Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thesaurus money can buy
I brought this book as a gift for my dad,who is an avid crossword fan.
I wanted to get him the best,and had always heard that Roget's is the best thesaurus available.
He was pleased when he opened it but now he has used it a few times,he is even more pleased.
At this price,it is a steal.
As ever,buying from Amazon,delivery was outstanding..it said 3-5...
Published on 6 Mar. 2010 by K. Lowe

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiny print
The book is fine just as you would expect however, the print is so tiny I even struggle with new reading glasses
Published on 13 Nov. 2009 by old lady who lives in a shoe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiny print, 13 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
The book is fine just as you would expect however, the print is so tiny I even struggle with new reading glasses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an american mistake, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
Needing a new thesaurus I bought this American version. Reviews were positive and it was cheap. A mistake. For a crossword clue I needed a four letter word beginning with k for an avian preditor. I tried "hawk" but there was no entry for it. I tried "falcon",kestral" and "eagle" but again no entries. "Kite" was the obvious answer from my falling - apart Penguin thesaurus. This Princeton volume boasts on the backcover that it contains no obsolete terms. Hard to believe these words are obsolete in America, especially "eagle". Maybe I will just buy an up to date Penguin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus - Dictionary Style, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
It wasn't until I opened the package that I realised it was the US version - in US English (a misnomer to me - English should be uniquely English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thesaurus money can buy, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
K. Lowe "thekat" (wolves,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
I brought this book as a gift for my dad,who is an avid crossword fan.
I wanted to get him the best,and had always heard that Roget's is the best thesaurus available.
He was pleased when he opened it but now he has used it a few times,he is even more pleased.
At this price,it is a steal.
As ever,buying from Amazon,delivery was outstanding..it said 3-5 working days,but arrived in 2,making it in time for his Birthday and covering for my ineptitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Roget's Thesaurus (21st Cantury Reference), 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was very disappointed to find this book to be small in format but thick for a format of this size. In the case of a novel, which may be read once or twice, this hardly matters but a reference book should withstand constant use without falling apart. The spine is gummed and breaks easily. I foresee that this book has a limited life. Moreover, the text is uncommonly small, making it hard to read. A magnifying glass is practically essential. I think these considerations should be made clear at the point of sale. I use Roget constantly and I see that I shall not get my money's worth. I award two stars for the quality of the contents but for the means of delivery, zilch (blank, diddly-squat, goose egg, hill of beans, insignificancy, nada, naught...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Definition, 3 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
An excellent little Thesuarus that's made easier to use by its dictionary format. Be warned that the type is rather small, ( it has to be really to keep it a manageable size ), so you'll need good eyesight or some form of magnification.

I bought it for my daughter, to improve her vocabulary and all in all it does the job very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 96 year old's cheater catcher., 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
Purchased for a 96 year old lady who thought her Scrabble partner might be cheating. I'm not sure if she intends to look up words or throw the book at him - she hates to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible of thesauruses, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
Fokion Dimitriadis (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
My consistent avocation for more than a decade now has been english lexicology (the study of words) and I have built a respectable library of relevant material. After repeated comparative tests and rigorous assessments of each and every one of my resources I have concluded that this book stands out as the most comprehensive,up-to-date, and above all, practical guide in the market. Its competitive advantages are:
- It lists a mind-boggling array of synonyms (spanning the whole semantic spectrum)for each entry and the arrangement is alphabetical and not based on the semantic proximity of each synonym to the entry - making it completely descriptive and not prescriptive.
- It refers every entry to its relevant concept, effectively linking the word to the idea and mirroring the way we actually think!
- The above produces a concept index which captures our world in intuitive conceptual categories.

BY FAR THE BEST BOOK IN ITS CATEGORY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Useful Gift, 23 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) (Mass Market Paperback)
We have had a copy of this book in the house for years and use it regularly.... this was a Birthday gift for 26 yr old son....so that he has one in the house too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference)
Rogets 21st Century Thesaurus: In Dictionary Form (21st Century Reference) by Barbara Ann Kipfer (Mass Market Paperback - 28 July 2006)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews