Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good GAMSAT preparation
I bought this book to prepare for the GAMSAT medical school entry test, which tests candidates knowledge of biology (as well as physics and chemistry). As a non-science graduate, I wanted a textbook which presented topics in a clear way that would allow me to study independently. The OCR Biology AS book does just that. I found the diagrams extremely helpful, and each...
Published on 3 Mar. 2012 by Ajay Clare

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good source of infomration
This book has been written by the chief examiner and keeps very close to the specimen topics, at the start of each page (or spread as the book calls it) there are several specimen points that that particular page is going to cover. I have to say there is some really good information in it however there are some areas that are extremely confusing (owed to the fact that it...
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by Skipper


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good source of infomration, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book has been written by the chief examiner and keeps very close to the specimen topics, at the start of each page (or spread as the book calls it) there are several specimen points that that particular page is going to cover. I have to say there is some really good information in it however there are some areas that are extremely confusing (owed to the fact that it has been very poorly written and in an illogical manner). On balance however it is a good book to aid you in your knowledge. There are practice question that are useful for revision (although some not relevent to the specimen).

To sum up,

The good points:
- written by the chief examiner
- keeps closely to the specimen with some really goo content

The bad points:
- sometimes very hard to understand
- written in a confusing manner and not consistently explaining points
- layout is sometimes illogical and confusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good GAMSAT preparation, 3 Mar. 2012
By 
Ajay Clare (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
I bought this book to prepare for the GAMSAT medical school entry test, which tests candidates knowledge of biology (as well as physics and chemistry). As a non-science graduate, I wanted a textbook which presented topics in a clear way that would allow me to study independently. The OCR Biology AS book does just that. I found the diagrams extremely helpful, and each section was written very well. The key definitions are always highlighted for you to learn, and there are questions throughout to test your knowledge. Whilst this book is a good starting point for the GAMSAT, I would suggest that candidates also purchase a more detailed textbook which goes indepth into some of the topics, as this textbook just covers the basics for the OCR test (which is great for A-Level OCR students). A good companion would be Collins Advanced Science - Biology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OCR AS Biology, 24 Sept. 2009
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (AS and A2 OCR Biology)
It's a really good book for basic reading and understanding, and follows the syllabus exactly. it's the kind of thing you can read by yourself without too much trouble, as there are loads of pictures and diagrams making it easy to understand. however, if you need a bit more information, it can be a bit basic. I'd advise getting this for getting to know the subjects, and another book with a bit more detail if you can afford it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, much better than the green OCR textbook, 3 April 2011
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
This is a GREAT textbook for anyone doing OCR AS bio. Comes with a very handy CD which has definition sheets, topic questions etc.
The textbook is very good for basic understanding of concepts as it sticks to the syllabus exactly (ie. you don't need any more detail - the green OCR book goes tooo much in detail I find, and becomes confusing) as this book uses colours/diagrams/pictures really clearly with end-of-topic questions and answers.
I wasn't sure whether to buy this or not after reading some of the reviews but I'm glad I did. Our school provided us with the green OCR book which I find goes on a bit and is complicated to understand, whereas this, coupled with the CGP OCR biology revision book, makes it easy to understand and covers everything you need to know. Haven't touched the green OCR book since.
100% recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
It is a good book. My biology teacher recommended the class to get it. It has good graphics and some parts of the curriculum is written in great detail.
However, it does not cover all the things I need to study e.g. all the organelles in cells. So I suggest everyone to get an average text book to cover all the stuff you need to know, and this one for further understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but select, 17 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book is based for the OCR Biology AS exams, if you are on that board and doing the exams this book is all you will ever need (plus a little lecturer tuition). The book is simple to read well laid out, has great looking pictures (real and simulated) and also has some great tips in the CD for anyone looking to push through the A/A* barrier and struggling.

There are a few mistakes in this book as there often are but since this is the first edition and has only been running for three years it really is tops. The mistakes don't make a massive problem for students rather than making some simpler topics a little more ambiguous than they really are (nothing too much to worry about since any lecturer worth his/her salt should be able to right it again for you).

This book was my bible for Biology when I did my AS-Levels two years ago. The only reason I bought this book this time was because I sold the ones I had to my cousin since he was starting his A-Level Biology course as I finished mine, but after several months of not having this book at my disposal for checking certain facts I missed it enough to fork out for the AS and A2 books a second time despite the overall loss I made. I am very glad that I did since it has rekindled some of the happiest times in my education, cutting up lung in the labs and doing some tricky theory work in classes with my friends.

If you are not on the OCR board or are looking for some reading to do to jump start a lost education, I would say there are better books for the job. This book is very select in that it is for A-Levels and I'm sorry for anyone doing A-Levels now but this book doesn't break any records in terms of cutting edge science. I always felt A-Levels are like GCSEs on steroids, there is more to A-Levels but there is nothing there that is really really top end. Then again the only level of education you think is the best is the one you are on in the moment (degrees look harder than A-Levels because they are and A-Levels will look like a walk in the park after a masters degree in Biology is in your hand, right?). So if you are looking to push your knowledge of backtrack through your past then it is your choice, but for any OCR Biology AS Student this book is a 100% must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
Content seems fine. Not a grammar nazi, so no faults here.

However, some binding issue has left a page half an inch wider than the rest. A Person unknown had crudely folded the edge inwards. Not really a problem, except for when i'm going to re-sell it.

Would I recommend it? Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor text book!, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
I bought this book as the AS chemistry equivalent is great. Unfortunately this biology book is not.
The book explains some relatively simple topics in an extremely confusing & bizarre way.
The book is full of both scientific & grammatical mistakes. Whoever proof read this book is a disgrace to the publishing world.
The book repeats itself. Sometimes even repeating identical paragraphs, with identical formatting on the following page! How is this necessary?
The questions on each page often ask about information not yet discussed.
There is a huge amount of information needed that is missed out or barely mentioned in this text book.
From completing the past papers online it is clear the OCR examination mark scheme disagrees with numerous statements in this text book, and would award no mark for the response written in the book! This is disgraceful considering it's a book written specifically for OCR.
The book was useful as a list of topics to cover. But this can be obtained from the OCR specification online. To achieve a good grade you will need to use other text books / sources in addition to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended to anyone studying OCR AS Level Biology., 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
Great book that my son used all the time alongside the Biology for OCR book 1 when studying for his AS level. Clearly written with good picture/diagrams that are easy to understand. My son used this book in preference to other more expensive books that were harder to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product, useful!!, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM (Paperback)
I highly reccomend this book. It contains vital information covered by the course. I have found it extremely useful for both completing homework, as well as to use as revision material for exams. It is great for catching up on notes. You get a lot for your money, 5 stars! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM
OCR AS Biology Student Book and Exam Cafe CD-ROM by Sue Hocking (Paperback - 21 Feb. 2008)
£21.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews