Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fictional diary of a young girl on the Titanic.
This book was originally published as part of the Dear America series of historical diaries. This edition of the book has been published as a part of the My Story series, which also consists of fictional historical diaries.
Thirteen-year-old Margaret Ann Brady lives at an orphanage in London. Her parents have died, and she longs to join her older brother, who has...
Published on 31 July 2005 by Rebecca Herman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ehhh . . .
Not 5 star work by any scale (especially mine), but it's not like I couldn't stand it. #1, I had a really hard time getting into the book, and I really didn't feel that she was being descriptive about the things I would have liked to know more about. Like another person's review somewhere above, she talked to much about the food. This could be due to the fact that she...
Published on 9 Aug. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fictional diary of a young girl on the Titanic., 31 July 2005
By 
Rebecca Herman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Story: Voyage On The Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Anne Brady, 1912 (Paperback)
This book was originally published as part of the Dear America series of historical diaries. This edition of the book has been published as a part of the My Story series, which also consists of fictional historical diaries.
Thirteen-year-old Margaret Ann Brady lives at an orphanage in London. Her parents have died, and she longs to join her older brother, who has immigrated to Boston, in America. Margaret gets what she thinks is the opportunity of a lifetime: a job as the companion of Mrs. Carstairs, a wealthy American woman traveling home on the Titanic. All Margaret has to do is keep Mrs. Carstairs company on the voyage, and she will get free passage to America where she can join her brother. And she will get the chance to travel on the grandest ship ever built. Margaret describes in her diary the luxuries of first class through the eyes of a child who has lived her life in poverty, her adventures on the ship, and the tragedy that occurs when the Titanic hits an iceberg and sinks.
Young readers who enjoy diary historical fiction, or who are fascinated by the story of the Titanic, are sure to love Margaret's diary. I think it is one of the best novels for young readers about the disaster. I'd definitely recommend it to readers who have an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poignant account of a girl's experience aboard the Titanic, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: My Story: Voyage On The Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Anne Brady, 1912 (Paperback)
I thought the book was written in a way that made you feel as though you were there with Margaret. It not only tells the story of the tragic sinking of the Titanic, but also allows you to experience what life was like for a young underpriviledged girl almost 100 years ago. The diary format links the story together so that if flows well and is interesting to read. In addtion I especially liked the historical data that was added at the end of the book so that the events in the book can be related to the factual events that took place. I would thoroughly recommend this book to a confident reader in Year 4 or above, or to an adult that enjoys a book written about the Titanic that has a different approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
L. Bradley "bookmad" (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book to my seven year old daughter (nearly eight!) who is absolutely fascinated by the Titanic. The book although a fictional account is very accurate and written in a very exciting and descritive way. You really get to identify with Margaret Brady and get involved in her own personal experience. This book is a must as it brings this tragic story alive in a fascinating way for young readers and budding historians ! In a nutshell - we loved it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 5 Aug. 2011
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
No surprises as far as the ending of this book. Yes, the Titanic still sinks. However, the voice of Margaret Ann Brady brings several weeks in April of 1912 to life in a way that grabbed my attention, and I'll admit, even brought a few tears to my eyes at the end.

A twist of fate caused Margaret to be aboard the Titanic for its fateful voyage. After her parents died, her brother left her to be raised by the nuns at an orphanage while he headed to America to find work and a future for the two of them. Margaret always knew that she would someday find a way to leave England to join her brother, but she didn't realize her chance would involve a famous ocean liner.

Margaret is introduced to Mrs. Carstairs, a rich woman from the United States. She is leaving England to return home and is looking for a travel companion. Margaret is perfect for the job, and the job is perfect for her plan to reunite with her brother. Plans are made, and she soon finds herself in the first class quarters aboard the Titanic.

The job is easy. Margaret must be ready to help Mrs. Carstairs dress, dine with her, and walk her tiny dog. The rest of her time is spent exploring and enjoying the fabulous ship. Margaret is fascinated with the elegant dining rooms, the library and writing lounge, and just watching the goings-on around her. An added benefit is a blossoming friendship with Robert, a cabin steward assigned to first class. It's all like a dream come true.

The dream turns into a nightmare when Robert wakes Margaret in the early hours of April 15. He urges her to put on her lifebelt and head to the lifeboats. He emphasizes that it is not a drill but rather a serious situation.

The events that follow have been recounted in books and movies, but Margaret's story will capture the hearts of young readers. Torn between her duty to Mrs. Carstairs, orders from the men to load up the lifeboats, and her fondness for Robert, she nearly becomes one of those lost in the tragic accident.

Author Ellen Emerson White makes her contribution to the DEAR AMERICA series in this riveting account of one of the greatest tragedies of the twentieth century. She makes history come alive, even for those who are less than fond of historical fiction.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret Ann Brady writes in her diary about the Titanic., 22 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
Margaret Ann Brady is a thirteen year old orphan from London. Her father died when she was seven; her mother, when she was eight. Margaret was seriously ill, so her older brother, William, left her in an orphanage. Soon after, William left for America, and started saving up to send for Margaret. But then Margaret was able to get a job as a companion to a wealthy American woman. She would get to sail to the United States in first class on the Titanic. On the ship, Margaret falls in love with a young steward, Robert. She writes in her diary about the luxeries of travelling on the ship. And then, when the Titanic hits an iceberg and sinks, Margaret writes about witnessing the tragedy. Margaret's diary was my favorite book in the Dear America series. It was very well written and I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exellent book that makes you feel in the book with her!, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: My Story: Voyage On The Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Anne Brady, 1912 (Paperback)
The first time I read this book, I knew I wanted to buy it. It made you feel as if you were there, with Magaret, all the way through. Ellen Emerson White is a fantastic author and I will certainly consider purchasing another book of hers. This book is definatly worth five stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Captures The Feeling Of the Edwardian Period Perfectly, 18 April 2012
Personally, I highly enjoyed this book. It is a fictionalised account within a first person view of the disaster, so to speak. In other words, Margaret Anne's character is fictionalised. Her diary, moreover, is also a work of fiction, but both the character and the book are portrayed as first-hand accounts of the sinking of the Titanic.

Margaret Anne's story is very simple: she is a thirteen year old Edwardian London girl who has spent much of her life in an Orphanage in Whitechapel, London. Her brother, William, left her there when she was a girl and he, in turn, emigrated to the United States, where he still lives and works, come 1912. It is not long before the head Sister, Sister Catherine, introduces Margaret Anne to the American, Mrs. Carsstairs, who offers Margaret to be a companion on the maiden voyage of Titanic to New York. Seeing this as possibly her only chance to ever be reunited with William, Margaret jumps at the opportunity and ultimately finds herself on the doomed ship's maiden crossing.

Now, what I really admire about the story is the fact that the author conveys Edwardian society very well here, both on and off the ship's setting. Margaret's feelings, dictated in her diary, express to us as readers how Edwardian people felt towards others at the time, how they dressed and how society as a whole operated. I feel that this is very important because, no doubt, this is a book designated for younger readers and it is, I feel, a perfect way to educate them on the topic of Edwardian England and Titanic in general.

One small let down regarding the book is that the narrative, in spots, seems to seek inspiration from James Cameron's 1997 film, Titanic. This, however, is only a small problem and doesn't affect the book's enjoyment in the very least.

Have a read of the book and enjoy it. Thanks for reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Dear America Book, 22 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
Due to the extra popularity the Titanic recieved after the movie, this book was written, and it is very good. It's about a thirteen year old orphan named Margaret Ann Brady who is living in an orphanage run by nuns in Whitechapel, London. Sister Catherine, her favorite teacher, gives her a diary to keep track of everything. Wealthy old Mrs. Carstairs is going to America, where she is originally from, but her husband will have to stay in London for some business. He urges her to get a companion, and they end up getting Margaret. Once in America Margaret will live with her older brother William in Boston. Once on the ship she records everything she sees, and the famous people she meets like Colonel Astor and his dog Kitty, and Mrs. Molly Brown. She records first class from the view of someone who has always lived in lower class, so it is extra interesting to her. She writes very long entries, because the diary has the least amount of days than any of the others. But they go by quickly, and are very intriguing. Then of course, as we all know, the ship starts to sink, and Margaret writes it down with a way that really makes you hold your breath and feel for the people. I still think they should of paid more attention to the steerage people in some of the entries, but oh well. There were some things I didn't like in here, but mostly it was pretty good. She also falls in love with the young steward Robert, and she doesn't want to leave the ship until she finds him. Titanic fans will like this, but it's a book for anyone really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-rending!, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
I picked this book up at the library, and since I had forgotten my library card, I hid it very carefully, and got it back later with my mom's card. I'm still not sure if that was such a good idea. I can't get over the book. It was so expertly written and so engrossing, I really couldn't 'put the book down'. I finished it in one day, but the story didn't stop going through and through in my mind.It was the first book I read where I actually cried (when she has to leave Robert, and he kisses her) . I know I sound like an embecile, going on and on. But..............Robert Died! And what makes it so hard to register is that this is a true story. Maybe not the actual person, but the main jist. Titanic was real! In the movie, it was only sad because Leonardo DiCaprio died, but in this book, you actually realize it's not just people falling off the Titanic's rear, when it's bobbing up and down- it's actually souls, people with humor , people with courage, people with feelings, people with love's , with family, people whose whole lives, histories, identities died just as they hit the water. The end. Their dead. Like they were never there before. I advise anyone and everyone to read this book. Everyone. Special comment on the author. She picked her profession when she picked up her pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic (My Story) An Edwardian Girl's Diary, 1912, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Kazzabian (Liverpool Uk) - See all my reviews
I bought this for my 10 year old daughter, she has read and enjoyed many of the other My Story books. Again, this one did not disappoint, she found it very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Story: Voyage On The Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Anne Brady, 1912
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews