Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fun read from Tamora Pierce
I'm enjoying this series of Pierce's books, but I do have a reservation: either her target audience is younger than it used to be, or somewhere along the line someone's decided her books were too "adult" in some way. Whereas her "Alanna" books were written for children/young adults but were still mature and featured realistically developed characters,...
Published on 20 May 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the Kel books
After having read the Alanna books and then the Daine books I was really excited about the Kel books. But despite being a good read it still had a few features lacking in it. The entire Kel series seems to be not that realistic. Alanna made mistakes and learnt from them, she was much more passionate about everything and she worked for what she got. For Kel, everything...
Published on 1 Jan. 2005 by Susie Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fun read from Tamora Pierce, 20 May 2002
By A Customer
I'm enjoying this series of Pierce's books, but I do have a reservation: either her target audience is younger than it used to be, or somewhere along the line someone's decided her books were too "adult" in some way. Whereas her "Alanna" books were written for children/young adults but were still mature and featured realistically developed characters, the characters in this series (and in the "Daine" series) seem to be more childish - at 18, Kel seems younger than Alanna did at 15, and the writing style seems somewhat "dumbed down" too. In addition to this, I could do without the 'talking' animals that have popped up in this world since the Daine books.
However, the pace seems to be promising to pick up in the next book, and I hope that Kel will finally be allowed to grow up. These are still excellent books, especially for girls - considering that the fantasy field seems to be dominated by male characters, it's nice to see YA fantasy fiction featuring strong, independent young women, rather than just soppy love-interests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely continuation, 16 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book picks up nicely where 'First Test' and 'Page' left off. I loved the details, the plot developments, and I loved seeing Kel growing up - our heroine is not infallible, but she does her best and is loveable because of it. The secondary characters, both those we've met before and some new ones, are also wonderfully real, tangible. Although it's a larger book than the two which preceed it, there is a sense of... hurrying. through it. I suppose this is inevitable when four years must be covered in the book, but I felt that most scenes in the book were largely narrated, without some of the depth that we've seen in other books by Ms. Pierce. Despite this, I found it very difficult to put the book down. The characters are endearing and some of the scrape they get into are brilliant - the author has a wonderful imagination! If you've read 'First Test' and 'Page' and liked them, chances are you'll love this book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great book, one that i'll read again and again, 13 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
I really liked this book, but then I've really liked all Tamora's books. Thankfully the publishers have given her more pages to work with (quashing the ridiculous idea that american children won't read books over 200 pages..) and that helps the character development. I found though that it still wasn't enough, everything happened too fast and I wanted to know more about each of Kel's years as a squire!
Kel ages as a character and becomes involved in more adult themes and problems, but all done in a good way.
The book sets up Lady Knight and what I assume will be Kel's 'coming of age' task, and I can't wait for that to be published!
My only complaint is that I wish these books were available when I was 13-14, reading then at 25 is still great, but when I was younger the magic and wonder of this creation would have been better still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the Kel books, 1 Jan. 2005
After having read the Alanna books and then the Daine books I was really excited about the Kel books. But despite being a good read it still had a few features lacking in it. The entire Kel series seems to be not that realistic. Alanna made mistakes and learnt from them, she was much more passionate about everything and she worked for what she got. For Kel, everything seems to fall perfectly for her and there is repetition in almost everything she does! She wakes up before dawn, does her morning training, goes to lessons, beats someone at tilting, has dinner and goes to bed. Her love interest with Cleon is almost a fleeting hint at a different side of Kel, but even then it ends and doesnt show any real side to her. I actually feel sorry for the girl, her Yamini training seems to have made her into a girl who can do nothing but pull unreadable faces. Don't get me wrong. I did enjoy the first 3 books, but by lady knight it just didn't seem to be going anywhere. I think I will have to stick to re-reading the Alanna books over and over. There is something fiery about Alanna which is lost a little in the Daine books and nearly completely lost in the Kel books. It's nice to hear about the old characters of the other books and how well they are doing. Raoul especially.
So over all, I would say, its definately worth the read if you are a tamora pierce fan but its not her best work and there is something missing from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will TP's flood of great books never end?, 5 Jan. 2004
Keladry of Mindelan has completed her page training, what will become of her as a squire?
Well, you won't find out unless you buy this book!
Kel is getting quite anxious by now, all these knights at the royal palace, but none seem to be choosing squires. Will she be a deskknight's squire and her battles be with paperwork?
Well, I guess not (that would make a boring story now wouldn't it?), Raoul of Goldenlake leader of the king's own picks Kel to be his squire. Was a kinder man ever born? Kel goes with him to many places and has some... interesting adventures.
She is courted by someone, takes care of an interesting creature and fights off terrible creatures. Meanwhile, the ordeal of knighthood is coming ever closer. Will she prove some girls can be knights? (The title of the next book kinda gives it away.)
Fast-paced and fantastic all the way through, though not ideal if you need to go to school or study. Is worth more than it costs and will not bore off after a few reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squire, 18 Nov. 2012
Kelladry has passed all four years of being a page, and is now a squire. The only problem is that no knight has picked her for their squire. She is finally picked by Raoul Goldenlake, Commander of the Kings Own. As she accompanies Raoul on his adventures, she is accompanied by her old friends Jump, the dog, and Crown and her flock of sparrows. She also gains a Griffin rescued from a centaur raid.

Kelladry has matured even more in this book, and has even begun a romantic relationship, with Cleon. You also get to see Neal and Owen develop, and get to see how Raoul has matured since the events of Alana's books. You also get to see in more detail the culture of the Yamani Islands, as Roald's future bride comes from there.

I liked this novel because, I am not sure why, but I really connected with Kel, and her friends. I would recommend Squire to anyone who enjoyed Artemis Fowl, or any of Julia Golding's books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT!!, 25 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This book is every bit as good as all the other books Tamora has writen.Kel becomes more grown up and falls in love in the process.She learns more skills as a squire.Her life is still as intresting. Tamora has once again made it impossible for me to put the book down(ive read it 3 times!).I don't feel this book is rushed at all.I CAN'T WAIT FOR LADY KNIGHT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another success from Tamora Pierce, 4 July 2002
If you are a fan of Tamora Pierce then you will not need to read a review to coerce you into buying/ reading this book as you are already hooked. If you are not then you should be, the third in an enthralling quartet which should be read from the beginning of at least this series if not from the start of the Alanna series to appreciate some of the links and updates on previous characters. The story revolves around Kel's squiredom with the unflappable Sir Raoul!! Kel finds love, enjoys jousting, meets her hero, proves herself a warrior, takes care of a wild animal, makes friends and continues on her path to knighthood. A fabulous book of good length a must-have/read for any fantasy reader or those who like to see girl power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kel as a squire, 10 April 2007
This review is from: Squire (Protector of the Small) (Paperback)
So Keladry of Mindelan, the first girl to train to be a knight despite the law that that was passed that decreed that girls could do so, has passed her probationary year and her page years. Now, without Joren to bully her, she turns her mind to other fears. She worries about if someone would want a girl for a squire and, 4 years in the future, the terrible Chamber of Ordeal....

This is a brilliant book, but then I love all of Tamora Pierce's books. To get the best out of this you have to read 'First Test' and 'Page'. Although some people think that you have to read the 'Lioness' quartet and the 'Immortals' quartet first, I went straight into reading this quartet and I enjoyed it just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book because it was fast-paced and intriguing., 14 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
I loved Squire just as much as I loved Page and First Test. Tamora Pierce is still in top form, and Kel is a great heroine. She is spunky, courageous and not afraid to say what she thinks. She is a great role model for girls who think they don't really fit in because she shows that even among all the boys at the palace, she has made a place for herself and shown the world that girls can do the same things that boys can, and more. In Squire, Kel gets chosen as a squire by a very important knight after she thought that she would never be chosen, and she has to travel with him and fight off immortals. She also falls in love for the first time with one of her old friends from the palace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Squire (Protector of the Small)
Squire (Protector of the Small) by Tamora Pierce (Paperback - 10 Dec. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews