensitivity on the part of the author - the ending is happy, but not perfect. It leaves you with a sense of hope, but doesn't damage any young readers going through a similar experience by creating a false promise.

The style is rather simplistic even for Wilson, and there isn't a lot of depth to any of the characters. Thankfully the story itself will probably be interesting enough to those in the target age group that they won't mind. The chapters are short and the book will be completed quickly by competent readers.

So, while not Wilson's best book, it IS one of her earliest; you may have to excuse some of the more irksome parts of the prose as the faults of a new writer still finding her feet.

Recommended for 8-10 year olds, though it may actually be a helpful reference for an adult who needs to know what to expect from their child after a divorce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Niamh O'Hara, 17 Mar. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid (Greatest book ever)

Jacqueline Wilson

The main character is an adventurous girl called Andy who has a toy rabbit called Radish that helps Andy's imagination and makes her forget everything bad. Two other characters are Andy's parents, who have split up and made Andy move between mums house and also dads. Bill the Baboon is married to mum and has three children called Katie who is a small girl that acts all sweet but is mean to Andy, Graeme who is very shy and Paula the oldest of them. There is Carrie who is married to dad and who has two children Zen and Crystal.

Andy is a girl who tries to cope with life because of her divorced parents. She moves from her mum's house to her dads house every week. That was house A and house B but Andy wanted to go to house C, Mulberry Cottage, where everything was perfect, to Andy anyway. As she realises how her two new families are happy does she still want to go to her dream cottage?

This book had no weak bits because of the way Jacqueline Wilson handles real family issues and manages to make a great book.

My highlights of this book were when Andy discovered Katie's secret, when Andy made friends with Graeme and when Andy found the new mulberry tree.

Rating: *****

Niamh O'Hara

The Suitcase Kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed Jacqueline Wilson fan!!!, 22 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
I've read most of Jacqueline Wilsons books and this book would be one of my favourites! I really enjoyed this book because you knew Andy felt bad and annoyed. She would feel angry and feel sorry for herself, but we would hear her thoughtsand you could imagineher every move! I loved the discription of the characters, in Andy's viewher parents were innocent, it was Bill the Baboon's fault and Carrie's fault. The only person Andy understood was Raddish her toy rabbit. She didn't understand why her Mum and Dad didn't want to live together in Mullbery Cottage. She didn't know why Katie was such a brat. She was confused. I advise everyone who likes Jacqueline Wilson's books to read this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabtastic book, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Turner (Oswaldtwistle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The suitcase kid is a really good book for kids in situations at home. It is about a young girl called Andrea who's parents have split up. She loved it living with her family at Mulberry cottage; it was her dream house. Her Mum lives with a man called Bill now and his three kids and her Dad lives with Carrie and her twins.Bill's daughter Katie picks on Andy non-stop throughout the time that she has been moving house to house with her mum and dad.At her dad's there is one twin called Zen he is really mischievous and is always fighting with Andy, however Crystal is sort of cute and kind to Andy. Back at her Mum's house Katie has more sisters and a brother, her brother is called Graham. Graham is also kind and thoughtful and very quiet he sits in his room playing on his computer games. She has a pet rabbit called Radish that goes everywhere with her it is like her best buddie as she doesn't have many friends. Another shocking event happens during her troublesome life. This book is full of laughter, anger and a bit of sadness.

by Carla Birtwistle and Shannon Marsland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 18 Mar. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with bill the baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****

Brogan Donaldson

The Suitcase Kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 17 Mar. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with Bill the Baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that Carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****
The Suitcase Kid

Brogan Donaldson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Suitcase Kid Review by Brogan Donaldson, 17 Mar. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Suitcase Kid (Paperback)
The Suitcase Kid "The Best Book Ever"

Jacqueline Wilson books are the best. Have you ever read them? My class have read the Suitcase Kid. It was that good that we might even ask the teacher if we can get another Jacqueline Wilson book.

Andy is one of our characters. Andy, mum and dad have split up so dad is now living with Carrie now and mum is now living with Bill the Baboon and he has a daughter that is called Katie and she hates Andy.

Andy was so sad that her mum and dad had split up. Katie hates Andy and she annoys Andy so much. Andy gets into trouble because Katie fakes that it is sore when Andy hits Katie. When bill comes home Andy gets into trouble again because Katie tells her dad.

My class were very exited when we read that Carrie was pregnant. Do you know what she is having?

The book was so good and fun and so sad when Radish got lost. Does Andy find Radish?

*****
The Suitcase Kid

Brogan Donaldson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Suitcase Kid
The Suitcase Kid by Jacqueline Wilson (Paperback - 1 July 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews