Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I only give 5 stars when a textbook serves you the A grade on the plate (or at least with all the means to reach it), this is one.
I can guarantee you that if you do every single question right you will not score below 90% in the exam. You may not get 100% even if you answer all the questions because you most likely dropped method marks, it happened to me and I...
Published on 20 July 2011 by Joseph O.

versus
21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average at best
Returning to maths 25 years after leaving school, I thought these books would be a great way of re-learning what I was once taught. Whilst there is a great deal of content and numerous exercises to work through, the examples given that explain the key topics really are too simplistic! They do not really explain anything more complex than the basic concepts leaving the...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by M. Widger


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I only give 5 stars when a textbook serves you the A grade on the plate (or at least with all the means to reach it), this is one.
I can guarantee you that if you do every single question right you will not score below 90% in the exam. You may not get 100% even if you answer all the questions because you most likely dropped method marks, it happened to me and I scored 92%. Edexcel is known to be the easiest board to score an A in maths and this is also due to the excellent material they supply you with.
The book also contains a CD with questions walked through to the answers. On the other hand the textbook prepares you to each topic with "examples" on how to answer the new questions. Usually these examples use questions which are fairly easy to understand. The scope is for you to struggle when you get to the actual questions so that you keep stimulating your mind until you get it. Once you do understand it then you know that things look bright.
Past papers are not difficult at all once you have covered all the questions in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, The Best. You do not need more than this, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Hm Bennett "howardbennett3" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
I am a teacher of another subject who wanted to teach Maths and came to these as the standard text.

Some have criticised the graphical layout; I'm actually 48 and I find it really lovely and a REALLY BIG HELP in following the text. In my opinion, the use of colour and layout are imaginative, to the point and a complete positive.

It wouldn't be, if the content wasn't so good; this is light-years ahead of the irrelevant, stuffy books we had when I did my A Level #^* years ago - the authors focus very clearly on the syllabus - not surprising considering who they are. There is everything you need to teach yourself here.

Living in the real world as I do, I can say that there's more than enough to save you from a bad teacher which may be a CRITICAL difference to you.

The CD includes a Solution Bank - this shows 1) Every Question in the Book 2) A Hint for each queston to get you started in answering it 3) A Worked Example of how to do each question. All together, this is an invaluable resource.

You may find that it doesn't work on your browser - it was designed for an earlier version of Internet Explorer and doesn't work on later versions of any browser. If you want to use Solution Bank, install Firefox, visit 'Youtube' and type 'Solution Bank Firefox' into the search box. You'll get very easy instructions on how to get it to work (you have to change one number in one place - not hard).

This was the easiest way to get it to work that I found.

Absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 6 Jun 2011
By 
M. Widger (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
Returning to maths 25 years after leaving school, I thought these books would be a great way of re-learning what I was once taught. Whilst there is a great deal of content and numerous exercises to work through, the examples given that explain the key topics really are too simplistic! They do not really explain anything more complex than the basic concepts leaving the user to make a leap of faith. If you get a question wrong, there is no explanation to get you back on the correct track which is a shame as many of the exercises actually contain much more complicated questions. Also the book obviously has a target age group (which I left a long long time ago) and while this is not the main reason for dismissing the book, it is a big turn off for me - but this is a personal opinion and no reflection on the content.

This may be a great book if you are studying the course with a tutor who can fill in the gaps, but for anyone looking to learn on their own there are other books and free web content available that will do a much better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best maths book for edexcel, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
This is truly the best book for Edexcel Maths. It is very well explained and easy to understand, I used it while self studying in one year only all of my Core Maths (so also used the book c2 c3 and c4) and I achieved an A . It also has lots of exercises ranging from easy to hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great first book for the AS!, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Hassan Z (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
Its a great book for the course and well, is contains the whole syllabus. But, in general its great! Also, good luck with your A-Level!! Also, make sure you buy the other two that you need for the AS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nifty little book!, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Michael Nguyen "- Mike" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
It's a great book that will be essential for your maths course, don't forget to also pickup the C2 book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100%, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
GOT 100% in the paper. Nothing more to add really (though obviously do the practise exam papers on the Edexcel website to get a better understanding of the types of questions in the exam as this mostly looks at learning the content). Also some of the questions are crazily difficult in the exercises so don't be too scared! They are quite unrealistic. i used to skip those questions and 'came back to them later'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
Very good book. Easy to follow with clear working. Examples start easy and progress to harder questions with hints on very tricky questions until your left to work on your own. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Has everything, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
This book has all the topics I need and has examples to explain the processes, but could be a little more explainatory I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 (Paperback)
This product is fantastic because the contents are useful and it has answers to all the questions. The seller is excellent as well!!! 5 STARS!!! A+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa75ca828)

This product

Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1
Edexcel AS and A Level Modular Mathematics: Core Mathematics 1 by Mr Dave Wilkins (Paperback - 13 May 2008)
14.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews