Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars58
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2007
...from cruel kings and queens to poor peasants and common criminals.

Want to know:

* some terrible Tudor swear words?
* about terrible Tudor torture?
* why Henry VIII thought he'd married a horse?

Read on to find some foul facts, some horrendous beheadings, a mysterious murder, some curious quizzes and gruesome games.
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 135 pages, split over chapters:

1. The terrible Tudors
2. Terrible Tudor Times
3. Terrible Tudor life and death
4. Terrible Tudor schools
5. Tudor crime...and terrible punishments
6. Terrible Shakespeare
7. Terrible Tudor mystery
8. Terrible Tudor kings and queens
9. Terrible Tudor witches
10. Terrible Tudor food
11. Terrible Tudor fun and games
12. Terrible Tudor sailors
13. Terrible Tudor clothes
14. Terrible Tudor life for women

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, aided by Neil Tonge, ~ in a variety of type styles, with superb illustrations throughout, from Martin Brown.

Find out more in Even More Terrible Tudors!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Terry Deary is back again, giving you all of the grizzly, gruesome details that schoolteachers fail to mention. That said, you shouldn't be scared of giving this to a kid - it won't give them nightmares, but it will make them want to learn more, and that's all that really matters.

This time, Deary's work is illustrated by Neil Tonge rather than Martin Brown, but it still maintains the same feel and the same style that you'll be used to if you've read other books in the series. The Terrible Tudors might not be the best place to start, but you're still going to love it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
This is a great book that engages the reader in history. I disagree with people who say it's rubbish because it's aimed at CHILDREN and CHILDREN won't buy boring things. So stop saying that it's tedious and boring and incorrect because it's not. The book is hilarious with good facts and certainly got me into history. All they taught me about was Henry VII but this book taught me about the poorer Tudors. Great book. And for people who say the drawings are rubbish and cheap, look at Diary of Wimpy Kid.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
I think the author did a lot of research
I loved the whole book it was so much fun to read
I would recommend this book to people of all ages
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
This book is, contrary to some views, a very good read. It is designed to make learning about the "Terrible" Tudors fun, and it achieves this with flying colours.

The book not only introduces the monarchs of the time, such as the infamous Henry VIII and Queen Elizabeth I, but also what conditions were like to live and work, what food there was available, and some Terrible Tudor customs!

Overall, a perfect book to read for children and teenagers alike, combining Terry Deary's perfect humour with facts which will stick with the reader for the rest of their lives!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
bought this book for my 8 year old son as he loves the horrible histories series on tv great book lots of imformation he loves it shall be buying more
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
A most entertaining way to learn historical facts. My grandson loves it and I gave it to him in time for a homework project on Tudors. It has certainly made his homework more interesting to him and has encouraged him to write more detail in his work as previously, he has been reluctant to put pen to paper, finding it tedious. The facts are all there and the book makes you want to learn more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
I started reading this book to brush up my subject knowledge ahead of our school's Tudor topic. Terry Deary provides an enlightening glance at this gruesome period of British history. Comprising of freaky facts and tortuous tales any avid history reader will sit and read with glee BUT Deary's ability to bring history alive will capture those for who history is all leather elbow patches and pipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I enjoyed it a lot
it had many of interesting facts about the Tudors
I would recommend it to ages from about 8-13 and older. It does have blood and guts in it so children under 8 probably wouldn't want to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Glanced at our granddaughter's copy and thought it was excellent, so bought this copy for our friend's birthday (he's 70+ and 'into' this historic period). Sure he'll enjoy and learn something new from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.