Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Education that grabs interest
We bought the magazine version because my daughter was studying the Tudors in school. We kept up with the collection of magazines and tried some of the books. She loves them. Her interest in history is growing and she has learned to move away from just the horrible bits and into a more complete picture. These books are a gem for that. Anything that can get a 7 year...
Published on 24 April 2003 by Jeff Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars present
This was a Christmas present for a child and they enjoyed it,it has now been past on to others to enjoy.
Published 12 months ago by mary


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Education that grabs interest, 24 April 2003
We bought the magazine version because my daughter was studying the Tudors in school. We kept up with the collection of magazines and tried some of the books. She loves them. Her interest in history is growing and she has learned to move away from just the horrible bits and into a more complete picture. These books are a gem for that. Anything that can get a 7 year old away from the tele and connected to the stream of the past, present and future that is life is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant value for money in good condition., 15 Feb 2010
By 
The Horrible Histories box set is incrediable value for money. It arrived safely. I have only read a few of the books but they are great for young children or older children who want to understand the basics of a certain topic. Actually 23 books, all the main periods are covered from Romans to Tudors and up to the 2nd World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Vile Victorians gives you the dire details of Victorian life for everyone.....', 22 Mar 2007
......from children in the monstrous mines and savage schools to the vile Victorian Queen herself.

Be warned, this book is not for the squeamish.........
You wouldn't believe some of the things the vile Victorians got up to. After you've read this book you still might not believe them. But they are true, I'm afraid.
Some Victorians could be Vicious and Violent and Villainous - VILE, in fact.
When you've finished reading the book you'll probably know more fascinating facts about the Victorians than your teacher....
Be warned, again!
This book is not suitable for adults.
Victorian adults did some pretty nasty things to children.
You wouldn't want your parents or teachers to get any horrible ideas, would you?

Read on for curious quizzes, rotten recipes, gruesome games and terrible tests.........for your teacher!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over chapters:

1. Vile Victorian timelines
2. Vile Victorian Queen
3. Vile Victorian childhood
4. Vile Victorian schools
5. Vile Victorian fun and games
6. Vile Victorian poems, plays and songs
7. Vile Victorian life
8. Vile Victorian food
9. Vile Victorian facts
10. The vile Victorian Army
11. Vile Victorian villains

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, in a variety of fonts, and super black & white illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.

Do you know what Mary Ann Cotton did? How about Matthew Webb?

'.....Children of the 1990s still suffer from the horror of homework, the terror of teachers and the dread of school dinners. BUT......if you think school is BAD in the 20th century, you should have gone to school in the 19th!......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, suitable for all ages!, 13 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
21 books as promised in perfect condition. My 2 oldest daughters were very excited and started arguing over them immediately! My youngest not yet reading but they will be saved for her too. They are FUN and INTERESTING to read- Yes- history books!! If only history was this interesting when I was at school! We love the TV series so was hoping we wouldnt be disappointed with the books, so far so good- I read one book in a day and plan to read the whole lot along with the children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 8 Jun 2010
There are 21 books in the a box which has some Horrible Histories illustration (really nice). On the box, it wrote that there are 20, but I counted and there are actually 21, just like the title of this product. I really like this because I can get most of the HH Collection now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is no. 21 ???, 3 Jun 2010
By 
Q. Hussain "qjh" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nice boxset containing the books.
However the only problem was that instead of the advertised 21 books, there were only 20 books in the set. I would suggest that whoever is advertising this boxset actually changes the caption as it is misleading and therefore in breach of some regulations or other.
That said though, the boxset was in perfect condition and the books are as you would expect of these titles.
Good collection at a fairly sensible price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars did I like it?- yes, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it for the grandson, who has the Victorians for a project at school.
excellent - I read it first - what a hoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for teachers/schools/kids!, 27 Nov 2010
By 
K. Williams "k8" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought copies for school (I'm a Year 3 teacher). It was purchased for the copy of the story inside called Monster of the Mine. Great for our coal mining project! Also good for able readers who want to know more about the Victorians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Venus Class Review, 5 May 2009
A Kid's Review
This book is about the vile things that The Victorians did and it shows you a timeline of Queen Victoria's life.

This book is funny, real, disgusting, vile sometimes scary. My favourite part is when the ladies were as gruesome as the old Lord Harriet. I think the book is tremendously good because it's funny and real. Zack

It's a really funny, superb book. I give it eight out of ten. Harry G.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Histories: Vile Victorians, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AWESOME CLASS SUPER. I was surprised how much information was in the awesome book. FANTASTIC FAB BRILLIANT SUPERB GORY GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vile Victorians (Horrible Histories)
The Vile Victorians (Horrible Histories) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 7 May 2007)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews