Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2012
I have had this book since my daughter was of an age to read to it and as I live in Luxor and have many families visiting my holiday rentals I am always lending it out and it never fails to amuse and instruct. Everyone always wants to get a copy when they get home. It is full of the kind of facts kids like to read, lots of blood and gore and weird facts. If you like the Horrible History TV series you will love this book.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
This book is, contrary to some views, a very good read. It is designed to make learning about the "Awesome" Egyptians fun, and it achieves this with flying colours.

This book instructs you on how to make a mummy, tells you about some rather strange traditions and how to bury your own Pharoah in his own pyramid.

Overall, a perfect book to read for children and teenagers alike, combining Terry Deary's perfect humour with facts which will stick with the reader for the rest of their lives!
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
.......about phabulous Pharaohs and poverty-stricken peasants - who lived an awesome 5000 years ago!

Want to know:-

which king had the worst blackheads?
why some kings had to wear false beards?
why the peasants were revolting?

Read on to find some foul facts about death and decay, revolting recipes for 3000-year-old sweets, how to make a mean mummy, and some awful Egyptian arithmetic.
History with the nasty bits left in!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over 12 chapters:-

Egyptian fact-file
Awesome Egyptian events
Phascinating Pharaohs
The power of the pyramids
The pyramids
The magic of the mummies
The curse of the mummy's tomb
Gruesome grave robbers
The remarkable river
A gallery of gods
Awesome troublesome Egyptians
Live like an Egyptian

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, aided by Peter Hepplewhite - in a variety of fonts, and superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
We have the whole pack of 20 books of Horrible Histories. Not all of them are horribly nice. Thus, this one is really god from every corner - lots of info about Egyptians (that might be due to teh fact that they did not invade Britain as poor Romans did and therefore "Rotten Romans" could be better called "Romans are loosers Brits are smart!"). It is REALLY funny, not only some irony or sarc asm - it IS funny. Quite a nice historical scale of Egypt that you can remember it not only via boring memorising, but through laugh tears. In total - intelligent, full of data, everything you need to not and...NOT BORING! "Ranging Rivers" (Nile is one of them) could be a good add to complete the whole horrible Egyptian history.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
This is a great book. It has heaps of information about the Egyptians from religion, to food, to growing up in Ancient Egypt. Awesome Egyptians teaches you about the sorts of thing that history teachers would dream of talking about and presents them in a humourous way that makes history fun and interesting. This series is one of the reasons that I love history.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2004
I admire this book because it is outstanding, spooky and horrid.
The main reason I like it is because it has good words and phrases like 'he's wearing gold with embroidery, blue velvet rope, sparkling soldiers and shining stars'. His use of speech and the things characters say are funny and sometimes gruesome! Whoever reads this book I am sure will love it!
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2001
This was a great book about ancient Eygptians. I especially liked how they measured things with parts of their bodies (for example the cubit and palm). The author even included some ancient Eygptian jokes. But some things are really gross, like how a cure for blindness entailed mashing up the eye of a pig with honey and red ochre and putting it in the patient's ear, yuck! There is a cartoon featuring two pigs, one who is blind and without eyes, the other with eyes. The pig without eyes says,"Stay clear of doctors!" to the other pig. It is really well written, blending humor and history, (to make history fun) and nice illustrations too. It even shows some Eygptian symbols including the ones for the words: all, life and protection. There is even a funny cartoon of a map of Eygpt where Terry Deary marks the part of the map with an X and labels it "Flying saucer landing site" (but scribbles it out).
0Comment13 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
As with all of the Horrible Histories series, this DVD keeps kids' attention and educates them along the way.
Two children embark on an adventure to Ancient Egypt and are given the task of preparing a party for King Tut, whilst his advisor tries to thwart them. Lots of historical facts are thrown at you as the humorous story progresses.
I rated it 4 instead of 5 because the girl's voice is so incredibly irritating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
This book has good stuff for kids who dont like history. I was a teacher Harvard University and I find this book very enjoyable. I have bought my son and daughter a copy each and they cant seem to put it down.
0Comment9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I like this book because it is very informative and helped me with school because my topic is ancient Egypt. But i didn't find it as funny as the last ones =( . I recommend this book to anyone who needs help with school or just simply likes history;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse