Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful
My school uses this book a lot but they didn't give us personal ones so I'm grateful to have my own copy - very comprehensive.
Published 19 months ago by Caroline Ngondo

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of mistakes!
I'm an A-level tutor in this subject and I'm not as impressed with this book, compared with the A2 book. It seems it was rushed through, because there are a lot of elementary mistakes which a simple read-through would have detected. I think it is inexcusable to have so many mistakes in a school text: students are having a hard enough time understanding this complex...
Published on 27 Feb 2011 by Jacqueline Edge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of mistakes!, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
I'm an A-level tutor in this subject and I'm not as impressed with this book, compared with the A2 book. It seems it was rushed through, because there are a lot of elementary mistakes which a simple read-through would have detected. I think it is inexcusable to have so many mistakes in a school text: students are having a hard enough time understanding this complex material as it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Annoying to read, 28 May 2013
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Though it contains far less mistakes than its predecessor, it is far harder to read, and feels somewhat rushed. In many topics, such as Homeobox Genes and Dopamine, there is just a wash of text which it I find very hard to pick out relevant information from. The Biozone book is written in a far more reader-friendly style, and while I admit both books do go off track at points, this book keeps you off track and sends you into a world of confusion and unnecessary information.

All in all, I would not advise it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
My school uses this book a lot but they didn't give us personal ones so I'm grateful to have my own copy - very comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book has some flaws, however, in my opinion is it essential for the A2 biology course. The book covers the specification well and provides in-depth double page spreads on many parts of the specification. There is usually enough information and sometimes there is too much! This is, of course, not an issue.

Further the book has past exam questions on each module and also end of module summary questions to test your knowledge. A key feature that is also very useful are the stretch and challenge questions which are placed on some of the spreads. This is helpful for students looking for A and A* grades.

There are some criticisms though. As other reviews suggest, there are mistakes; quite a few. However, these generally can be noticed and do not impact on understanding (although sometimes it can make concepts confusing). Furthermore, the language used could be simpler to make the topics more accessible.

Overall, it is a great book with a few flaws. However, it has many positives and I would be more than happy to use this book and this book only for my A2 biology exam. In my other subjects I would need more than one textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much going on,,,,,, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Ali K. Khammas "s1k_m4n" (Brondesbury ---London,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
The book covers the specification really well but the topics are totally disorganized and the language used isn't the easiest to understand. And there's wayyy too much overdescription of some topics and it leaves you a bit exhausted!! Overall its really good to learn from this book as it's really hard and anything else you have will seem much easier to you after, which is why i suggest you also get the OCR CGP biology revision guide which is excellent at breaking things down into their simplest form (but not quite sufficient to be a sole text book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Excellent book in good condition. Will definitely buy from buyer again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 11 May 2014
By 
K. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Most topics are explained clearly and in a suitable level of detail, but the reason it only gets 3 stars is because of all!!! the!!! waffle!!! Elements such as the green 'how science works' pages usually delve into 'a history of biology' rather than useful information related to the specification, for example the double page spread on homeobox genes. In addition, sometimes, wording can be sloppy/vague. Diagrams clear and helpful. Overall fairly good book but with flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
My asked for this book to prepare for his Biology Exam. He was very happy and said it is easy to read and understand, It comes with a cd which is he used to watch when he feels tired to read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I don't see the point, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Use Mrs Miller's book, and the CGP revision guide, and say hello to an A. You can do without this book. Too much waffling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revision, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM (Paperback)
Bought this for my son. It covers everything that he needs. Arrived before stated date. great book hope it works!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM
OCR A2 Biology Student Book and CD-ROM by Ms Sue Hocking (Paperback - 9 Dec 2008)
21.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews