Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB
This series is fab I cannot get enough of this authors work - I am hooked on her storylines and great characters.
Published on 8 April 2013 by SML15

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm - I can't quite decide, but definitely NOT brilliant.
What can I say about this? While it was a good story, with a good mystery to drive the plot, there are some issues with the characters. Isabelle is a doctor working in Africa for Medecins Sans Frontieres, and she gets double-crossed by her bodyguard who was hired by her senator mother. Isabelle is raped and severely beaten by Rafe, and then abandoned. During the...
Published on 8 May 2010 by Genre addict


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm - I can't quite decide, but definitely NOT brilliant., 8 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard to Hold (Mass Market Paperback)
What can I say about this? While it was a good story, with a good mystery to drive the plot, there are some issues with the characters. Isabelle is a doctor working in Africa for Medecins Sans Frontieres, and she gets double-crossed by her bodyguard who was hired by her senator mother. Isabelle is raped and severely beaten by Rafe, and then abandoned. During the rescue by Jake, we are asked to believe that they both managed to become sexually aroused - her enough to want him to touch her (the rape was quite violent), and him enough to want to do it. Now, colour me Mrs Doubtful, but ... Really? I know realism doesn't come into it, but ... really?
After that it was fine, I could understand their connection (just) and what developed between them. Basically Rafe is a loony who is after revenge on Sydney's mother and biological father after his own father was killed by Sydney's 'father'. Jake saves the day. What I didn't get (really) was why there was the parallel story between Crutch (yes, a really silly name) and Sarah (who was Isabelle's friend in Africa and also betrayed her). It added nothing to what was going on with Isabelle and Jake, added nothing to the background, left several questions unanswered and generally confused the issue completely. It was almost as if there were two totally unconnected stories going on, that only touched on the periphery - and in the Sarah/Crutch story I really found the characters uninteresting. She's probably trying to do a Sydney Croft, who always manages to interleave two stories - but SC does it much more succesfully (MUCH more succesfully).
Will I read the next one? Possibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First of three brothers, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hard to Hold (Mass Market Paperback)
As soon as I started this book I realised that it was the first in the series (of which I have already read several: `Hold on Tight', `Lie with Me', `Promises in the Dark', `Too Hot To Hold'). So I've clearly read them the wrong way round, not that it seemed to matter at the time, but it did feel a bit odd reading about Chris and Nick, heroes of subsequent novels, before they had found their women.

Anyway, this story was very like the others by this author - lots of special forces stuff, partly set in Africa, lots of guns and hiding and violence and danger and sex. Considering it was the first book in the series it didn't spent ages setting the scene, particularly of the three brothers (two of whom are adopted) but information was gradually revealed - which I already knew anyway from having read the other books.

The story focuses on Dr Isabelle Markham, daughter of a US Senator and medic working in Africa who has been kidnapped. She is rescued by a SEAL team including Lieutenant Jake Hansen who finds himself with a more personal interest in Isabelle than he had previously thought. When he is tasked with being her bodyguard (without her realising she has one) he discovers that, despite being back in America, she still isn't safe. Can he keep her safe from her former captor, and can she ever learn to trust a man again?

I found this story a reasonable read, if rather formulaic in many of its ideas. There were some other threads of story (Rachel and Clutch, for example) woven into this one, and there was lots of information about the brothers and their relationship with each other forged through their shared youth. What was less successful was the ending which I felt ended up as rather a damp squib and over surprisingly quickly. However it wasn't a bad read and I felt that Isabelle's coming to terms with her experiences in Africa was reasonably well written.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard to Hold (Mass Market Paperback)
This series is fab I cannot get enough of this authors work - I am hooked on her storylines and great characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved the holding on series, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Same as the first two slow to start but loved the story and i loved the last one aswell HOLDING ON. All the brothers all settled and in love. Great story line from start to finish in all four books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book.i have not read anything from this author before.but this stuck me as excellent and thoroughly refreshing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this and have now bought the full series, only con is that you can't put them down and get nothing else done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tara, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard to Hold (Mass Market Paperback)
very impressed with the delivery, but dissapointed to see that the condition of the book was poorer than described. I know it was second hand but it was spoiled by the words being underlined in red ink in a good portion of the book. This should have been mentioned in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
Ms. G. V. Tapper "grace-bookmad" (Chatham, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard to Hold (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is brill. I would strongly recommend if you enjoy reading about strong, hansome men who are with the millitry. The book is based in America. I think it is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard to Hold
Hard to Hold by Stephanie Tyler (Mass Market Paperback - 15 May 2010)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews