Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge improvement on the older book
Clear, simple, thoroughly-explained and well-presented expainations and examples.
Accurately maps the sylabus and includes no confusing 'optional extras'.
Lots of well structured excercises that cover bite-sized chunks of syllabus.
Effective use of colours and naff pictures to brighten it up.
Very useful CD with all sorts of resources including...
Published on 2 Jan. 2009 by Mr. I

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maths book
it did not come with any answers? soi that is why i rated it only 3 stars, it was okay.
Published 15 months ago by alim


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge improvement on the older book, 2 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Clear, simple, thoroughly-explained and well-presented expainations and examples.
Accurately maps the sylabus and includes no confusing 'optional extras'.
Lots of well structured excercises that cover bite-sized chunks of syllabus.
Effective use of colours and naff pictures to brighten it up.
Very useful CD with all sorts of resources including answers.
HUGE improvement on previous edition (but it was awful).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction resource, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. Berriman "berriman_toby" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Packed with examples and questions, and building on each previous concept to introduce the next, this book is an excellent introduction to basic statistics. The provided CD contains a digital copy of the book (viewable through a proprietary viewing software only), and copies of the answers from the book in PDF format.

This book covers the following areas:
Measures of Location (Mean, median, mode)
Measures of Dispersion (variance, standard deviation, quartiles and percentiles)
Coding
Various graph representations of data (box plot, stem and leaf, histogram(
Probability
Correlation
Linear regression
Discrete random variables
Normal distribution

The only downside I felt is that occasionally it would have been nice to see some more of the working out in the answers rather than just the final answer, in order to help understand when I got the occasional question wrong! Nevertheless I already have the next book in the series - Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 2 - on my shelf ready for me to work through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
I was told to buy this from my teachers, as they refer to this textbook and so far its been so helpful. There are many questions that can keep you practising and many examples to refer too aswell. The only thing that I found annoying was that there wasn't questions like the type you get in the S1 question papers, so when I looked at a past paper some questions I didn't see coming and was baffled when I saw them, but it does show you how to do the question in the book just by doing them step by step. Other than that it is a great text book and would really recommend A Level students who are going to take AS Mathematics to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what its says on the tin, 7 May 2011
By 
C. R. Long "clive_long" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
This book has the same layout and approach of the other AS/A2 texbooks in the EdExcel/Pearson GCE Maths series. As the book is published by the company responsible for writing and marking the examination one should feel confident the syllabus is covered. Statistics, at the beginning, is a definition-heavy subject. However, the exercises in the book are well structured and lead you through progressively harder examples to get you to the standard to attempt the exam questions. The supplied CD of the text of the book with the link to the resource web site for fully worked solutions is very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but sometimes does get you lost..., 23 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
It is great for studying S1 on your own, as I am doing. Sometimes it does get you lost with the Examples, but doing all the questions do really help in your understanding on that particular sub-topic. The LiveCD is awesome for checking not only answers but for going through step by step on how to derive that answer aswell. Apart from odd dodgy Example here and there (very rare though...) I would highly reccomend this book! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best S1 textbook for this course, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
U. Jeyabellen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Very useful textbook. Explains everything clearly and succinctly. An essential book for the S1 module
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
this book is good but the fact that it doesnt have the answers in the back of the book is a bit disappointing. i thought it would as other forms of the same book does. it does have the cd with the answers on but it is a bit havoc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just how I wanted!, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
This product is no more or no less than what I ordered!!!! I ordered it for school and is perfect. As my personal opinion, I really like this book because it explains how to do everything and has a step to step guides!!! Definitely would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS Stats, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
If you're teaching this Course or teaching yourself this book is all you need to know. For teachers, the enclosed CD is useful to project page contents onto a smartboard. Build-quality is robust and it will last for ages, even with teenage abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 6 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
This book helped when needing to refer back to examples to help me complete my homework. also because there were answers at the back it allowed me to check my progress. i would recommend this book for anyone doing stats for maths alevel :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1
Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 by Alan Clegg (Paperback - 25 July 2008)
£16.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews