Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OCR Revise Chemistry AS
This book is a conventional AS Revision Guide with a wealth of essential material relevant to students wishing to improve their knowledge and grades as well as an important teaching tool for Chemistry Tutors, Lecturers and Classroom Teachers. I found that it contained much information that was not always contained across the spreads in the main course book, for instance...
Published on 16 Nov. 2011 by Nonsuchmike

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Deserves a credit for the tables and diagrams. The text is not however as good as in the CGP guides.
Published 20 months ago by MICHAL KRAWIEC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OCR Revise Chemistry AS, 16 Nov. 2011
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
This book is a conventional AS Revision Guide with a wealth of essential material relevant to students wishing to improve their knowledge and grades as well as an important teaching tool for Chemistry Tutors, Lecturers and Classroom Teachers. I found that it contained much information that was not always contained across the spreads in the main course book, for instance the rules regarding Oxidation Numbers, whilst the questions were useful spot checks on a student's knowledge, progress and confidence at a given level.

For these reasons I use in conjunction with rather than instead of the equivalent course book, but be careful as not all spreads are given equal prominence in this leaner, more compact Guide. There are no "mind maps", but highlighting in bold, key words, quick checks, worked examples and examiner's tips are liberally scattered to focus the individual's attention, and the diagrams are not too small so easy to follow.

This book failed to achieve a five star rating with me because it is poor on structural relationships where 3D shapes have to be represented on a 2D page: bromine with alkenes, P58, hydrogen bonding in alcohols, P60, structures and shapes on Pp 24 & 28, etc etc. Good on Hess's law, reaction rates, and tolerable on Spectroscopy, the book nevertheless represents very good value for money.

Nonsuchmike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Dec. 2008
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
A fantastic addition to the main book condensing the information very well and giving you many walkthroughs on how to do questions. The questions offered at the end of each spread are very useful to just check yourself to see if you understand everything.

If you're doing OCR Chemistry AS, I very much recommend you buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact, slim and useful resource, 28 Jan. 2012
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
Compact, but summarizes information from the textbook extremely well. No unnecessary history behind the science, concepts etc. just facts laid out in a simple, understanding manner. Though sometimes it lacks on a few examples, a good resource beside the student textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
Essential learning tool which I highly recommend to anyone looking at choices. My son used it thoroughly and has improved his predicted grade.

You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good help for revision, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
good book. it contains only the strict necessary for last-minute revision so if you're using it throughout the academic year you might need to refer to an actual text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
Deserves a credit for the tables and diagrams. The text is not however as good as in the CGP guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ok Resource, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
I would say this book was good for last minute understanding of complex concepts and revision, however it was lacking in lots of detail and was a little over simplified in many areas.

If you are someone who struggles with chemistry and understanding chemical concepts I would not recommend primarily using this as a revision resource, but in conjunction with a more detailed guide like the philip allen update books alongside the exam board specific CGP revision guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OCR AS revise chemistry A, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
Saw this book with my tutor at college and had a look and took the ISBN number at first.

When I received it, after further reading, it is a very concise, well-written book that doesn't waffle and get's to the point.

Only thing I would have preferred is for it to be in colour rather than black and white-- but highlighters do the trick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 21 April 2010
By 
J. Murphy (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
I purchased this for my son who is studying AS level Chemisty.It is a text that is used within his college. It has proven to be an excellent resource to support him with both his homework and revision for exams. The text is easy to follow, presented in a logical format and has useful tips and activities to support learning.It is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exams to pass, 12 May 2014
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition (Paperback)
My daughter has been hammering away at OCR AS Chemistry for most of this year. This book is just the right thing to help her over the finishing line towards her anticipated grade. It is clearly put together and efficiently ordered for max success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR AS Revise  Chemistry  A - New edition
OCR AS Revise Chemistry A - New edition by Mr Mike Wooster (Paperback - 16 April 2008)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews