Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 26 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2) (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Ravenscliffe series and continues the story commenced in Book 1 "Hellhole" of Devon March, 14 year-old novice sorcerer, following his adventures with monsters, demons and time travel. Both books are highly compulsive and very easy reading, leaving the reader with certain mysteries solved and others 'to be continued'. This is frustrating since the third book 'Blood Moon' isn't out yet with no clue as to when it can be expected. A highly recommended book (provided you don't mind not knowing all the answers at the end).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2nd book finished, enjoyed as much as the first! Nice story & plot build, follows on directly from the first book & carries the story on well. Have also read the 3rd in the series, am now waiting for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the first book i read this when it first came out, I've since then re-read it on kindle as the author re-released it with a little modernisation (adding social networking references and 'pop culture' references.) The story itself is really good, and keeps you guessing at every turn.

Some of the questions you would have had come to light in this book, but not all, and many more questions remain unanswered, no fun to give all the secrets of Ravenscliff away too early.

The book is well written, and the story is excellent (in my opinion). I read this book in about a day, I just couldn't put it down, I was constantly wanting to know what happened next. Only downside, it wasn't long enough, I wanted more :)

If you are into fantasy then this won't let you down and is definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 26 Nov 2013
I'm a big YA fan so I really enjoyed this story and couldn't put it down.
I do have a couple of complaints though - there are a lot of typos, and in particular issues with tenses. This did slightly marr my reading of it but not enough to prevent me from reading on to the third book.
If you simply want a spooky ghost story then you should give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 6 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book and the one before it are among the most nerve rattling i've ever read, (the first one especially) and this second book is no disappointment either. The story moves along quickly and eerily. It has you on edge throughout.

What is disappointing and extremely frustrating is that no-one seems to know when book three (Blood Moon) is going to be released, not even the author. It has now been 4 years since this book was written with no sign of book 3. Very annoying considering the unanswered questions from the previous two books.

I'd give the books 5 stars if there was any sign of book 3 but as it is the story is hanging in the air...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demon sorcerers of the nightwing, 12 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2) (Paperback)
I find this book hard to put down and very in joyable. I would recomend this book to ghost stories,demons,witches,vampires lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb book in the series!, 6 July 2006
By 
Thomas Black (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2) (Paperback)
After reading 'Hellhole' I immediately bought the sequel. I was not disappointed!

As you would expect with books of this callibre, some questions asked in the first book are answered, others aren't, and new ones are added. Huntington's style of writing makes it exciting, keeping you guessing about what is going to happen next, and yet easy enough to read in a day.

As with the first, you will not want to put this down until you've finished reading this latest adventure for Devon and his friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Feb 2006
By 
M. Dogan "Ms.Random" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2) (Paperback)
I just soo loved this book - total mystery inside it,perfect for peeps you like witchy,time travel,wizards,unsolved mysteries,demons...
I'm not into that sort of thing but I just loved this an read it in a day.
A must buy/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remembered!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Minor criticisms first - this book could do with a good read-through by an editor. Speech is sometimes stilted, missing contractions and eye-rollingly over-dramatic (Devon's vision meeting with his adopted father, anyone?), enough to be irritating but not to ruin enjoyment, there are a couple of typos, and - amusingly, for a book that's been 'updated' to be set in 2013 or so - the prologue is set in 1490, and then skips to 'NEARLY Five Hundred Years Later' (emphasis mine). So we're in the eighties? Oops... As for Devon's jaunt to the past, hopefully past characters were identical to future characters only in Devon's sight as a helpful extension of his powers, and not due to 'coincidentally' looking exactly the same... which would be patently ridiculous and cringe-worthy. Some more clarity on this issue would be better.

Aside from these, the book seems just as entertaining as when it first came out (which makes me feel hideously old). Characters are generally well-rounded (although Devon's schoolfriends could stand to be fleshed-out a little), the romance sub-plot with Cecily is thankfully kept low-key, and the various mysteries are deftly handled. Ravenscliff remains just as creepy and unnerving as ever, and a few mentions of such things as the Devon gravestone are reassuring reminders that the author hasn't forgotten or retconned plot-hooks out of existence, as some books might. The pacing remains excellent, and Alexander continues to be sympathetic rather than bratty.

Overall, a solid four stars, although a few quick corrections would improve it. Now off to buy the third, and hope the fourth one comes out faster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2)
Demon Witch (Sorcerers of the Nightwing # 2) by Geoffrey Huntington (Paperback - 17 Oct 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews