Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an immortal
Just finished book 3 and I'm hooked.
Lisa's been thrown back in time because she touched something she shouldn't have (haven't we all at some time or other). The thing is what she touched sent her back in time to the year 1308. It was cursed and now she's stuck there and to top it all she stuck with a very powerful and immortal Scottish laird. She need's to get home...
Published 22 months ago by nina loves erotica & paranormal

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best in the series.
Third in Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series, The Highlander's Touch is the most complex of the three I've read. Each of the book in the series has a very different feel to them, with different strengths and weaknesses, and this one is particularly infused with extra twists. Funny enough, all of them are connected - for instance The Highlander's Touch, which occurs a...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Dwayne @ Girls Without a Bookshelf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best in the series., 7 Aug 2010
By 
Dwayne @ Girls Without a Bookshelf (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
Third in Karen Marie Moning's Highlander series, The Highlander's Touch is the most complex of the three I've read. Each of the book in the series has a very different feel to them, with different strengths and weaknesses, and this one is particularly infused with extra twists. Funny enough, all of them are connected - for instance The Highlander's Touch, which occurs a century prior, is connected to the first two by its characters.

Let me begin with the characteristics that it shared with its predecessors: it's hilariously funny, it has a drop dead gorgeous hero and the chemistry between the protagonists sizzles (swoon!). It has very loveable secondary characters - and as always, there are some seriously drool-worthy male foils.

I adored (or more like drooled over) Sidheach 'Hawk' Douglas from Beyond the Highland Mist, and Circenn Brodie is much like Hawk in this book. Devastatingly sexy and domineering, Circenn is a man of honour, a natural born leader who lived by his rules. (Un)fortunately for him, his curse on a religious relic misfires and transports the twenty-first century lass Lisa Stone into his lap - literally. She turns his world upside down; makes him break his oaths, lie and deceive. I had a good laugh at this, which saved what would have been a boring characterisation. Circenn, despite his allure, is a slightly inadequate character and much overshadowed by a foil, Duncan Douglas.

However, Lisa is a wonderful character. Strong, vivacious and determined, she works not for herself, but for her mother dying of cancer. She is understandably devastated when she finds herself in a war-torn country in the fourteenth century, her life threatened by the very person who can tempt her into staying. Again, while I like her character, she doesn't seem to have adequate focus, and less-developed characters are a boon in novels, really. Not good.

What makes this stand out in the series are these: several sub plots never fulfilled, a twist that is hard to foresee in the end, and an ending too polished for its own good. The first is annoying, because one of it involved Duncan Douglas, which is the superior character I found in this book. The twist is satisfying as I never could have seen it coming! Finally, the ending is such a classic. I thought it took happily ever after to the extreme, but I can't deny that I didn't like it. My inner child is forever screaming for a happy ever after in all of the books I read and was extremely satisfied with The Highlander's Touch.

Not the best in the series (or at least the three I have read so far), but pick this one up if you're looking for a sexy warlord to drool over, a happy-go-lucky protector to admire and to enjoy the company of the Knights of the Templar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an immortal, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
Just finished book 3 and I'm hooked.
Lisa's been thrown back in time because she touched something she shouldn't have (haven't we all at some time or other). The thing is what she touched sent her back in time to the year 1308. It was cursed and now she's stuck there and to top it all she stuck with a very powerful and immortal Scottish laird. She need's to get home but is torn when the time come's because she's fallen in love. Very romantic, plenty of drama and load's (and load's) of history. The magics building up and Adam Black (the fae fool) seem's to be in the thick of it. Loved the suprise whilst I was reading Adam's input. Managed an "oh!" even my hubby asked "what was up?" Try explaining to a grown man about fairies and Scottish laird's. I just mumbled and carried on day dreaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highlanders touch., 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this authors books. They never disappoint a d the stories are great. The plus factor is that the men are soooo sexxxxy! A great read especially if you love highlanders, faeries and lots of magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karen Marie Moning - always worth a read, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keep them coming. Love the way you just get so involved in the stories and the characters - whether you love them or hate them they always draw some emotion from the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read most of the books in the series but is one of my favourites. The author has a way of drawing you into the storyline that you have to finish the book in one go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Time travelling Highland romp., 8 April 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
I've started reading some of my old books again and this was one of the good ones.Another time travelling Scottish romp that is pure sexy fun and dosn't tax the brain.I love time travel books and I love Sexy hunks so what's not to like.Seriously though it is an enjoyable read that i recommend if you like romances that takes you out of the here and now and drops you in the wish it was me this time.
4* because it's good but i've read better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
Karen Marie Moning doesn't disappoint in this story from her Highlander collection. All of the books in this series have the obligatory alpha male, and feisty females, and entertaining story lines. If you haven't read them then I thoroughly recommend picking up one of these, or all if them if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy!, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this book and have now read the whole Highland series and would highly recommend. My friend actually suggested these to me as she knows I'm a huge sucker for romantic nonsense, as she calls it. The author is witty and, for me, keeps the reader interested. If you like historical rom com with steamy scenes well look no further then this series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not her best, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book in KMM's Highlander series and while it has some of the same enjoyable elements as the first two, it isn't quite as good.

This time the story revolves around Circenn, the laird who cursed a missing fae artefact so that it would be returned to him along with the first person who touched it. Whizzing though time with the artefact is Lisa, desperate to get back to her dying mother but doomed to stay in the past.

The reason that this installment of the series lacks impact are the main characters and the plot. Circenn is great, the usual domineering highland laird character but with a little twist. However, Lisa is a bit bland. I couldn't get interested in her and KMM didn't managed to make me care about her plight. As far as the plot goes, I don't mind the time travel element but I don't enjoy the fact that it is openly accepted by everyone in the past reality. The "She's from the 21st century? Okay. What's for dinner?" attitude, just seemed ridiculous to me. I also didn't really get much of a thrill from the way the story was wrapped up.

This is still worth picking up if you like Highlander historical romances, but if you haven't read any of KMM's books before, you will get a much more satisfying read from the first two books, particularly the second one: Beyond the Highland Mist is book one and To Tame a Highland Warrior is the second book.

NB// The Kindle edition is fine- no errors :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever, 25 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Highlander's Touch (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read all of Karen Marie Moning's books and this is the one I keep going back to and have read many times now. Its a fabulous non stop ride, shot through with suspense, witty banter, hot romance and a to die for hero. If you are happy to suspend belief for the paranormal bits and are looking to fall in love with a sword wieldng, kilted hero, read this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Highlander's Touch
The Highlander's Touch by Karen Marie Moning (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov 2000)
5.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews