Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A justifying conclusion of the Rogues of Regent Street
"The Beautiful Stranger" is a satisfying finish of this masterfully written historical trilogy taking place in early 19th century Scotland and England. Arthur Christian, the untitled son of the Duke of Sutherland is one of the notoriously scandalous four Rogues of Regent Street with a shocking reputation among the ton. After the tragic death of one of their childhood...
Published on 25 April 2003 by ambersaxon696

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing end to rouges of regent street series
i bought the first two books of this series and read them in one day each. this book was the worst i've every read from julia london. christian was given a heroine who had already had another life with someone else and was too worldy and crass. the whole fairy tale was destroyed for me at learning that and i never finished the book.i so love her other books and i was so...
Published on 23 Jan 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A justifying conclusion of the Rogues of Regent Street, 25 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street) (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Beautiful Stranger" is a satisfying finish of this masterfully written historical trilogy taking place in early 19th century Scotland and England. Arthur Christian, the untitled son of the Duke of Sutherland is one of the notoriously scandalous four Rogues of Regent Street with a shocking reputation among the ton. After the tragic death of one of their childhood friends the remaining three rogues change their attitude to life and vow to take care of each other better.Arthur is a world-weary bored aristocrat full of regrets and guilt who cannot find his place in society. An unfinished business takes him to Scotland and in a way he is glad to get away from London and his matchmaking family. He encounters attractive Kerry McKinnon who is a poor farmer's widow and who mistakes him for a highwayman. They are forced to spend considerable time together on the roads of Scotland and they fall under each other's charming spell. Kerry is a desperate hard-working and very responsible young woman who doesn't know much about love but she cannot resist the deep sensuality emanating from the most attractive man she has ever met. Arthur is strongly pulled to this beautiful woman who doesn't know how to flirt but who makes a man desperately fall in love with her wanting to protect her forever.Their love grows from day to day and so does their heartache and despair. Not only their social backgrounds are totally different but their many unsolved mysteries too. Ms. London's writing is so realistic that the reader wonders how well she must know her characters to draw us so deeply into their lives, hearts and souls. Kerry's and Arthur's fight for happiness makes us strongly believe in love that conquers all obstacles and social standing. I loved the duo's growing understanding for each other's needs and Kerry's strong honourable will to sacrifice her happiness for justice to others. The novel contains some criminal elements, which are very realistic and convincing for the time period. The love scenes are full of longing, passion and tasteful sensuality.
THE BEAUTIFUL STRANGER is a compelling historical romance dealing with powerful emotions like love, guilt, friendship and loyalty with deep satisfaction. I wish the story would continue and warmly recommend it to all readers who appreciate a high standard in their reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Conquers, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. Leanne A. Lingwood (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Arthur is still reeling after the death of his friend when he finds out his late friend has left a considerable amount of debt and he takes upon himself to go to Scotland to sort out the mess. During a ride through Scotland he comes across Kerry where she accidentally injures him but he still finds himself following her back to her glen and protecting her from trouble on the way. The more time they spend together makes the tension grow between them and their feelings develop in surprising ways that either of them expected. But problems arise when Arthur's dealings with sorting out his friend's debt causes the eviction of Kerry from her home and results in a crime that he has to rescue and protect her from. They flee to England where Kerry tries to fit in with Arthur's world but does she really belong. Can their love survive the differences?

Really good story that really makes you think about love and can you really fit in a world that you don't belong in and how far would you go to protect the one you love. Arthur is a strong man who is used to everything being on hand and not having to lift a finger so when he meets Kerry she changes his life forever and he finally realises what life is really all about. Kerry is just as strong as Arthur who has to deal with the mess her late husband left her in but always keeps a smile on her face to keep the trouble from her friends and family. When she flees to England to be with Arthur she tries very hard to fit into his world but she starts to lose herself and is determined to go back to Scotland and face her problems head on which shows how special she is as she is prepared to protect everyone around her even if it might mean her own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Regency Romance, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It is a lovely tale of Arthur and Kerry, both of whom have had to deal with sadness and grief. Kerry is widowed and struggling to hang on to her home and to support everyone else in her community. Arthur is dealing with his feelings of guilt over the death of his friend and the woman who betrayed him. Though from very different walks of life, through a chance encounter they are brought together and an unlikely friendship develops. This is a well written story, a good read, with interesting twists and turns and a satisfying ending. I recommend this and will look out for other books by Julia London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the beautiful stranger, 23 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street) (Mass Market Paperback)
I found the whole of the rogues of regent street series enchanting.
Each novel had well defined characters and plots which dealt with real issues and relationships difficulties. Most disappointed to find that JL next publications will be modern, not historical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if I see a book by Julie London I must have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing end to rouges of regent street series, 23 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street) (Mass Market Paperback)
i bought the first two books of this series and read them in one day each. this book was the worst i've every read from julia london. christian was given a heroine who had already had another life with someone else and was too worldy and crass. the whole fairy tale was destroyed for me at learning that and i never finished the book.i so love her other books and i was so disappointed in the quality of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street)
The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street) by Julia London (Mass Market Paperback - 1 July 2001)
4.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews