Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comments from an (objective) fan
Tamora Pierce's "Wolf Speaker" is the second in a series of four books set in the imaginary world of Tortall, (first visited in her "Song of the Lioness" quartet,) focussing on the adventures and growing pains of a young woman named Daine. Called "Magelet" by Numair, her teacher and friend, the book follows Daines attempt at learning and controlling...
Published on 15 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Alanna series is good, but Immortals is disappointing.
I'm getting a bit tired of the animal communication already, and this is only the second book. Don't get me wrong, I like animals, but I don't think they would act this way. They're much too human-like. And the environmental themes seem a little too contemporary. Also I find it hard to believe that Daine likes domestic animals such as pigs-- how can a human face...
Published on 1 May 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comments from an (objective) fan, 15 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Tamora Pierce's "Wolf Speaker" is the second in a series of four books set in the imaginary world of Tortall, (first visited in her "Song of the Lioness" quartet,) focussing on the adventures and growing pains of a young woman named Daine. Called "Magelet" by Numair, her teacher and friend, the book follows Daines attempt at learning and controlling her "Wild Magic," a bond with animals which allows her to speak to, and heal, the creatures she meats. Wild Magic, while not the most powerful in the quartet, stands in its own right as an excellent and gripping book, for both "historical" and "fantasy" young adult readers alike. It contains a gripping mix of fantasy and reality-inspired writing, as Daine comes across new "two-leggers", animals, and immortals, at the same time coming to terms with her own past. Tamora Pierce's writing is simple but witty, her characters interesting and wonderfully portrayed with an inherent consistency throughout the novel. The character of Daine is a wonderful heroine, stubborn and feisty, and delightful because of, not just despite, her imperfections, and just as suitable and important today as within her own time. The sub-textual messages regarding the "Immortals" and the complexity of these unknown characters adds interest for the older reader, while the fantasy, developing love story, and adventure make it suitable also for the younger fans of Ms Pierce's work. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turning into a wolf or a bat can be difficult :), 25 Sep 2005
"Wolf-speaker" is the 2nd book in Tamora Pierce's "The Immortals" quartet, set in the kingdom of Tortall. If you haven't read the previous book in the series, "Wild Magic", please do so because it provides you with background information regarding the characters that will be useful when you read "Wolf-speaker".
As you already know if you are still reading this review, Daine is a 14-year-old girl with wild magic that is training to be a mage. Wild magic allows Daine to communicate with animals, and in some cases even heal them. However, and as Daine will learn in this book, she still has to discover the extent of her powers. Most readers will delight in reading the conversations between Daine and her animal friends, and laugh at her clumsiness when trying to turn into a wolf, or... a bat :)
The plot of "Wolf-speaker" revolves around the fact that some wolves ask Daine to help them find a solution to a dangerous trouble that is threatening the place they call home. Daine is compelled to help the wolves, as they are the very same pack that helped her to find revenge against those who killed her mother. But as Daine begins her new journey, along with her teacher Numair (a powerful mage), she will realize that not everything is going well in Tortall, and that there is a new threat that could mean not only the doom of the wolves, but also of the whole kingdom of Tortall. Only by joining her strength to that of Numair and her animal and immortal friends will Daine be able to prevent the disastrous consequences of treacherous acts.
All in all, I think that readers older than 9 will love "Wolf-speaker", and that even teens or adults that enjoy a good fantasy epic with lots of magic and adventure might appreciate it. If you like "Wolf-Speaker" check out its sequels, Emperor Mage" and "The Realms of the Gods".
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely great!, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is possibly the best book I have ever read, and that's saying something! It has just about everything anyone could want, and although its intended as a children's book, I think many adults would like it as well (I'm sixteen as I write this). As a fan of the fantasy and science fiction genres, I have to say this book was one of those which first got me hooked. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A all time favorite, 26 Jan 1999
By A Customer
Daine is back and in a most exciting adventure. this book is really good and is a sequl that lives up to the tamora pierce standard. I love how Daine learns how to shape shi, and learning more of her past from befor she meet Onua and came to Tortell. I love how they break the steryo type of the big bad wolf and save the city from destroying it's self, in much the way people are tring not to destroy the Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 24 Mar 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This second book in Tamora Pierce's THE IMMORTALS QUARTET centers around the further development of Daine's magical ability to communicate with animals.

The story begins when the wolf pack that lives near her former home village sends an envoy to ask for her assistance communicating with the humans who are ruining the lands where these wolves hunt. Daine, who owes a debt of gratitude to these wolves for having cared for her once she escaped her village, can't say no to their request, and along with her wizardly teacher, the powerful mage Numair Salmalín, she journeys to Fief Dunlath, the area known by the wolves as Long Lake.

There, things are much worse than they initially seemed. Not only are the rulers of Fief Dunlath completely disregarding the impact of their actions upon the local wildlife, but Numair recognizes one of their guests as a Combat Mage from the Carthaki Empire, a country currently engaged in small skirmishes with Tortall. It soon becomes apparent that the Lady of the fief is engaged in double dealings with the Carthakis.

While Numair speeds back to warn King Jonathan of what is happening, Daine stays behind with her wolf-friends, gathering information and making plans for putting an end to the mining and garrisoning of soldiers that are destroying the natural habitats of more animals than just the wolves.

In a continuation of her skills from the previous book, Daine learns how to share her mind with animals, seeing through their eyes and sensing with their senses. She also discovers, much to her surprise, that any lengthy mental cohabitation could give her unexpected animal characteristics, like the ears of a mouse or the eyes of a hawk, that fade away only after she has detached herself from the animal's consciousness. With the help of a whole network of animal friends, Daine sketches out a plan of attack that will show the nobles of Fief Dunlath what happens when you mess with the wildlife.

Overall, I found this book quite enjoyable; the continued development of Daine's character was accomplished smoothly, and the characters newly introduced in this volume were fleshed out in their own rights. Particularly notable characters included, not just Numair, but also the baby dragon Stormsong, known as Kitten, and all of the wolves of the Long Lake pack.

If you liked the first book, you'll love the next one!

Reviewed by: Candace Cunard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Immortals' series by Tamora Pierce, 2 Dec 2003
I am amazed it took me so long to discover these novels, as I am a complete bookworm. The plots are ast moving and adventurous, and the characters are made very imaginable! Once you've begun these books, you won't be able to put them down until you've read them again and again! Extremely recomendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolf-Speaker, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Wolf-speaker (Immortals) (Paperback)
When the Wolf pack, led by Brokefang, ask Daine, the only wild magician, to help them stop the humans from ruining their territory, she and Numair go to their aid. However, they find something sinister going on a Long Lake as they find that the nobles are trying to usurp the throne from King Jonathan and Queen Thayet. In Wolf-Speaker we are introduced to both new and existing characters but my favourite is defiantly Kitten as she has so much character and is really sweet. I would recommend Wolf-Speaker to anyone who likes any of Tamora Pierce's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book has it all, from magic to understanding., 28 Jun 1997
By A Customer
This book is one of Tamora Pierce's best!
Iin this book Daine comes to understand the stormwings and even comes to have a sort of friendship with one of their leaders Rikash.This book is about how Daine comes to see her wolf friends Brokefang, Battle and so on, because the people are piosoning the land and soon there won't be room either 'two-leggers' or wolves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Adventures, 22 Jan 1997
By A Customer
All Of Tamora Pierce's books are the greatest I've ever read but Wolf-Speaker is probably my favorite. It's one of the few fantasy/adventure series out there for teenage girls. You don't have to be a total swords and wizards nut to absolutely love this book. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a great read that has a little of everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 29 Jan 2004
The second book in the immortal series. in this one Daine gets trapped in a valley by a spell and realises that something bad is going on. with the help of her wolf friend, her baby dragon and a basalisk, they overcome the perpetrators and daine is reunited with Numair. great book and will be loved by fans of Tamora Pierce all over the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf-speaker (Immortals)
Wolf-speaker (Immortals) by Tamora Pierce (Paperback - 20 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews