Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, strong start, 21 Feb. 2008
By 
Kelvin M. Green (Island of the Mosquito Women) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Abandoning the moribund superhero trappings (wrongly) associated with the medium, Kazu Kibuishi delivers a classic fantasy tale in comics form. While it has all the superficial trappings of a children's story, there's much for all ages to enjoy here; the youngsters will love the imaginative world and its colourful inhabitants, while grown-ups of all ages will respond to the complex emotions at the heart of the story, and the interesting moral questions raised by the Amulet itself.

Kibuishi's storytelling is strong, although there are a couple of minor slip-ups here and there (page fifteen's clumsy panel layout, for example), and the visuals are wonderful; the seemingly simplistic figures show a wealth of personality and emotion, and the fantasy world is vivid and beautifully realised.

This first chapter of the story is self-enclosed enough that it can be read in isolation, but Kibuishi weaves in plenty of interesting ongoing threads, and I for one will be there to pick up volume two and see how the story continues. A good, strong start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 10 April 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After the tragic death of their father, Emily and her brother, Navin, move with their mother to a new town to start a brand new life. Their new house is very old and has been in their family for years. Emily is very interested by this old house, particularly one room upstairs in which she finds a beautiful necklace with a very pretty stone in it.

Emily's cool find is soon overshadowed by a very strange first night in the house. After hearing noises in the basement, their mother is kidnapped by a strange creature.

Emily and Navin, with the help of Emily's stone necklace, now have to find their mother and figure out what is going on in this strange new town.

THE STONEKEEPER, the first in the AMULET series, is a quick yet enjoyable read, set up in graphic novel form. The main characters are easy to relate to, and the supporting characters are serious but amusing at the same time. The storyline is interesting and leaves you wanting to know more.

Kids will love seeing people their own age as strong and independent main characters. Emily and Navin are definitely role model material.

Reviewed by: Michaela Pallante aka "Mickey"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, beautiful graphic novel for younger readers, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
After Navin and Emily's father passes away, they move to their grandfathers abandoned house, since he went missing years before. A sinister tentacled monster draws the mother into a hidden underground world and of course, with the help of the Amulet, Navin and Emily have to follow. They quickly discover a mechanical rabbit, a giant robot and a house with legs.

This book was really fun to read and the illustrations were, at times, incredible. I breezed through this quick graphic novel in less than an hour and immediately wanted to start from the beginning again (since I don't have Volume Two yet). The conflict in the story is resolved pretty quickly and doesn't hurt the brain when you're reading - making it the perfect graphic novel for younger readers. Despite the spooky content and monsters, the story is light-hearted and the illustrations make it child-friendly. I would have preferred the book to be slightly longer, since I felt the fast-paced drama made it appear a lot shorter than it was and I would have loved to have seen more of the world and gotten to know the characters a little better, so I'm invested enough to buy Volume two. Overall, I'd recommend reading this graphic novel, particularly if you're new to graphic novels and want something easy to get you into them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally ace, 15 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
now maybe I should be too old for "comics" but this book was recommended to me by a friend and I have to say it is totally ace, the artwork on each page is superb and the storyline is fun.

this would suit any age I believe, I am in my 30's yet can see that this book would appeal to my young cousins right up to my parents.

great 'read' and I cannot wait for more from this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Alledia, 25 Aug. 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
In fantasy stories, weird old houses always have something secret hidden in them.

And while "The Stonekeeper" starts with the heroine's family arriving at their new home, it doesn't take long for Kazu Kibiushi to bring us into the alternate world of Alledia -- I find the pink bunnies to be a bit distracting, but the grotesque monsters, menacing elves and eerie houses make up for it.

After her father's death, Emily accompanies her mother and brother Navin to a run-down family house -- but as they clean up and try to make it habitable, Emily finds a glowing stone amulet. And that night, Emily's mother is attacked and eaten alive by a tentacled monster, and when Navin and Emily chase it to get her back, they end up in a strange new world.

Even worse, a glowy-eyed elf is following the two children, until they are rescued by a representative of their great-grandfather, who lives in the forest with a gang of little robots. It turns out that Emily's stone amulet has the power to save the entire world of Alledia... and possibly to save her mother as well.

"The Stonekeeper (Amulet, Book 1)" reminds me a lot of Jeff Smith's Bone -- a dramatic, imaginative fantasy graphic novel that is slightly softened by some goofy-looking characters (one of the robots looks like a pink bunny). And it doesn't take long for Kazu Kibuishi to leap headfirst into fast-paced action and little touches of horror.

Actually, his entire approach is very original -- his elves aren't pretty Tolkienesque creatures, but sharp-toothed, glowy-eyed and pallid, and the forests and tunnels are full of tentacled horrors. Kibuishi paints the story in misty blue and gray tones, and adds in some whimsical touches (the floating mushrooms) to remind us that we're in another world. I was a little distracted by the mother's very long head, though.

Emily and Navin are pretty realistic young kids, both before and after their trip to Alledia; they whine and mope occasionally, but try to be strong for their mother's sake. They haven't yet shown what they're presumably capable of, but Emily thwarting the amulet's cruelty means that there may be even more growing up to do.

Be sure to have the second volume of the Amulet series on hand, because "The Stonekeeper" leaves you desperately wanting to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great comic-book!, 23 April 2012
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Ok, it might not be one of Shakespeare's pieces but it is interesting and very well drawn, it leaves you wondering where the next step will take you and the twists are placed on the right place!
The art work is very good, the characters are drawn in soft lines and the colors are smooth and appealing with good use of light.
:) Not too scary, creepy in some places for a young child (5-7 years) but nice if read with a parent that can explain that it is just a book (in certain places).
The mum will not be harmed! (and I cannot say more or I will be giving up important part of the plot).

Have a nice reading :)

W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You will be hooked, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
I bought this for my nine and ten year old children. They say "in the first two pages you will be hooked. we can not wait to read on in the series and see what happens".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange and beautiful adventure, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
B. Clare Grant "themymble" (Tunbridge Wells, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Kazu Kibuishi's Copper then you'll recognise some of the same dreamy elements and landscape - but they are spic ed up with a high-speed adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
Although it takes a fast reader no time at all to read this, it is such a beautifully made book with a good story. Would make a wonderful gift for tweens and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great series, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
Zack P (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 (Paperback)
A great beginning to a great series. It has cool and funny characters, it is like Lord of the Rings but it has cool graphics which make it easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1
Amulet: Stonekeeper Bk. 1 by Kazu Kibuishi (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2008)
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews