Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down in the sewer something stirs
There seems to be a penchant for sewer-as-highway fiction at the moment, but no matter, this is absolutely one to read. I bought it for my eight year old as part of her read-a-million words project because I had seen it reviewed on the first edition of Blue Peter I had seen in years. It was roundly recommended by the jury of children, though I thought it might be a little...
Published on 13 Feb 2005 by I. P. Gearing

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Realistic and researched Victorian story of mystery and a little adventure
: Montmorency begins a thief. He's in prison after a long run of not being caught, and then only got caught because he fell off a roof, or something like that. And then it's time for his release. Determined he wants a better life, he decides he's going to be a proper gentleman. But he can't do that without money. To get around this, he creates two personalities: the...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by Nina (Death Books and Tea)


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down in the sewer something stirs, 13 Feb 2005
By 
I. P. Gearing (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
There seems to be a penchant for sewer-as-highway fiction at the moment, but no matter, this is absolutely one to read. I bought it for my eight year old as part of her read-a-million words project because I had seen it reviewed on the first edition of Blue Peter I had seen in years. It was roundly recommended by the jury of children, though I thought it might be a little old for someone of eight. So I thought I would read the first chapter, just to get a feel of it, and see if it would be within her capabilities. I read the whole book in one sitting, which I think qualifies it as a "Page Turner", and yes I think she could cope with it, though it would stretch her - no bad thing. Actually, I think I might just have to read it with her just to make sure she doesn't get stuck, but as she is about to undergo an operation I think I might leave it a while as I don't think she will take kindly to the doctor character!
Fast paced without too much detail, this is unusal enough to engage the imagination of a wide range of readers. I really must check out the sequel......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome read, 17 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
This is a page turner, both exciting and humourous the central character being more complex and interesting than would be expected of a children's book due to his two personalities. Although classed as a childrens book this book is definately as enjoyable at 17 as it was when i first read it at about 14. Despite his beginnings as a criminal you can't help but root for Montmorency and the vivid images of victorian life the book creates are facinating. The short chapters and pacy style make it a book that is hard to put down as you just "read the next chapter - oh and the next!!" I for one was delighted when i found there was another book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual, superb book, 30 Jun 2004
By 
John L (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
After I had read a chapter or two to my 9-year old, he asked whether the eponymous central character (certainly nothing like the stereotypical hero) was a child. We realised that unlike virtually all modern writing for children there is not a single child/teenager character in this book. And it doesn't matter at all. The snobbery, brutal inequality, filth and chaos of Victorian London is depicted in a way that remains fresh, yet the pace of the plot is never lost.
It's a perfect book to read to a child. Lots to talk about (the brutality of life in Wandsworth prison), not patronising (visits to La Traviata at the Opera House with the landlady and her daughter turning tricks outside or a foray into Balkan intrigue) - we were both sorry when we turned the final page.
Far more than a reworking of Jekyll and Hide, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Montmorency Review, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
Montmorency (by Eleanor Updale) is a tale of a man brought back from the brink of death, who went out to do worse than the crime that landed him in prison. A story of a man who left jail with nothing and five years later has riches beyond his wildest dreams, while his motives are questionable his hart is in the right place (well most of the time anyway). Filled with intrigue, crime riches, scientific enquiry and noble friendship all set in the city of London. From back sewers to embassy’s from crime to national intrigue you just don’t know what’s going to happen next. With Montmorency all the way you won’t want to put it down till the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Montmorency, 20 May 2010
By 
Barbara Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
MontmorencyI bought this for my daughter, howver when I picked it up I could not put it down. Well written, just a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Involving, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Migratory (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Montmorency (Hardcover)
This book is set in the Victorian times, and features an anonymous character who adopts the name of Montmorency.
The story starts with Montmorency in a very bad state, having fallen through some glass while committing a burglary and almost bleeding to death. Fortunately his life was saved by a surgeon with an interest in new procedures, and at the start of the story he is in prison, recovering but still at the mercy of the doctor, who is experimenting surgical techniques on him and then exhibiting him to fellow scientists.
At one of these conferences Montmorency is witness to a presentation on London's new sewer system, and the idea occurs to him that he could use the sewer system to escape to after burling posh houses and to travel about in under London. He spends the rest of his sentence planning how to do this, and upon his release he starts exploring the sewers.
Montmorency realises that two people will be needed for the plan to work - a peasant with the criminal connections able to blend in a commit the crimes, and an aristocrat with the posh connections to dispose of the goods and live the life of luxury he's been longing for. He decides to be both men - Skinner the thief, and Montmorency the gentleman.
This is a marvellous book. It takes a little while to hook the reader, but once it does the story rattles along at a fast pace. There are plenty of funny moments - particularly those involving Montmorency adjusting to life as a gentleman, but there's a good plot, and nearly all the characters are interesting. Montmorency is a brilliant central character, he's well-rounded and although he's a criminal it becomes apparent that he's no stereotype, but a good person. It's difficult to predict the ending, but by the end you'll be rooting for him to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Kindle Edition)
Quirky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Kindle Edition)
Best book I have read in Avery long time. Would recommend to anybody. Loved a moment of this book and I am now looking to reading the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
perfect book to help yours child to do best in literacy. awesome book very very helpful and well explained and illustrate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Montmorency (Paperback)
nice easy read with short chapters. perfect for parents who are regularly disturbed or some one needing an easy bedtime book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Montmorency
Montmorency by Eleanor Updale (Paperback - 16 April 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews