Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant But Predictable Romance
On a battlefield in Toulouse, France, 1814, Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn gives his word of honor to one of his dying soldiers that he will "protect the man's sister - no matter what!" The English had prevailed over Napoleon's army and Colonel Bedwyn, home on leave in England to visit his large family, stops at Ringwood Manor in Oxfordshire to personally break the sad news to...
Published on 28 Feb 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really a 3.5 rating
Review taken from Blog Post (#69) in January 2011, after borrowing from local library.

Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn's life was saved to years previously by a young officer, but Percy Morris has never intended to call in that particular debt.

However, having taken a dreadful hit during another battle, Aidan found him just before he lost his fight to...
Published 17 months ago by Toodles Book Club


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant But Predictable Romance, 28 Feb 2005
This review is from: Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
On a battlefield in Toulouse, France, 1814, Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn gives his word of honor to one of his dying soldiers that he will "protect the man's sister - no matter what!" The English had prevailed over Napoleon's army and Colonel Bedwyn, home on leave in England to visit his large family, stops at Ringwood Manor in Oxfordshire to personally break the sad news to the man's sister, Eve Morris. Determined to discover the problem that caused the vehement promise to be exacted, Bedwyn discovers that Miss Morris and all her dependents are to be evicted from their home and reduced to penury unless she marries within the next four days. Her father had bequeathed the manor and land to her for the period of one year. If she had not married in that time, the estate would go to her brother. If he were to die, then a social climbing, grasping cousin was to inherit. Bedwyn, a man of his word, proposes a marriage of convenience to allow the lady to live out her life on her estates. As Bedwyn had never planned to marry, he would, of course, return to the army and the couple would never meet again. As fate would have it, the marriage turns out to be anything but convenient and their time together is prolonged with interesting consequences.
This is the first of a three book series about the Bedwyn family - Wulfric, Duke of Bewcastle, his brothers Aiden, Rannulf, and Alleyne and sisters Freyja and Morgan. This novel about Aiden and Eve makes for a pleasant romantic read. There is nothing complex about the tale, no subplots or much tension between the characters, who are charming if predictable. Ms. Balogh writes in her usual warm, emotional style which enhances the somewhat over-used storyline. I enjoyed reading "Slightly Married" and do recommend it as long as potential buyers/readers realize that this is not one of Mary Balogh's best efforts.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Charles Anderson (mddx United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have fallen in love with Mary Balogh's novels. I want to red everything she has written. Slightly Married is the first book in a series of six about the four Bedwyn brothers and their two sisters, set in early nineteenth century England. What is so wonderful about Mary Balogh's writing is that she creates marvellous characters who mature and develop as you read. They start off naive and immature and unknowing about relationships - as was frequently the case in Regency England - and by the end of the novel they have learned so much about themselves and the people in their lives.

I loved the Slightly series which will appeal to all those who love Georgette Heyer romances. Mary Balogh is completely addictive. I stayed up late each night I read a new book and found them unputodwneable. I can't praise more highly than that.

Julie Anderson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the 'Slightly' series, 26 Jun 2007
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
My favourite book in the series about the Bedwyn family (apart from perhaps the last one). Mary Balogh writes beautifully, she does character development very well and can put the most unlikely couple together at the beginning of a story and end up with them so obviously being made for each other with the transition always fascinating, moving and totally believable. Aidan is (apart from Wulfric) the darkest and most complex of the brothers and the gradual realisation of his love for Eve is beautifully told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Different, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and thought that the main characters were a little bit different to the normal hero and heroine, as was the tone of the book. Its honesty was refreshing- the way in which Aidan and Eve fell in love was described in a more realistic way that the standard 'sparks flying' story. I thought both Aidan and Eve's characters were likeable, if hers was a little cliched at times, but on the whole a really enjoyable book, I reccomend it to all Bedwyn fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light read, 2 Mar 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I can't entirely decide if I liked this book. On one level it was good, escapist reading. Eve Morris has to marry someone before a year has passed after her Father's death or his estate will pass on to her unpleasant cousin. She is holding a torch for a neighbour, John, who has been abroad with the diplomatic service for over a year, but she believes when he returns they will marry. Colonel Lord Aiden Bedwyn comes to her house to notify her of the death of her brother, Percy, when there is just a week to go for her marriage deadline. And as he had promised Percy as his dying favour to take care of his sister, Aiden finds himself honour bound to marry Eve, despite the fact that he was intending to marry the daughter of his General.

This is the bare bones of the beginning of the story - a marriage of convenience is hatched between two unlikely people - he the brother and heir of a Duke, she the daughter of a coalminer, although brought up as a gentlewoman. The story explores how such different people might eventually come to understand each other, appreciate each other's strengths and start to make a life together.

The fact that both people were previously half-betrothed to others of course occurs in the story, although Mary Balogh didn't make as much of it as one might have expected. There are many other side-characters but apart from Aiden's brother the Duke and Eve's adopted children, these are largely ciphers. They exist in order for either Eve or Aiden to react to them.

I suppose in summary this book is froth like so much of this genre - a light read for a sunny afternoon which isn't particularly taxing or particularly edifying. The end worked well and I must admit to a few tears in my eyes at its resolution, but I can't say I'll be rushing to buy any more books by Mary Balogh if this is their overall standard - fortunately it isn't, there are some very good books in the Slightly series (dangerous, tempted, scandalous) and her other series. If you're a Balogh fan you'll enjoy this, if this is the first book by her that you're planning to read I'd guide you to Slightly Dangerous, Slightly Tempted or Slightly Scandalous first, although they're chronologically after this book in the series - they're a better guide to the quality of Balogh's writing and plotting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is Romance !!!!, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
THIS is how romance is supposed to be. THIS is why millions sink into books, dreaming. THIS is what it's all about...
I read A summer to remember first (loosely related, also simply wonderful!) and I immediately went in search of all other books on Mary Balogh's backlist. That is how good she is. I liked Slightly married even better. It's the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you've read the last line. The kind that keeps you staring into an unseen distance for countless moments, only to sigh and open the book again on the first page.
Don't expect intricate plots with unexpected twists and turns and heinous villains. The story focuses on the relation between the 2 lead characters. As the reader you are with them every moment and you feel how they start to respect, like and ultimately love each other. It is beautifully written and it flows. Do not make the mistake in thinking it is a boring book. It is NOT! Events happen, and, ok, there is a villain. The characters act true to their nature all the time. They don't simply turn from morose to cheerful overnight, from tortured to carefree like in some books. They have a history and they live with it. And they love.
This book had me sighing out loud, falling in love with the story and wishing, dreaming, hoping...
I can hardly wait for the next installments in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really a 3.5 rating, 31 Mar 2013
Review taken from Blog Post (#69) in January 2011, after borrowing from local library.

Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn's life was saved to years previously by a young officer, but Percy Morris has never intended to call in that particular debt.

However, having taken a dreadful hit during another battle, Aidan found him just before he lost his fight to survive. Percy called in the debt, and asked him to take the news to his sister personally, that she should not mourn him, or wear black .... and more importantly he made Colonel Lord Aidan promise to protect her no matter what, he was quite definite about that ..... NO MATTER WHAT.

Therefore a few months later when Aidan returned home to England's green and pleasant lands on leave he travelled first to Ringwood Manor to carry out Percy's last wish.

Once there he finds that Eve Morris wants not part of his protection. Eventually he comes to realise that Percy's no matter what meant, when he discovers that she will be left destitute - along with all the various lame ducks by way of children, ex convicts, village idiots and injured ex-solders she has given homes to.

Aidan offers her a straightforward business arrangement - a marriage of convenience .... she will have the protection of his name, and he will go back to his duties as an cavalry commander. They have, however, failed to recognise that there is an ever growing, and unwilling attraction between them.

Will they ever be more than just slightly married in this poignant tale of two socially diverse people.

It was nice to see that Eve made a tiny chip in the ice exterior of Wulfric, Duke of Bewcastle along they way. A 3.5**** star read, but read it you must to piece together the whole of the mighty Bedwyn dynasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars June Allsop, West Sussex, 5 Nov 2006
By 
J. Allsop "June Allsop" (Horsham, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
I feel that Speedy Reader's review is a little unfair. The complaint is that Lady Aiden Bedwyn is addressed so. Her husband is the son of a Duke and thereby his title is honary, viz. Lord Aiden Bedwyn. She would only be called Lady Eve is she were the daughter of either a Duke or Earl. You have only to think of Sir Winston Churchill's parents. They were Lord and Lady Randolph Churchill, because Randolph was the son of the Duke of Marlborough'

Can't give the book a rating as I was looking at the reviews to see what the story was about. I have read three other 'Slightly' books and enjoyed them. Just felt this reviewer was not right in her condemnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNPUTDOWNABLE!!!, 15 Feb 2011
I STUMBLED ACROSS THIS SERIES WHEN LOOKING FOR AN EASY AIRPORT READ. THE LAST ONE IS PERHAPS MY FAVOURITE BUT THIS ONE COMES A VERY CLOSE SECOND. BALOGH'S STYLE OF WRITING IS ENGAGING FROM THE START AND I HAVE FINISHED EACH ONE IN LESS THAN A DAY. AS THE SERIES PROGRESSES, THE PLOT LINES JOURNEY ALONG SOMEWHAT PREDICTABLE AND SIMILAR PATTERNS HOWEVER THIS DOES NOT REALLY DETRACT FROM THE ENJOYMENT. HER MALE LEADS ARE UNIVERSALLY ATTRACTIVE ESPECIALLY AIDAN BEDWYN IN THIS BOOK
I WISH YOU A THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE READ, AND AM A BIT JEALOUS OF ANYONE STARTING THIS SERIES FOR THE FIRST TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eve is Elizabeth Bennett and Aidan as Darcy! Lovely story!, 15 Jan 2011
During the Battle of Waterloo, Colonel Lord Aidan Bedwyn is told by his dying comrade that he must protect his sister, Miss Eve Morris. Before he learns in what respect, he dies. He goes home to relay the news to her, and she is distraught. Eve has been living comfortably in her home at Ringwood Manor, but now realises she faces eviction unless she marries within four days. Her relative, Cecil Morris, is eager to rid her from what he perceives to be his home. Upon discovering this, Lord Bedwyn realises what her brother meant by protecting her. He proposes marriage to her, and although she is taken aback, once he relays his personal reasons and how she has no other option, she accepts. He tells her they will be married but only in name, as they will not live together. This arrangement seems fine to begin with, but Bedwyn's family hear of his marriage and demand that he doesn't keep his new wife in another home. They believe others will think that he is ashamed of her, so order him to present her in London and to the Queen. Eve accepts, although Bedwyn is not pleased that his family are interfering.

Over time, they find they are attracted to each other, but neither one speaks their feelings, believing the other doesn't feel the same. Eventually, Bedwyn admits to himself he loves her, and confesses all in a romantic manner. She tells him she loves him too and they end up living together in her Ringwood Manor.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. Eve is described as not being the most beautiful, nor ugly, which reminds me of Vanessa Dew from the Huxtable series. I found Vanessa annoying, but I have more empathy with Eve, as she doesn't moan about her looks. You find yourself urging Eve and Aidan to hurry up and confess, as it is obvious what they want.

4.5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances)
Slightly Married (Get Connected Romances) by Mary Balogh (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Mar 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews