Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Anybody Who Wants To Learn Idioms!
I have some dictionaries on idioms and I find this one the most helpful because it is really suitable for people who learn English as a second language. I suppose it may be really hard for them to understand idioms at first. However, they may find it useful once they get the hang of it. Unfortunately I found my several new expressions in this dictionary. However, I'm so...
Published on 18 Nov. 2009 by edrm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Again it seems to be a common denominator that the Scholastic books are not very detailed. Thank you.
Published 2 months ago by occasionalbuyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Anybody Who Wants To Learn Idioms!, 18 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
I have some dictionaries on idioms and I find this one the most helpful because it is really suitable for people who learn English as a second language. I suppose it may be really hard for them to understand idioms at first. However, they may find it useful once they get the hang of it. Unfortunately I found my several new expressions in this dictionary. However, I'm so intrigued by informative and well-organized explanations of each idiom that I would like to recommend this to those who are still struggling to learn English. The main reason is that it sure helps us reinforce our imaginations by judging the meaning from the context. Take the following sentence for example: He blew a gasket when he found out he was fired. In this case, 'to blow a gasket' is an idiom. I would guess whether the sentence means the positive or negative first. Then I would guess how I would feel if I were in his shoes. If possible, I would try to put it differently. I would express this way,"He was furious when he found out he lost his job." Now you might catch what it means; 'to blow a gasket' means 'furious' or 'very angry'. The bottom line is you will strengthen your understanding on idioms if you practice guessing what your new idioms mean from the contexts. But beware; don't overuse them. It'll make sentences unnatural or even wordy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Idioms, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
Got this book for my nephew. This guide to idioms provide student with fun idioms we commonly use. Great little referece book to have for your kids to aid them in their writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
This book is excellent well explained and a friend who is German wanted a copy. I will send it to her as it is easy to ready with good explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Idioms, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
Interesting and useful book, ideal for Christmas post dinner conversation. It is also useful for planning quiz nites for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
Again it seems to be a common denominator that the Scholastic books are not very detailed. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile book, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
Excellent book with good clear definitions of commonly used idioms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms (Paperback)
very useful, well organised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms
Scholastic Dictionary of Idioms by Marvin Terban (Paperback - July 2006)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews