Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource
This book is fantastic for Chemistry AS for OCR, as the name suggests. It provides very clear information presented in a very aesthetic way which helps a lot when you are trying to learn something which may not be the most exciting thing in the world. The icing is the Exam Café CD - it's brilliant. It offers a revision timetable, flashcards, multiple choice...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by Peter Court

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's really not that good
Loads of people have given this book so many stars. I really don't think it's worth it. My sixthform provided me with it in late october as they had run out. I realised it made nearly no difference to me. The text can become very long and tiring to read and understand. and you have to go back a paragraph to get with the flow again...yet the good sides are that yes it's...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by Mr. A. Zafar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good resource, 28 Dec 2008
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic for Chemistry AS for OCR, as the name suggests. It provides very clear information presented in a very aesthetic way which helps a lot when you are trying to learn something which may not be the most exciting thing in the world. The icing is the Exam Café CD - it's brilliant. It offers a revision timetable, flashcards, multiple choice questions and a tick list which is genius. It basically says 'You need to do x, y, z' and you tick it off if you can do it, if you can't, get revising!

If you're buying this book it's probably because you have to but you can be assured it's very good and you won't need to go and buy a different one to work from (which some of my peers have had to do for the Physics AQA course). The only supplement I can recommend is the 'Revise' version which is also fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's really not that good, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. Zafar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
Loads of people have given this book so many stars. I really don't think it's worth it. My sixthform provided me with it in late october as they had run out. I realised it made nearly no difference to me. The text can become very long and tiring to read and understand. and you have to go back a paragraph to get with the flow again...yet the good sides are that yes it's structured in the way OCR's exams are structured but it's poor. I'd recommend the CGP revision guide as a suppliment for revision puposes (revision only!!!) apart from that the "Essential As Chemistry" for OCR is also really well layed out and written..sorry guys not advertising but i'm talking out of experience.
GCSE grade : A
Chemistry mock grade: E
then hopefully with the help of CGP it'll be all fine with a predicted B on the 18th August :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery excellent product, 1 Mar 2009
By 
I. Masood (England, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
well worth buying im a student at As level and this came in really useful, the delivery was also a day early
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 Oct 2008
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
This book is amazing - i'm doing my a-levels now and this is really helping me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless!!!!, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
Spelling Mistakes, Difficult to comprehend, incorrect questions and answers, the list goes on, i have been told if you worked from the book the best grade you could get is a B, Heinmen really need to read things through before publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOKS, 20 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. S. E. Richardson (gateshead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
Ordered these two books for my daughter, they are the same that she uses for sixth form and follow the syllabus.Books were speedily delivered - first rate service ,most impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chemistry A level text, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
Suitable for the course and for the student wanting a qualification at A level in this subject. Not enough for the discerning student chasing A*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW COURSE, NEW RESOURCE, 3 Feb 2009
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
This book has injected new enthusiasm into a revitalised AS Chemistry course. Written by guys who both examine and deliver the specification, it's littered with 'examiner tips'and plenty of practice questions. Great from point of view of teachers and students. Needs a companion volume for students to help them with the new coursework requirements, especially error analysis. Otherwise, brilliant, 21st century resourse for 21st century chemistry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
Amazing book, everything is so well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking exams then you need this, 30 May 2014
By 
G. Mastrangelo (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A) (Paperback)
My daughter is taking A level Chemistry, she uses this all the time, which may explain why she is predicted An A
Delivery was fast , no issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR AS Chemistry A Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (OCR A Level Chemistry A)
£20.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews