Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge improvement on the older book
Clear, simple, thoroughly-explained and well-presented expainations and examples.
Accurately maps the sylabus and includes no confusing 'optional extras'.
Lots of well structured excercises that cover bite-sized chunks of syllabus.
Effective use of colours and naff pictures to brighten it up.
Very useful CD with all sorts of resources including...
Published on 2 Jan 2009 by Mr. I

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars dont know..
this item never made it to my house so i cannot review this item, its actually very sad and never found out where this item was
Published 1 day ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge improvement on the older book, 2 Jan 2009
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Clear, simple, thoroughly-explained and well-presented expainations and examples.
Accurately maps the sylabus and includes no confusing 'optional extras'.
Lots of well structured excercises that cover bite-sized chunks of syllabus.
Effective use of colours and naff pictures to brighten it up.
Very useful CD with all sorts of resources including answers.
HUGE improvement on previous edition (but it was awful).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction resource, 13 May 2010
By 
Mr. T. Berriman "berriman_toby" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Packed with examples and questions, and building on each previous concept to introduce the next, this book is an excellent introduction to basic statistics. The provided CD contains a digital copy of the book (viewable through a proprietary viewing software only), and copies of the answers from the book in PDF format.

This book covers the following areas:
Measures of Location (Mean, median, mode)
Measures of Dispersion (variance, standard deviation, quartiles and percentiles)
Coding
Various graph representations of data (box plot, stem and leaf, histogram(
Probability
Correlation
Linear regression
Discrete random variables
Normal distribution

The only downside I felt is that occasionally it would have been nice to see some more of the working out in the answers rather than just the final answer, in order to help understand when I got the occasional question wrong! Nevertheless I already have the next book in the series - Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 2 - on my shelf ready for me to work through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the learning the subject, 12 April 2009
By 
QuantumSpirit (Manchester, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
All of the latest versions of the heinemann series are very good. A friendly full-colour format that makes the subject apealing to study. Unlike most other maths textbooks they have much clearer examples of solutions to problems, with descriptive explainations at each stage so you know what's going on. There are plenty of practice exercises as well. I fully recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Feb 2009
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
this book is good but the fact that it doesnt have the answers in the back of the book is a bit disappointing. i thought it would as other forms of the same book does. it does have the cd with the answers on but it is a bit havoc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics made clear, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
It contains very clear explanations and worked examples which have enabled me to get further into the subject. Also there are plenty of questions to do and the presentation is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome book ....very colourful, 9 May 2010
By 
S. Aziz "imz123" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
i haven't used the book as such...but my son says it is so easy to follow that he can teach himself the subject.... he also likes the fact that it is colourful and vibrant... had it been b/w he would have not have liked it as much i think....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S1 Textbook, 3 May 2010
By 
K. Sivagnanam (HW, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
The book is the reason why I'm understanding S1 a whole lot better. I had the CD before, but using the laptop made me just want to go on the Internet all the time. The book's exercises are perfect for practice, and with the CD comes a solution bank, showing you how to work out the answer which helps a lot. A definite recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best S1 textbook for this course, 25 Mar 2010
By 
U. Jeyabellen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Very useful textbook. Explains everything clearly and succinctly. An essential book for the S1 module
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dont know.., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
this item never made it to my house so i cannot review this item, its actually very sad and never found out where this item was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 (Paperback)
Many of Pearson's Edexcel books are very good, particularly the IGCSE Sciences.

Unfortunately this is not one of the good ones. Statistics, even for someone who has a good grasp of Core Maths at this level can be a bit difficult to get to grips with. This book is full of examples but short on explanation, so very often it's not clear why a problem is being solved in a particular way. I found that it needed a fair amount of Googling to get a full understanding of what is going on which shouldn't be necessary with a decent textbook. The section on normal distribution is particularly poor. I think this book is more likely to confuse than help, so would definitely not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf816f60)

This product

Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1
Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics - Statistics 1 by Alan Clegg (Paperback - 25 July 2008)
15.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews