Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2004
'Dire details about blitzed Britan that affected everyone in the country.'
'Every Governement lies to its people! In Italy, theirs said that they had bombed Britain so bad that they had shot the Loch Ness Monster and killed it!
"That must have been messy!"
"No, it was Nessie!"
Superb wit and wisdom mix to make this one of the best of the audiobooks from the utterly fantastic, Mr Deary!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
...Dad's Army, or how sweet rationing drove a teacher to steal from his pupils, or what happened when an elephant got loose in the blackout, the full foul facts about life on the home front are laid out before your ears. It's packed with quizzes, sketches and jokes, as well as mini-dramas and real life re-enactments - telling you the kind of foul facts which just aren't available from a classroom education! This book is like most of the other Horrible Histories which have very practical timeline which are terrific! Rating: 7/ 10.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2007
'The Woeful Second World War gives you the dire details about the worst war ever ~ from snow-bound cities under siege to fly-infested jungle trenches.

Want to know why wearing white knickers could get you killed in the Second World War?'

Read on!

The usual Deary humour flows through the 136 pages packed with facts, written in a variety of type styles, full of black & white illustrations/cartoons, from Martin Brown.

Split into chapters:

1. Terrible timeline
2. Home horrors
3. Frightful fighting
4. Awesome animals
5. Lousy liars
6. Chilling for children
7. The Holocaust

with an introduction & an epilogue.

Read on for curious quizzes, rotten recipes, gruesome games and much more.
History has never been so horrible!'

'23rd August 1939:

Shock! Deadly enemies unite! Mr Adolf Hitler of Germany (with a toothbrush moustache) and Mr Josef Stalin of the Soviet Union (with a yard-brush moustache) peacefully agree not to fight one another.
No chance.
Never trust a man with a moustache...

1st September 1939:

A. Hitler (the liar) had promised not to invade Poland. Today his army invades Poland...... and `peacefully' shares it with the Soviets. No one asked the Poles, of course.
Britain and France say they'll fight for Poland's freedom.
That means war!...'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Grandson started reading it as soon as it arrived and finished it in a couple of days.
Was reluctant to buy after seeing it on tv, but then read another review above from a junior school teacher who ordered it for his class, so figured it was ok.
So glad I did.
Working through the rest of the Horrible History titles now!
What a fantastic way to get kids interested in history!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Purchased this for my class as we are doing WW2. The layout of this new edition is far easier to read and the kids love the pictures. What a bargain as well as it was reduced by a further £1.25
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2010
Still very entertaining and interesting. It gives an idea of what it must have been like to live through WW2 on the Home Front, but not as educational as other Titles in the series, eg Terrible Tudors (which is brilliant). There is nothing about the battles or the various campaigns (probably because these would not be suitable for a humorous treatment) and it focusses on life in Britain (rationing, evacuation etc). Still a very enjoyable CD, entertaining for whole family.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2000
I am a fanatic fan of the Horrible Histories, I am devastated that he will stop writing them after "Ireland" (which I already have). The Blitzed Brits delt more with the comic parts of the Second World War, but this one put the matter forward in a much more serious manner, and gave a much truer statement as to how the time was for the soldiers and the public, Terry Deary I congratulate and salue you as the saviour of History!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2006
As a 13 year old I can remember having to learn about Franz Ferdinand, The Black Hand Gang, allies and enemies, dates and times and other mundane facts that actually didn't mean much to me.

In contrast, this book would enthuse any Year 7 pupil (and in my case 40+) to do a GCSE in History or just be grateful for our freedom and the fact that we can read a book like this!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
I read these books to get a laugh and to relax from heavy history literature. They are fun, entertaining, light reading. You only spend a couple of hours and then you have finished the book. Terry Deary manages to find not so common stories to teach the most avid wwii historian something as well. I have learned a lot of new facts from these books when I thought I knew it all.
This book is not as full of humour as the books are that only touch the Blitz. You can joke about your own people but it is difficult to do so about the Germans and Japanese. He still manages to sneak it in here and there with illustrations even though the topic of war really is a horrible one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
This is a brilliant CD that has lots of fun facts that you will enjoy all the time.It will educate your child and make them laugh at the same time.I would recomend buying it.AUDIO CD
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.