Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants and the Plight of the Purple Potty People the best in the world
An excellent book full of hilariously good flip o rama,comics and the same line at the end it says in the book "you'll get nowhere in life if you keep on writing silly books like that"said his teacher.And he ended up writing one of the best books I ever read. My favourite bit was when the granny and grandpa turned into superheros. Every line I read was good -brilliant...
Published on 21 Mar. 2007 by R. Middleton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boy's read
As a parent, you might be put off by the "non-appropriate" language, the primitive illustrations and the absurd plot of the stories. But it seems to be just this absurdity which makes my son understand the dividing line between CU (live out your schoolboy fantasies) and real life (show your appropriate language and behaviour).
Since I am kindly refusing to read these...
Published on 12 Sept. 2012 by S. Drude-Koeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Underpants and the Plight of the Purple Potty People the best in the world, 21 Mar. 2007
By 
R. Middleton "Mackenzie, Aged 9." (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People (Hardcover)
An excellent book full of hilariously good flip o rama,comics and the same line at the end it says in the book "you'll get nowhere in life if you keep on writing silly books like that"said his teacher.And he ended up writing one of the best books I ever read. My favourite bit was when the granny and grandpa turned into superheros. Every line I read was good -brilliant even. You might need to read Captain Underpants and the Bionic Booger Boy Part 1 and then read Captain Underpants and the Bionic Booger Boy Part 2 and then read this book. I didnt read them in the right order so I didn't really understand what was happening at all but any one else who reads this book might prefer to read them in order. I recommend this for 5 and over easy to read. I read it in one day - couldn't put it down. I wanted to read while i was having my lunch! Happy reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books, 11 April 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Ferguson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent books for children who have just learn't to read. Age 6 upwards, a laugh on every page that makes light of every day living habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CHILDREN'S DELIGHT, 3 Jan. 2014
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another in the children's (and many adults) favourite series of Captain Underpants highly amusing adventures in which `wedgie power' is used to overcome a veritable phalanx of comical super villains with the help of a motley and constantly changing cast of unlikely super heroes.

And why do kids absolutely love these books beyond most others? `Simple' as that annoying tv advert meerkat says repeatedly to the enrichment of the owners of an internet comparison site, because the jocularity is very basic majoring on `fart' humour, irreverent, fast moving, and one whole lot of fun.....just about everything that most kids lap up. Little wonder that killjoy groups such as The American Library Association features The Captain Underpants books very high up in their lists of books needed to be banned......goodness me we can't be having children actually reading books, and enjoying the experience - its better for them to continue watching television and computer screens and not read at all! Instead of castigating and poo-pooing (if you excuse the expression) the Captain and his knockabout friends and foes, plaudits by the bucket full should be showered over this series of books.

In this episode our valiant verging on flatulent hero, Captain Underpants returns to battle the evil Captain Blunderpants, with the help of two new superheroes, Great Granny Girdle and Boxer Boy resulting in yet another hilarious romp.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolute genius, brilliant fun for the adults reading it and for the kids listening to it, we have read all the Captain Underpants books to our children and are eagerly awaiting the publication of the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boy's read, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
S. Drude-Koeth "the German" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a parent, you might be put off by the "non-appropriate" language, the primitive illustrations and the absurd plot of the stories. But it seems to be just this absurdity which makes my son understand the dividing line between CU (live out your schoolboy fantasies) and real life (show your appropriate language and behaviour).
Since I am kindly refusing to read these half-comics to him, Captain Underpants have marked my son's entry point into truly independent reading.
Three stars in spite of everything. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be happier!, 1 May 2012
My son loves the captain underpants stories and he's glad to add this to his collection. Brilliant book and brilliant price! Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite in the Series, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Dav Pilkey does it again! He continues with his usual tropes as expected but like last book manages to keep them fresh; for instance the switching of letters on the sign doesn't happen until after the "before I tell that story I must tell this story" bit. I love this book. Pilkey is back in perfect form! The kids go to an alternate world where everything in their lives is backwards. Added to the story is their grandparents who accidentally drink the last of the super juice creating Boxer Boy and Great-Granny Girdle. The whole book was laugh-out funny. One of my favourites in the series. Once again as has been happening in the last few books, the set up is made for the next book with the introduction of the arrival of the next villain who is the return of an old favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves these books, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 8 year old son loves these books. Would highly recommend them. Perfect for young boys who like to read on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the age group, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended by a primary school teacher and it proved to be an excellent choice. Good illustrations and a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Book, I enjoyed Reading It. Going To Read It Again.
Very funny.
Great Book For Teens. I Recommend This Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews