Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is without parallelaphant.
Elephant Wellyphant is not my usual literary fare. I don't make a habit of hanging around in the children's section, but as a librarian, wandering in occasionally is an occupational hazard. I was shown a copy of Elephant Wellyphant by a colleague a few days ago and it blew my mind. This book takes one joke and mercilessly beats you around the head with it. There is no...
Published on 8 July 2008 by A Concerned Citizen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Elephant Wellephant
Simple fun. Bright fun lift the flap book. Get the feeling that the author ran out of ideas by the end of the book but kids too young to notice!
Published 15 months ago by Tracey Sinclair


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is without parallelaphant., 8 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Hardcover)
Elephant Wellyphant is not my usual literary fare. I don't make a habit of hanging around in the children's section, but as a librarian, wandering in occasionally is an occupational hazard. I was shown a copy of Elephant Wellyphant by a colleague a few days ago and it blew my mind. This book takes one joke and mercilessly beats you around the head with it. There is no escape.

The title explains the main premise. It introduces the notion of an elephant and then proceeds to impart variations upon this theme. Wellyphant for example is an elephant in wellies. The deviation from the original concept of elephant grows as the book progresses, slowly testing ones facility to trust in these improbable elephantile occupations. The ordering is magnificent, and the flow is unbroken. I'd love to splurge out more examples of the humour of this book, but it would be a crime to impart any more as every page and every word is dynamite.

The hard hitting, straight to the point text is complemented with the glaring, over the top illustrations. Every elephant is rendered in bold colours leaving no room for analysis or interpretation beyond the very obvious. The total effect is like staring at the sun for too long, the incandescent brightness is blinding as every joke strikes home.

The magical purity of Elephant Wellyphant is no doubt lost on children, but not on me Nick Sharratt, not on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book, with wonderful illustrations and a fantastic sense of humour at work. A very clever book, beautifully crafted and produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful fun with elephants for the 0-4s. A winner., 12 Oct 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Hardcover)
This is a lovely starter book for babies and toddlers with its tough, tear-resistant pages. There's no story as such, just a daft elephant on every page, and turning over the page gives a different bold bright look with eye catching colours and the simple strong drawings at which Nick Sharratt excels. I particularly like the Unwelliphant, who is green with red spots and looks very sorry for himself, and the hiding-in-the-cellarphant where you just see eyes on a black background. There are inventive flaps particularly for the chocolate caramel elephant which you unwrap like a sweet, for the story-tellerphant's bedtime book and for the transformation of a plain cinderellaphant into to a sparkly-princess. There's also a couple of pull the tab elephants and my older children (5&6) love the fortune-tellerphant's spinning arrow which gives future career direction. A simple idea, well-produced and perfectly pitched to appeal to the 1-4s. If you like this, you must also get Pants and More Pants which is same principle with more text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
Entertaining book, with colorful animation, flaps and pop ups. My 2year old loves it, as well as the other two in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Elephant wellyphant book, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Hardcover)
I had to return this book for a refund as it was very badly damaged, all the moveable tabs had been torn out, pieces of the pages where missing, it was in a very poor condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elephant wellyphant, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
Another great book by Nick Sharratt, bought as Christmas present for my 2yr old daughter she absolutely loves this book book arrived on time & in excellent condition very happy I recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
My children have treasured this book and still read it, years after i first bought it. Highly recommended for getting children interested in books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
It was a well thought out book with colourful drawings. Although the comic aspect is a bit too difficult to understand for young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love this book!, 6 Aug 2013
By 
B. Williams (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
This was introduced at school event and the children love it! They love the moving pieces, silly words etc and it is always requested at preschool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good, we bought it twice!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elephant Wellyphant (Paperback)
This book goes down a treat with our 2 & 4 year olds. The first one we bought got wrecked/torn with the amount of use it got, so we bought a 'fresh' copy. Same goes for the Octopus book, it's another favourite that's wrecked so we're buying another one! They're very enjoyable reads for adults and kids. The Cow book is good also but not as good as the Elephant & Octopus books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9c0ac8)

This product

Elephant Wellyphant
Elephant Wellyphant by Nick Sharratt (Paperback - 4 Aug 2008)
6.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews