Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Book, Remarkable Men...
I've read Umpteen first hand accounts of World War II. Mr Burgett's stand far out above the rest in their honest, plane written style. He adds no frills or plastic prose, he just describes as best he can what went on in his corner of the war. I cannot recommend these books highly enough.
Published on 29 Oct 2001 by Peter Brooks, peter.brooks@cos...

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful
I have read countless hundreds of books on the Second World War. This book started out promising enough but degenerates into typical American gung-ho, unbelievable rubbish. How did the war last as long as it did with soldiers such as Burgett against inferior and clueless Germans?

I am firmly of the opinion that it is fiction.
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Metal Militiant


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Book, Remarkable Men..., 29 Oct 2001
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read Umpteen first hand accounts of World War II. Mr Burgett's stand far out above the rest in their honest, plane written style. He adds no frills or plastic prose, he just describes as best he can what went on in his corner of the war. I cannot recommend these books highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You feel as if you are there, 11 Aug 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
The third instalment in the series. It reads like a novel but is a true account of the author's experiences at Bastogne. His language is down to earth. His descriptions make you feel that you are there! You also feel a sense of pride and thanks for the soldiers who gave so much during the war. Don Burgett is a truly amazing man, as is anyone who has the guts to fight in a war. I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Seven Roads to Hell' by Donald R. Burgett, 26 Feb 2003
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book first and subsequently bought all of the others in the series - they are that good. I have read many books on WW2 but none of them come close to describing the horror of war as 'Seven Roads to Hell'.
Anyone who has found an interest in D-day, Bastogne, Carentan etc. through Band of Brothers or Private Ryan will love the books written by Donald R. Burgett. They read like a fast paced novel and it is almost difficult to believe that what is being described actually took place and all happened to one man. It makes you appreciate how ordinary men were asked to do extraordinary things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to put this one down!, 31 July 2003
By 
Chris Summers (Milton Keynes, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read many WWII memoirs I found this book to be excellent. Many books will describe & take you through the key events but this book is written in a way that makes you FEEL you are right there with the GIs. The pace & descriptive skills of the writer mean you can feel every step, every explosion. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing amount of detail about the battle for Bastogne, 23 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This is one of the BEST 1st person accounts of the European theater of WW2 i've ever read. Don provides such detail that the reader is easily drawn in and absorbed in the moment. (How did he remember it all?). Most interesting are his thoughts about personal encounters with the enemy after his various skirmishes. I can almost feel the cold as i read about the GIs' lack of warm clothing, sleep, and food. It's a wonder anyone came out of that alive. Can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book did an excellent job of telling an important story, 14 July 1999
By A Customer
Thirty years ago, when I was in junior high school, I read Mr. Burgett's first book on his actions as a paratrooper during the Normandy Invasion. Over the years, I must have re-read this book probably twenty times. It was that good. Most books tell us what this unit did and what the other unit did, but Mr. Burgett tells us what he and his fellow squad members did. I can't believe there is any better history than that to tell. In his latest book, Mr. Burgett tells us about the second most important battle that the United States Army fought in Europe in 1944. I have ready many books on the Battle of the Bulge and I feel that this was one of the more important ones that I could have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best microscopic detail of the battle for Bastogne!, 2 July 1999
By A Customer
The experiences recorded by the author in his book are gripping and seem almost beyond human understanding. I am priviledged to be an honorary member of a D-day club which includes several former paratroopers who were at Bastogne. Their accounts of the battle confirm the accuracy of the author's descriptions. Readers of this book will find it heartbreaking to read of the magnitude of this carnage. It should be read by all so that the horror and insanity of war is grasped and avoided at any cost in the future. Well done Trooper Burgett!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal as always - a Must read, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. D. Rudd "Ruddy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
You just have to read all 4 if you are interested in the subject. Brutal & honest, how he remained sane after the war I will never know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite spellbinding, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a tale of bravery, imbued with modesty. There was a constant expectation of being killed, yet, the bravery to fight shines through.His story was very eloquently told. This is an absolute read for anyone interested in WW2 or indedd the realities of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars seven roads to hell, 1 Oct 2010
By 
D. Morris "d morris" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Roads to Hell (Mass Market Paperback)
To be honest i haven't read much of this book yet, but i have read currahee and ,beyond the rhine by the same auther. The writting is so detailed in the first hand experience that you'll feel your there fighting along side these brave men. probably the best read since the stephan ambrose books. AND THEY ARE ONLY ABOUT 200 PAGES LONG. so they are great books to fit in your pocket if you travel a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Roads to Hell
Seven Roads to Hell by Donald R. Burgett (Mass Market Paperback - 1 July 2001)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews