Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars28
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2000
Michael K left me feeling on the one hand empty inside as though something had left me during the reading and on the other, elated. Wiser. On the surface it's a story of struggle but as you turn each page it slowly dawns that this struggle will never end. It's relentless. The forces against Michael K, a gardner, are too great and too many. In the end he takes his own route through an extrordianry maze of difficulties the best way he knows how until he is left at the end with everything intact, as though he never made the first step of this journey. We are left wondering, who is Michael K? We never discover what Michael K has to say or how he really feels, we must accept that we only know him by the hardships he encounters. The Life and Times of Michael K tells us more about ourselves than it does the characters in the book and this is the real essence of Coetzee's writing. Michael K will stay with me forever, a ghostly book that still haunts the mind.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2004
This novel begins in a rather humdrum manner of everyday life in hardship. The hardship increases with the complexity of life, and it is the developing confusion of choices and the emerging landscape of morality that intensifies the hardship as much as the harsh physical and political environments.
The hardship can seem oppressive to the reader, particularly if you expect some of the more rounded colourings of Alan Paton or Doris Lessing's African works, but perseverance is more than worthwhile. The book can be divided into two main sections, each viewing the world from a distinct perspective: one black, one white. Neither is at ease, nor optimistic, yet, despite the air of oppressive hardship and misery, the ending is something quite unexpected, refreshing, and enlivening. It is too simple to refer to it as optimism or hope, simply a reversion to a simple universal truth.
This novel is both a classic of South Africa, and a classic novel of universal appeal. Despite its slimness it is one of the most moving works I have ever read, and perhaps particularly rare for being able to deal with the subject of a black man in apartheid South Africa without ever being a manifesto or sermon. It is simply a eulogy of humanity.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008
In a society in which a whole group of its citizens is accorded no value, what happens when one of them values himself even less? The answer: he becomes like a double negative; and double negatives become positives. 'The obscurist of the obscure,' as Coetzee puts it,'so obscure as to be a prodigy.'

Coetzee writes with an economy and simple elegance which can be misleading. His prose can seem so plain there is a danger one thinks the story is plain too. In fact he draws with the economy of line of a great artist - and through it, like great artists, he achieves great beauty.

Michael K is a man for whom no one has ever much cared, and who consequently cares nothing for himself. He stumbles through civil war torn South Africa and is kicked about like a stone; not a rough, awkward protesting stone, but like a smooth stone, 'like a pebble that having lain around quietly minding its own business since the dawn of time, is now suddenly picked up and tossed randomly from hand to hand.' And is indestructible.

This is a short book that should be read at a run, not picked up and put down. The narrative may seem meandering. Those who encounter K are so perplexed by him they barely bother with him; and he is never bothered by them. The stone is merely kicked about. The point, for some time, seems obscure.

But then the stone that is K lands in the possession of someone different: of someone good. And now, for the first time, K becomes a disturbance; he creates anxiety, he upsets the status quo. And the moral of the tale reveals itself: sometimes, amidst the banality of institutionalised evil, it requires the extraordinary to make good people see the truth - even if, in this case, what is extraordinary is K's extreme ordinariness.

It is a poignant, painful and powerful book, that could only have been attempted - let alone delivered successfully - by a writer of authority, clarity and total control. But then those are the characteristics of J M Coetzee. He has given us a story about something vital out of the life of a man who is nothing.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2000
It has been a while that I have read anything as brave, honest and utterly compelling. Coetzee's insight into the struggle of life is quite humbling. Here the character wishes nothing more in life than to exist as a simple man living from the fruits of his labour. To enjoy life immersed in a simplicity which you or I can only read about. Through man's ignorance he is never granted this liberty.
I would recommend it a thousand times over - an unforgettable masterpiece for those who understand personal struggle. As I read the final words I dived straight back to the beginning.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Based against the backdrop of the final days of apartheid in South Africa and martial law, this is the story of Michael K. We are told of Michael K's facial deformity, his difficult childhood left by his mother in an institution, his work as a gardener, and his subsequent care for his mother when she becomes ill. Faced with the loss of work and home, Michael takes his mother on a journey back to her childhood home. A journey his mother doesn't complete and which leads Michael into the bleakest of existences as he seeks isolation and freedom whilst the outside world seeks to restrain and define him.

The merciless deprivation and perennial hunger are relentless. In some ways Michael K epitomises the Janis Joplin quote `freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose'. Michael's refusal to be bound by others is inspirational and frustrating in equal measure. The characterisation almost gives him a religious overtone in the simplicity and innocence of his desires. However, it is also possible to see Michael as a metaphor for the decay of South Africa, as it rots from within so Michael slowly starves. To stretch the metaphor to the limit his persistence in wishing to plant and nurture pumpkin seeds suggests the latent potential for growth and renewal.

This is an extraordinary book. The multi-layered themes, the astonishing sense of bleakness created by the sparse and simple narrative, and the enigmatic character of Michael K, make this a superb work, well worthy of the accolades it has received.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
I can't think of any other author who can write with the economy of Coetzee. With practically no imagery, he manages to convey a sense of emotion and place which is overwhelming. There's something alien about Michael K and the way he refuses all help and seems resigned to the collapse of his life. I think this book is a more subtle but much more powerful allegory of Africa than "Disgrace"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
This is a relatively brief book, but has a magnitude of meaning far beyond its size. I began reading Life & Times of Michael K on New Year's Eve, and was finished before breakfast on New Year's Day. However, I'm pretty sure I will return to it again, and again.

Set in Apartheid era South Africa during a fictionalised civil war, Michael K is a gardener and an outsider in Cape Town. He tries to return his sick mother to her rural birthplace, but lacks the appropriate paperwork and permissions. He is robbed, arrested, placed in an internment camp for vagrants and suffers the injustices of a grossly unfair system. However, he also learns to survive on his own and discovers a form of true freedom that is beyond the understanding of others. The image that concludes the book is as fine an image of the true value and resilience of life as I have read in a long time. What could so easily have been a book about the futility of life, becomes a challenge and a source of hope.

I love the directness of Coetzee's writing. Nothing is wasted. He is a two-time winner of the Booker Prize, and I would argue that this is the better of his two prizewinners. I recently had the misfortune to read a Booker shortlisted novel which the publisher had described as '... a novel to be talked of in the same breath as Nineteen Eighty-Four and Brave New World, thought-provoking and life-changing.' That description would be much better suited to Life & Times of Michael K. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 August 2012
'Life and Times of Michael K' was the first of Coetzee's two Booker-winning novels. Published in 1983, it is set in a temporally unspecific South Africa that is sliding into civil war. It follows the wanderings of the eponymous Michael, a poor and uneducated man with a harelip who works as a gardener in Cape Town. Michael attempts to accompany his sickening mother to her hazily-remembered birthplace in the country. Coetzee uses this ill-advised expedition to reflect on the human predicament of individuals who refuse to surrender to compulsion.

The novel's title immediately suggests Kafka, and there are also echoes of Beckett, but it has also been suggested that the book is a re-imagining of Kleist's 'Michael Kohlhaas'. It says a great deal that Coetzee's novel doesn't immediately founder under the weight of such comparisons. The book has been assimilated to the category of anti-apartheid protest novels, and of course it may be read as such; but it is in fact far more general and subtle in its examination of man's existential plight, his relationship to his fellow men and broader questions of freedom and dependence. In that sense, it is as resonant as any of the novels that have taken the Holocaust as emblematic of our contemporary condition.

I greatly enjoyed this book, which is in some ways a companion piece to its predecessor, 'Waiting For the Barbarians', a more abstract and literary treatment of similar themes also drawing on a predecessor text: in that case, Dino Buzzati's 'The Tartar Steppe'.

Coetzee is a major writer here. These were the books that established his reputation, and must have played a large part in his subsequent Nobel Prize award. Highly recommended to anybody interested in serious postwar fiction in English. For once, this a prize-winning book that earns its plaudits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Every so often his name changes - K; Michael; Michaels; "metaphor"; Treefeller. Nobody knows Michael, but Michael - everyone wants to label him. This was a peaceful read for me while Michael was alone in the Karoo; because even though he was struggling, they were his struggles alone, with no prsssure except the changes of day to night, and weather, I was just as focussed on his tending the seed and plants, and it could have been any time, and no time. Then War remorselessly includes him in its history-making machine with the iron rule of guards and fences. The same lightness of description is given to brutality - a sort of matter-of-fact tone, which makes you just accept things, although you hate them. It feels like you're inside Michael's head, that he's seen this treatment before growing up in an institution. At times I was reminded of Wordsworth's 'The Idiot Boy' because the way people treat him says more about them and their outook. Writing is concise, sharp and simply stated that you feel present in every moment with Michael. I enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2015
This is a powerful and beautifully written novel about human nature, companionship, relationship to the physical world, and charity. It follows the life of Michael K, born with a hare lip in wartime South Africa, and destined for a life on the margins of society. Michael cares for his elderly mother until her death, and then pursues a solitary existence, trying to avoid capture and placement in a camp. This experience gives him time for philosophical reflection on the nature of human existence and survival, but malnourished and almost delirious, he ends up institutionalised. The second part of the novel is narrated by a medic who becomes fascinated by Michael. His attempts at charity are rebuffed, however, before Michael escapes. The medic ultimately comes to view Michael as a uniquely perceptive human being. The final part reverts to a third person narrative. After escape, Michael ends up where he began, still pondering, and making the reader ponder, the nature of life and relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.