Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of feeling and truth
I thought this was an extremely good book. If Alice was a real person it must have been traumatizing and scary as she was only 13? London was very unlucky in 1665! I found that I couldn't get into it at first but as the pages went on it got alot better. This book is good for 9-14 year olds. I'm only 11 and I loved it.
Published on 7 April 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I chose three star because this is a great book, but not what I had hoped for. I brought this book because I am studying the plague at the moment and thought that this would be really interesting. However it didn't have nearly as much detail on the plague as I would have liked and was a tiny bit boring. Also, it rarely had anything interesting, and it was a bit annoying...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. S. E. Brenton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!!!!!, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really brought me in from the beginning. My favourite part of history is plague and this is my favourite author. This is a really good book so buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The great plague-a london girls diary 1665-1666, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a Easter present and has been read by the receiver more than once already. The book gives a good insight into the world at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise that this was a children's book when I ..., 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't realise that this was a children's book when I bought it, the description of book on site could do with some clarification in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the great plague, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was intresting & imformative i read mostly historical writings...of all era"s ....if you like history you will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The great plague, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because it was interesting realistic and I put 5 stars because it was sad but in the end it turned out fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good insight for younger readers, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Kirsty at the Overflowing Library (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'm going to be honest - this isn't a book I would have gone out and bought as it isn't Young Adult but I am really glad I received it.

I teach high school history and find it hard at times to find good, accurate historical novels for a younger audience and I am now pleased to say I have found a whole series of them.

What I liked about this book is that it was very accessible for younger readers and I liked the diary style of it. I liked that it was written by a person of a sim...moreI'm going to be honest - this isn't a book I would have gone out and bought as it isn't Young Adult but I am really glad I received it.

I teach high school history and find it hard at times to find good, accurate historical novels for a younger audience and I am now pleased to say I have found a whole series of them.

What I liked about this book is that it was very accessible for younger readers and I liked the diary style of it. I liked that it was written by a person of a similiar age of the intended audience. I liked that it really gave a feel of the time period and looked in depth at the social impact of the plague and great fire of london on Britain. Definately a series I will be looking to get more of for school and recommending my students read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR AGES 9-15 IT WAS A AMAZING BOOK YOU REALLY CONNECT WITH The
Characters amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plague, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book though sad I liked it but some bits I did not get still a cracking read recommended to a history fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely interesting book, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i purchased for my son to read more. he finds history really interesting so he has read a lot of these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars seems ok, 6 May 2015
By 
S. Taylorson "stoobydoo294" (Trimdon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good historical narrative not sure whether its fictional or fantasy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Plague: The Diary of Alice Paynton, London 1665 - 1666 (My Story)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews