Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I only give 5 stars when a textbook serves you the A grade on the plate (or at least with all the means to reach it), this is one.
I can guarantee you that if you do every single question right you will not score below 90% in the exam. You may not get 100% even if you answer all the questions because you most likely dropped method marks, it happened to me and I...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Joseph O.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
I was very disappointed with this book. The main reason i bought this book was to use the CD as i have used them in the past with a lot of success, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment. The CD gave the solutions to the answers but it merely displayed the solution, it did not explain why or how it came to get these solutions. However, the book itself was fairly...
Published on 29 Feb. 2012 by TeddyBear_23


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I only give 5 stars when a textbook serves you the A grade on the plate (or at least with all the means to reach it), this is one.
I can guarantee you that if you do every single question right you will not score below 90% in the exam. You may not get 100% even if you answer all the questions because you most likely dropped method marks, it happened to me and I scored 92%. Edexcel is known to be the easiest board to score an A in maths and this is also due to the excellent material they supply you with.
The book also contains a CD with questions walked through to the answers. On the other hand the textbook prepares you to each topic with "examples" on how to answer the new questions. Usually these examples use questions which are fairly easy to understand. The scope is for you to struggle when you get to the actual questions so that you keep stimulating your mind until you get it. Once you do understand it then you know that things look bright.
Past papers are not difficult at all once you have covered all the questions in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For an A-level study guide, look no further, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I took A-level maths fifteen years ago and have now repeated the course as a mature student. This series proved an excellent resource to self-teach, leaving me able to answer all past paper questions and tackle the actual exams with total confidence. The accompanying CD's, which have worked through answers to all the questions, are an invaluable addition. There are the very occasional wrong answers printed in the textbook although these can be easily identified through the workings.

Whilst I did use other books for some modules, I found that they offered very little, if anything, over this series in terms of the A-level course. What this series does not do is stray from the A-level syllabus, and consequently the context of questions could prove somewhat limited for those seeking a more comprehensive understanding of pre-university maths. However, the absolute focus on the syllabus is ideal for those seeking no more than to pass A-level exams.

I found the high standard of the material to be consistent throughout the books for C1 to C4 plus M1 and M2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I was told to buy this from my teachers, as they refer to this textbook and so far its been so helpful. There are many questions that can keep you practising and many examples to refer too aswell. The only thing that I found annoying was that there wasn't questions like the type you get in the C1 question papers, so when I looked at a past paper some questions I didn't see coming and was baffled when I saw them, but it does show you how to do the question in the book just by doing them step by step. Other than that it is a great text book and would really recommend A Level students who are going to take AS Mathematics to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book Top Notch, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
Top book well easy to read and straight forward examples and good questions it's simple and what you need for AsMaths. The Best thing is I should say the proffesional working out examples which really encourage you to do your best and never confuse you. From the image it looked like a fat book but no way near nice and handy for easy insert in bags etc. The Bonus is the ANSWERS are at the back honestly thats amazing most books require you going on A CD but not this one it's made by helpfull people plus it has a Live text CD which is usefull when using the computer and your fed up of the textbook my ratings - 10/10 top book buy asap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, The Best. You do not need more than this, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
HB "howardbennett3" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I am a teacher of another subject who wanted to teach Maths and came to these as the standard text.

Some have criticised the graphical layout; I'm actually 48 and I find it really lovely and a REALLY BIG HELP in following the text. In my opinion, the use of colour and layout are imaginative, to the point and a complete positive.

It wouldn't be, if the content wasn't so good; this is light-years ahead of the irrelevant, stuffy books we had when I did my A Level #^* years ago - the authors focus very clearly on the syllabus - not surprising considering who they are. There is everything you need to teach yourself here.

Living in the real world as I do, I can say that there's more than enough to save you from a bad teacher which may be a CRITICAL difference to you.

The CD includes a Solution Bank - this shows 1) Every Question in the Book 2) A Hint for each queston to get you started in answering it 3) A Worked Example of how to do each question. All together, this is an invaluable resource.

You may find that it doesn't work on your browser - it was designed for an earlier version of Internet Explorer and doesn't work on later versions of any browser. If you want to use Solution Bank, install Firefox, visit 'Youtube' and type 'Solution Bank Firefox' into the search box. You'll get very easy instructions on how to get it to work (you have to change one number in one place - not hard).

This was the easiest way to get it to work that I found.

Absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for self study., 11 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I wanted to learn A Level Maths in my own time & own pace. This book explains every aspect with step by step instructions in a thoroughly brilliant manner. The layout is beautiful too.

I would suggest to my fellow Amazonians to use the books in this series to grasp the basic concept of A Level Maths.

The traditional older A Level books seem to be too brief in the their explanations and as such not sufficient for self study.

This book breaks the mould by explaining the subject in an extremely understandable way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book. The main reason i bought this book was to use the CD as i have used them in the past with a lot of success, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment. The CD gave the solutions to the answers but it merely displayed the solution, it did not explain why or how it came to get these solutions. However, the book itself was fairly helpul but in many places it was overly simplistic in its explaination leaving you to fill in many gaps.
Would not recommend!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good for self teaching, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
Like: used to self teach myself A-level maths and had clear instructions on how to solve the problems in each section
the CD is VERY useful as it does give you walkthroughs of how to do each question on the CD

Dislike: the worked examples in the book are only on the easy-medium difficulty questions and none on the harder ones but this can be solved by using other resources such as a website called exam solutions

Overall I think it is definitely worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How could anyone say this is not perfect !!, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
This book covers all topics to full extend for the C1 syllabus.

There are examples of all types of problems, fully explained step by step. The exercises are worked on the CD provided with the book, all of them, and explained step by step of what is being done. There are enough practice exercises that makes you learn to get an A+ grade.

Everyone can study maths from such a book.

I have not found any mistakes in the answers provided with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nifty little book!, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
Michael Nguyen "- Mike" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
It's a great book that will be essential for your maths course, don't forget to also pickup the C2 book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1
Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 by Mr Dave Wilkins (Paperback - 13 May 2008)
£15.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews