Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for KS2 or an Egyptian holiday
I have had this book since my daughter was of an age to read to it and as I live in Luxor and have many families visiting my holiday rentals I am always lending it out and it never fails to amuse and instruct. Everyone always wants to get a copy when they get home. It is full of the kind of facts kids like to read, lots of blood and gore and weird facts. If you like the...
Published 22 months ago by Jane Akshar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars horble historys
very good sevice thanks and it was a good book i will use you again you also gave a very quick service

thanks ej books
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by ebriggs books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for KS2 or an Egyptian holiday, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Jane Akshar "mad Egyptologist" (Luxor, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Awesome Egyptians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
I have had this book since my daughter was of an age to read to it and as I live in Luxor and have many families visiting my holiday rentals I am always lending it out and it never fails to amuse and instruct. Everyone always wants to get a copy when they get home. It is full of the kind of facts kids like to read, lots of blood and gore and weird facts. If you like the Horrible History TV series you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book for learning about history!, 14 Feb 2007
This book is, contrary to some views, a very good read. It is designed to make learning about the "Awesome" Egyptians fun, and it achieves this with flying colours.

This book instructs you on how to make a mummy, tells you about some rather strange traditions and how to bury your own Pharoah in his own pyramid.

Overall, a perfect book to read for children and teenagers alike, combining Terry Deary's perfect humour with facts which will stick with the reader for the rest of their lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woah, neat book!, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This was a great book about ancient Eygptians. I especially liked how they measured things with parts of their bodies (for example the cubit and palm). The author even included some ancient Eygptian jokes. But some things are really gross, like how a cure for blindness entailed mashing up the eye of a pig with honey and red ochre and putting it in the patient's ear, yuck! There is a cartoon featuring two pigs, one who is blind and without eyes, the other with eyes. The pig without eyes says,"Stay clear of doctors!" to the other pig. It is really well written, blending humor and history, (to make history fun) and nice illustrations too. It even shows some Eygptian symbols including the ones for the words: all, life and protection. There is even a funny cartoon of a map of Eygpt where Terry Deary marks the part of the map with an X and labels it "Flying saucer landing site" (but scribbles it out).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Awesome Egyptians gives you some awful information, 22 Mar 2007
.......about phabulous Pharaohs and poverty-stricken peasants - who lived an awesome 5000 years ago!

Want to know:-

which king had the worst blackheads?
why some kings had to wear false beards?
why the peasants were revolting?

Read on to find some foul facts about death and decay, revolting recipes for 3000-year-old sweets, how to make a mean mummy, and some awful Egyptian arithmetic.
History with the nasty bits left in!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over 12 chapters:-

Egyptian fact-file
Awesome Egyptian events
Phascinating Pharaohs
The power of the pyramids
The pyramids
The magic of the mummies
The curse of the mummy's tomb
Gruesome grave robbers
The remarkable river
A gallery of gods
Awesome troublesome Egyptians
Live like an Egyptian

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, aided by Peter Hepplewhite - in a variety of fonts, and superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome book, 30 Jan 2004
I admire this book because it is outstanding, spooky and horrid.
The main reason I like it is because it has good words and phrases like 'he's wearing gold with embroidery, blue velvet rope, sparkling soldiers and shining stars'. His use of speech and the things characters say are funny and sometimes gruesome! Whoever reads this book I am sure will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 22 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This is a great book. It has heaps of information about the Egyptians from religion, to food, to growing up in Ancient Egypt. Awesome Egyptians teaches you about the sorts of thing that history teachers would dream of talking about and presents them in a humourous way that makes history fun and interesting. This series is one of the reasons that I love history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and educational, 31 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This book has good stuff for kids who dont like history. I was a teacher Harvard University and I find this book very enjoyable. I have bought my son and daughter a copy each and they cant seem to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 July 2014
Amazing book it is not the book of fighting I thought it would be.Amazing get it now or you will find that you will notbe able to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading material, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awesome Egyptians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Grandson loved it. These books have really improved his reading. Catches his interest and educational and funny , well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious educational fun, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awesome Egyptians [DVD] (DVD)
As with all of the Horrible Histories series, this DVD keeps kids' attention and educates them along the way.
Two children embark on an adventure to Ancient Egypt and are given the task of preparing a party for King Tut, whilst his advisor tries to thwart them. Lots of historical facts are thrown at you as the humorous story progresses.
I rated it 4 instead of 5 because the girl's voice is so incredibly irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Awesome Egyptians (Horrible Histories)
The Awesome Egyptians (Horrible Histories) by Peter Hepplewhite (Paperback - 7 May 2007)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews